Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Bridge and vlan, Debian

UbuntuClient
post May 17 2017, 05:30 PM, updated 6 months ago

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,170

Joined: Jun 2007
From: /kajang/putrajaya/cyberjaya/puchong



Hi,

I have eth0 and eth1. This interface will have bridge, eg vmbr1. Vmbr1 will have a vlan tagging, eg vlan100 and 200. How to do it? I'm not expert with debian. Please advice.

Thanks.

This post has been edited by UbuntuClient: May 17 2017, 05:57 PM
WongGei
post May 18 2017, 04:30 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 779

Joined: Dec 2007
From: Kuala Lumpur
https://wiki.debian.org/NetworkConfiguratio...vlan_.28Etch.29

https://wiki.debian.org/NetworkConfiguratio...tch.2C_Lenny.29
UbuntuClient
post May 18 2017, 05:17 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,170

Joined: Jun 2007
From: /kajang/putrajaya/cyberjaya/puchong



QUOTE(WongGei @ May 18 2017, 04:30 PM)
Your link not showing any bridge.
UbuntuClient
post May 22 2017, 12:33 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,170

Joined: Jun 2007
From: /kajang/putrajaya/cyberjaya/puchong



Can i do bridge as below:
CODE
auto br0
iface br0 inet static
   bridge_ports bond0.110 bond0.120

UbuntuClient
post May 22 2017, 12:42 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,170

Joined: Jun 2007
From: /kajang/putrajaya/cyberjaya/puchong



I have eth2 and eth3 on server. Both nic connect to vlan110 and vlan120 that set on cisco 3560. Now on cisco, it set as active backup. So i want to create bridge from this two nic and two vlan. Anyone knows how? I did not find any match tutorial.
diadokmai
post May 27 2017, 05:55 AM

Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 913

Joined: Sep 2008



QUOTE(UbuntuClient @ May 22 2017, 12:33 PM)
Can i do bridge as below:
CODE
auto br0
iface br0 inet static
   bridge_ports bond0.110 bond0.120

*
u need to install bridge-utils first
then set manual to both eth2 and eth3
and set # Bridge setup

iface br0 inet dhcp
bridge_ports eth2 eth3

or for static ip,you can just add the static IP options under the br0 interface setup. For example:

# Bridge setup
iface br0 inet static
bridge_ports eth0 eth1
address 192.168.1.2
broadcast 192.168.1.255
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.1

https://wiki.debian.org/BridgeNetworkConnections

This post has been edited by diadokmai: May 27 2017, 05:57 AM
UbuntuClient
post Jun 14 2017, 04:21 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,170

Joined: Jun 2007
From: /kajang/putrajaya/cyberjaya/puchong



Is it bridge combine 4 NIC and will get 4Gig speed?
Raki
post Jun 16 2017, 04:24 PM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 306

Joined: Jan 2009


QUOTE(UbuntuClient @ Jun 14 2017, 04:21 PM)
Is it bridge combine 4 NIC and will get 4Gig speed?
*
Depends on bonding mode (round robin, active backup, XOR, broadcast, 802.3ad LACP, load balancing)
One caveat is the single connections will only be at 1Gbps as it only goes thru a single link.
If setup correctly, yes. you can see more than 1Gbps when multiple servers try to access the server via the bond network.
But no, if it's a 10Gbps or another 4port bonded server transferring data to your 4port bonded network.

This post has been edited by Raki: Jun 18 2017, 02:32 AM
UbuntuClient
post Jun 16 2017, 04:36 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,170

Joined: Jun 2007
From: /kajang/putrajaya/cyberjaya/puchong



NIC 1Gbe with 4 port on single PCI card.
Raki
post Jun 18 2017, 02:34 AM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 306

Joined: Jan 2009


1 to 1 link will limited to 1Gbps
only multi links will saturate btw multi network links to get more than 1Gbps.
biatche
post Jun 19 2017, 07:52 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,273

Joined: Jan 2003

create a vlan on the physical interface, and then a bridge on top of the vlan.

using this for my qemu-kvm guest, working fine.

This post has been edited by biatche: Jun 19 2017, 07:52 PM

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0551sec    8.11    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd November 2017 - 01:18 PM