QUOTE(monkeybeh @ May 19 2017, 08:46 AM)
Really? I thought 2 for HyppTV and 5 for iflix?Unifi Unifi Lite 10Mbps - v2.0 -, TM illegitimate child hidden in basement
Unifi Unifi Lite 10Mbps - v2.0 -, TM illegitimate child hidden in basement
May 21 2017, 10:33 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
241 posts Joined: Feb 2012 From: Melaka |
May 21 2017, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ May 21 2017, 05:43 PM) I know ur unifi life doesn't have free dect phone but does it come with the voip? Meaning do u have a telephone no tied to the unifi lite which u can make calls if u really to pay by getting a phone for it yourself? Got. My number is listed in the confirmation email sent to me just after registration with agent. its 129. |
May 21 2017, 07:23 PM
May 21 2017, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(alien3d @ May 21 2017, 09:10 PM) is not a data center .. Old days company do host own web server and buy fixed ip. Before that also easy dyndns but now hidden unsure it will work or not I am going to host my own mini web server also. For some home automation remote controlling.. Just use dyndns or noip.This post has been edited by y561994: May 21 2017, 09:18 PM |
May 21 2017, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(TamiyaOne @ May 21 2017, 09:54 PM) Installer came this morning... installation fail due to no physical port but in system show available need tm suport team to check... neighbour previously on unifi but move out since end last year ... hopefully can solve next week Should be a minor issue. Just take out neighbor's port and plug urs in. But they hv to check first so they wont unplug someone elses by accident |
May 21 2017, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ May 21 2017, 06:14 PM) that's why, u tot they are silly. they had come out all these scheme for this reason. Is registration successful == sure get to install provided got port and coverage? My scheduled installation date is still a week to go. Hopefully they don't call me and say they are taking lite away from me because I am not eligible for it Free speed upgrades they lock in a lot of new customers for a minimum of rm179 price. Old customers get free speed upgrades but a lot of them are locked in at a Super expensive price comparing to the New sign ups except minor lucky cases. Now New promo new Low price they attracts those customers who are previously unwilling to pay rm179 minimally even with the speed upgrade. During all stages of promos they are still winners. |
May 21 2017, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ May 21 2017, 10:21 PM) if registration is done on system,.should be safe. Online system will indicate if an address has port or coverage or not. I believe online system still doesn't let us register lite right?If done thru agent etc. then check with them instead. edit:sorry I believe u mean agent's online system, not tm website. This post has been edited by y561994: May 21 2017, 10:40 PM |
May 22 2017, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 22 2017, 07:50 PM) The other way bro. They said if internal wiring no need to charge. I also dont know. Wiring over ceiling is chargeable, if you want free they will just pull the cable with the white plastic casing. But in ur case if internal is free then just go straight for that This post has been edited by y561994: May 22 2017, 08:00 PM |
May 22 2017, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 22 2017, 08:03 PM) They just pull the fibre over my roof from the pole (port) at the back of my house to the front of my house. No Casing or anything. Cant go internal because he said my house is renovated. So cant go internal. If go internal also you will see the cable from the kitchen right to the living room. Crazy. So total how much u paid for the service? If you are charged they will have to provide microducts for the over ceiling cable. Wiring from back to front of house with visible cable is just crazy. Luckily your house is renovated so they hv to go over ceiling. If ur house is not renovated they will not be so rajin and go over ceiling, they will just use the white casing. And if u request for over ceiling in that case they will surely charge $$ |
May 22 2017, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 22 2017, 08:16 PM) No microducts for over the ceiling bro. Just visible black cable over the ceiling. Is it not right? Sorry lar, I wont allow them to use the white casing. I nego the price down to Rm150 from Rm200. Thats doesnt sem to be right leh. If you paid RM150 for the cabling they should at least provide you with something to cover and protect the cable over ceiling (microduct as told by TM). And i think TM quote much less for the installation leh. RM60 for first 10m and RM10 subsequent meter. Unless ur house is very difficult to wire or attic very hard to go up they might charge more. But RM150 is enough for 19m of cable leh. 60+(9*10)=150 |
May 22 2017, 09:37 PM
May 23 2017, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(LeonTan @ May 23 2017, 12:02 PM) Another way is before installer open the mouth, terus tell them you want free installation and you hold the guide on hand. yup, get the quote before you start installation.If you want any changes, let the installer quote then refer the guide. (normally like this installer will scare to quote higher charges) This combo is the best way up to date, I will haven't think any more good way haha |
May 23 2017, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 23 2017, 03:07 PM) I did get the small white colour FWS on the wall but I did not see any FTB. You have a pic of how the FTB looks like? Its like this: https://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-16/...-1294450521.jpgnowadays installer nvr provide dy. not sure whether can pay them to get one. |
May 23 2017, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(YoungMan @ May 23 2017, 12:58 PM) TM should have set a standard that all charges are charge in the bill, not paid directly to the installer. That way the installer will claim the charges from TM for each successful installation, and it would be easy to monitor. Totally agree. Its a lot better to dispute with tm than the contractors. |
May 23 2017, 09:36 PM
May 23 2017, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ May 23 2017, 06:42 PM) yeah, i am aware that there are different practices at different places. but this is exactly the cause of the problem. Really pity the aunty. I guess any aunty can DIY streamyx installation with a paper guide. it means that the standard pricing scheme never take effect at all, that's why everyone is not aware of what others are doing. everyone is practicing differently. so customers are also being treated differently all the time. lucky customers may not suffer anything, unlucky one will suffer like hell to pay all the extra. given the income level of typical bolehland family, the monthly subscription of unifi/streamyx is no longer low cost to them. now even just installation fee they also must pay more than expected. this is something seriously wrong. and worst part of it, no one is controlling these acts and no one seems to be aware of this act too. the service is the same, why every single contractor can do the way they want, instead of following their own set of standard instead of what TM has set. Same for agents too. it just proves the current SOP is having serious problem. i dun know if the next door auntie got any receipt or not, this is what she told us when I install the unifi at my parent house. her response to me like isn't it the fee to pay for. this is the problem of awareness i stressed on. in the end, i am not the one who paid. but as an agent, u should know that this poses a serious problem rite? why streamyx needs installation fee? why it just simply uses telephone line. existing telephone line somemore. |
May 23 2017, 11:31 PM
May 24 2017, 07:52 AM
QUOTE(MGM @ May 24 2017, 06:24 AM) This box is Fiber Wall Socket(FWS) fixed on the internal wall. Most ppl dont get the Fibre Termination Box(FTB) which is fixed on the outer wall. A black Fiber is pulled from the pole to FTB and then a white Fiber is connected to the FWS. For those who are shortchanged n dont get the FTB, a black fiber is pull to the outer wall, then the fiber is coiled(see pic below) a few rounds for spare b4 it goes thru the wall and connect directly to FWS, then a white fiber will connect to the BTU. I think we can request the installer to coil it inside the attic (for those cases where the cable will go through the wall into the attic for over ceiling installation. The wire is ugly and i cant tahan seeing it everyday TOMEI-R did u get this coil of black fiber on the outside wall b4 it is connected to the internal wall? It is so ugly n this is where the FTB should be. LeonTan is this how it is done nowadays? |
May 24 2017, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ May 24 2017, 09:32 AM) Just curious, what is the function of FTB and by eliminating it is there any sacrifice to the quality of our Unifi connection? QUOTE(chatting @ May 24 2017, 09:57 AM) Is there any chance that we demand for the FTB since it's so ugly and since there's no discount for customer also It basically just an 'extension'. fiber cable in, fiber cable out. it just divide a long fiber cable from the FTP (on the pole) to FWS into 2 shorter parts.i.e. Before: pole->FTB->FWS Now only: pole->FWS 2 shorter cables ease cable replacement especially when its broken since fiber cable is unlike copper cable that can be cut/ soldered/ join bla bla, and fiber splicing isnt cheap No change to internet quality whatsoever |
May 24 2017, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(elmond @ May 24 2017, 10:16 AM) i got sms only after 26 days, so i login tm rewards and found the point 3700 can actually redeem other thing instead of the phone, so i take voucher instead. How does the phone redemption work? They credit free points so we just redeem online?129 one also can redeem free phone? This post has been edited by y561994: May 24 2017, 11:52 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0834sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:33 PM |