Looking for used fuel efficient car, Sedan only. 30-50k

TSimperialrealcs
post May 16 2017, 06:41 PM, updated 7y ago

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

I'm looking for a fuel efficient car as my wife pigi balik to work could only clock 7.5km/l on her elantra md 1.8 while i can easily get 9km/l on less jam route.

criteria is sedan, 30-50k (will get 50% loan), and not older than 2013 year of manufactured.

Currently eyeing on Mitsubishi Attrage 1.2L Mivec 2014 which is selling +-37k and was wondering if there are other viable options. no proton/perodua please laugh.gif

Any comments are appreciated, Thanks! biggrin.gif
VeeJay
post May 16 2017, 06:43 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 16 2017, 06:41 PM)
I'm looking for a fuel efficient car as my wife pigi balik to work could only clock 7.5km/l on her elantra md 1.8 while i can easily get 9km/l on less jam route.

criteria is sedan, 30-50k (will get 50% loan), and not older than 2013 year of manufactured.

Currently eyeing on Mitsubishi Attrage 1.2L Mivec 2014 which is selling +-37k and was wondering if there are other viable options. no proton/perodua please laugh.gif

On a traffic heavy road, especially city driving, I doubt any car that could get better mileage, maybe hybrid.
crayzee
post May 16 2017, 06:51 PM

894 posts

if your intention is just to save petrol, best is a used 2013-2014 Prius C is around 50k biggrin.gif but it it's not a sedan

This post has been edited by crayzee: May 16 2017, 06:52 PM
TSimperialrealcs
post May 16 2017, 06:51 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ May 16 2017, 06:43 PM)
On a traffic heavy road, especially city driving, I doubt any car that could get better mileage, maybe hybrid.
thats right, only if u comparing the same vehicle and that is rather obvious.
but i believe that a 1.2L would easily outperform 1.8 in term of fuel consumption in heavy traffic
TSimperialrealcs
post May 16 2017, 06:56 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ May 16 2017, 06:51 PM)
if your intention is just to save petrol, best is a used 2013-2014 Prius C is around 50k biggrin.gif but it it's not a sedan
been through that, but many said hybrid not worth bla bla bla due to batteyr change etc etc hahaha

crayzee
post May 16 2017, 07:03 PM

894 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 16 2017, 06:56 PM)
been through that, but many said hybrid not worth bla bla bla due to batteyr change etc etc hahaha
What's your target for your wife's fc? 12km/l? haha
U need to train her 1st. A fuel efficient car driven by vroom vroom person also no use tongue.gif
VeeJay
post May 16 2017, 07:14 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 16 2017, 06:51 PM)
thats right, only if u comparing the same vehicle and that is rather obvious.
but i believe that a 1.2L would easily outperform 1.8 in term of fuel consumption in heavy traffic
dont so as well...maybe slightly but I dont think could outperform. my passat cc (2.0) could do 8-10km/l on a high traffic road...full tank could easily do 800 km or more on highway...just bought it so cant give more stats.

modern big CC engines are very efficient, could out perform many smaller engines, since it has the power to carry the load and the technology going behind, TSI, GDI, FSI, etc...is just that good

This post has been edited by VeeJay: May 16 2017, 07:16 PM
LemonKnight
post May 16 2017, 08:59 PM

154 posts

The other sedan that I can think of is the Ford Fiesta if you don't mind any uhh, maintenance costs.

I think you answered your own question though, if fuel efficiency is your No. 1 priority, get the Attrage.

What's your wife daily route like? If her route is 100% traffic, even the Attrage wouldn't do much better than the Myvi, for example.
springfall
post May 16 2017, 08:59 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 16 2017, 08:41 PM)

7.5 to 9 KM/L to me is like rclxm9.gif

im only getting 4.2KM/L doh.gif

but yes, like other people had mentioned, even hybrids will not differ too much in consumption.
and the savings will be counter weighted by the battery depleted cells.

just dim the lights at night, lower a/c fan, raise a/c temp and slowly creep will save more fuel.

This post has been edited by springfall: May 16 2017, 09:06 PM
alphaz
post May 16 2017, 09:23 PM

406 posts

Ford Focus TDCI
killeralta
post May 16 2017, 09:39 PM

226 posts

with budget of <50k, sedan and fuel efficient i can only think of the Bezza, high traffic drive also still can get around 12-14km/l
ketupatlazat
post May 16 2017, 09:56 PM

545 posts

just get a 2012/13 Honda City.

That 1.5L engine should be frugal enough, not to mention exceptional reliability and practicality.

Prices should be around RM45k. You can find tons of it in Mudah, Carlist etc...
sheahann
post May 16 2017, 10:00 PM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,235 posts

QUOTE(killeralta @ May 16 2017, 09:39 PM)
with budget of <50k, sedan and fuel efficient i can only think of the Bezza, high traffic drive also still can get around 12-14km/l
Bezza cheap but not stable. From cheras up getting and back to cheras only cost rm15 lol
SonnyCooL
post May 17 2017, 12:03 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 16 2017, 06:56 PM)
Ur many said = not hybrid owner too.. .. I find heavy jam with hybrid is good, only issue build material ...

This post has been edited by SonnyCooL: May 17 2017, 12:04 AM
fireballs
post May 17 2017, 12:05 AM

5,627 posts

safety>fc bro
dstl1128
post May 17 2017, 08:28 AM

4,463 posts

Bezza Advance. That 1.2L Attrage is problematic.

Deja Vu
post May 17 2017, 08:56 AM

1,851 posts

Personally I'd hunt around for either
- face lifted City E-spec (has VSC) with the 'conventional' 5-speed auto would return fairly excellent fuel consumption
- G-spec 'dugong' Vios or the newer bodied Vios mated to the old 4-speed auto
- CKD Polo sedan, FC may be just a shade above your requirement and maintenance might be slightly costlier than Japanese/Korean models, but in terms of stability it licks both the Honda and Toyota and that 6-speed is really nice for cruising
mdziaf
post May 17 2017, 09:32 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 16 2017, 09:56 PM)
QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ May 17 2017, 03:03 AM)
Ur many said = not hybrid owner too.. .. I find heavy jam with hybrid is good, only issue build material ...
The Hybrids that are in your budget (30k - 50k) are Honda Insight and the Prius C. The Prius (non-C version) OTR price for second hand would be at least 55-60k. The Insight is manufactured only up to 2012 and the Prius C is a hatchbackso so neither will fit your criterias.. The other sedan Hybrid would be the Civic Hybrid which is around the same price as the Prius (non - C).

But just to give a Hybrid car a bit of a bump for you to consider: I recently bought an Insight and right now I am achieving around 17.4km/l in traffic flex.gif . My major traffic slowdowns in my commute is Gombak - Jalan Duta on DUKE between 7am - 8am, and the escape from PJ towards DUKE in the evening.

Battery can be around 8k for the Prius, and about 4k for the Honda IMAs. There's an 8 year battery warranty for the Hondas but you need to find a car with the service record booklet and the previous owner didn't skip on service. Not sure if the same is available for the Prius. Honestly, reading through the respective hybrid forums, the battery shouldn't be a concern. There are people who still drive on their original battery on the Gen 1 Insight in the US (the Insight sold here is the Gen 2).

But in any case good luck finding a fuel efficient car icon_rolleyes.gif

TSimperialrealcs
post May 17 2017, 09:35 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ May 16 2017, 07:14 PM)
dont so as well...maybe slightly but I dont think could outperform. my passat cc (2.0) could do 8-10km/l on a high traffic road...full tank could easily do 800 km or more on highway...just bought it so cant give more stats.

modern big CC engines are very efficient, could out perform many smaller engines, since it has the power to carry the load and the technology going behind, TSI, GDI, FSI, etc...is just that good
no matter how efficient it still cant beat the fc of a car with 3 cylinder and low displacement plus with vvt tech as well.
just idling alone the 2l would consume more already.

QUOTE(LemonKnight @ May 16 2017, 08:59 PM)
The other sedan that I can think of is the Ford Fiesta if you don't mind any uhh, maintenance costs.

I think you answered your own question though, if fuel efficiency is your No. 1 priority, get the Attrage.

What's your wife daily route like? If her route is 100% traffic, even the Attrage wouldn't do much better than the Myvi, for example.
i know attrage seems like the best option but i wana get second opinion. mana tau i missed one or 2 car lol.

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ May 16 2017, 09:56 PM)
just get a 2012/13 Honda City.

That 1.5L engine should be frugal enough, not to mention exceptional reliability and practicality.

Prices should be around RM45k. You can find tons of it in Mudah, Carlist etc...
sis driving that to school, nope the fc is not that good. she regularly getting 10-12km/l despite low traffic.

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ May 17 2017, 12:03 AM)
yes that is very true. most are not hybrid owner nor that had any experience. just hear say. heck, i even search around and i found out even the oldest prius hybrid, most owner still using the ori battery lol
Opa Gangnam Style
post May 17 2017, 10:01 AM

39 posts

honda city 2012-2013 i vote.
average drive 12-13km/L
speed up highway and heavy jam still 12-13km/L
is quite good mang, should consider it.

0.0175sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:03 AM