Samsung Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ discussion thread V4, S8 RM3299/S8+ RM3699

silrave
post May 6 2017, 12:15 PM

5,893 posts

so enjoy my s8+
i find out using the fingerprint sensor gesture to slide notification bar quite convenient
those themes i found from samsung themes store also not bad

just some need pay so i skip it
silrave
post May 6 2017, 12:23 PM

5,893 posts

got ppl share their battery life?
screen on time?
silrave
post May 6 2017, 12:31 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ May 6 2017, 12:28 PM)
Hey guys

Do you get edge blue lighting when got notification for new messages while the screen is off?
hmm
when screen on ya
but when screen off like no edge lightning
silrave
post May 6 2017, 12:37 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(ttztorc @ May 6 2017, 12:36 PM)
Anyone got jalan with Mobile Outfitters to get discounted clear coat for S8+?
the promotion already end
silrave
post May 6 2017, 12:45 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(ttztorc @ May 6 2017, 12:39 PM)
I know the previous promo has already ended. Hence the question... Does anyone on the inside or in the know who has jalan to get discount?
try ask back velocity
last time he organize it
silrave
post May 6 2017, 01:33 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(crazycrazyman @ May 6 2017, 01:00 PM)
Anyone else led umis still red even though it's 100% charged? I googled it, it should turn green once it's 100%charged.
hmm
i also red
later will try charge longer see got become green or not

QUOTE(sharpman @ May 6 2017, 01:11 PM)
Guys, one major issue with my S8+

Taking photos with Instagram the end result picture is zoomed in, not as what originally captured. Anyone else having same issue as me?

Current solution is to take photo with default camera app and add the photo to Instagram from gallery
Feedbacks appreciated.
hmm good question
i normally no use instagram camera apps
later i will try

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ May 6 2017, 01:23 PM)
[attachmentid=8792099]

Bought from sunway pyramid roadshow

Pro: vr gear rm249.50

Con : s8+ only got gold.dem..since no choice have to buy.😑
wao VR XD
but i dunno buy it got what use

QUOTE(naz9802 @ May 6 2017, 01:31 PM)
hi guys, may i know the difference between samsung wireless charger early edition and latest edition? Feels when charging using wireless charger so slow.
they are giving old wireless charger slow
even the new wan also not fast as cable

QUOTE(juwels @ May 6 2017, 01:31 PM)
those who did clear coat - do we have to wait one day for the coat to settle? right now it has a pixelated effect on my screen. very cannot tahan, gorgeous screen become like that. am hoping it settles down and becomes nice and clear. otherwise I'll tear it off and buy spigen sp - RM40 only.
yesterday i go do coating
less than 15 minute settle whistling.gif
silrave
post May 6 2017, 01:47 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(juwels @ May 6 2017, 01:44 PM)
I try to keep the clear coat for a few more hours and see how it goes. really cannot tahan how it looks at the moment. my note 3 screen looks better side by side now lol!
hmm then i not sure
yesterday i go there though will slow
may be no ppl
less than 30 min settle XD
silrave
post May 6 2017, 01:58 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ May 6 2017, 01:50 PM)
Huh, go back ask the sifu reapply the clear coat, should not look like pixelated la
agree
i use clear coat also
so far no issue or any complain
silrave
post May 6 2017, 06:06 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(Radec @ May 6 2017, 05:15 PM)
Thats it. Im selling my s8+.

2k rm only.
haha
sure or not
pm me lai XD

did anyone notice the photo taken with s8+ bit white?
need to adjust the brightness to low only feel like normal
silrave
post May 6 2017, 11:51 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ May 6 2017, 06:34 PM)
How bad is it ? My S8+ drain 2-3% on standby over 7 hours with both wifi n lte on. Sometimes is wakelocks causing higher drain. Is common issue on Androids
hmm i try open wifi and when go out switch on data
play games, fb and instagram
from 6.40pm full battery
now 11.44pm battery left 52%
is it consider ok?

i got AOD on and dunno why my samsung smart health also on,
does the smart health apps drain lot battery?

QUOTE(mhhee @ May 6 2017, 06:34 PM)
Don't bash me. MIUI & EMUI much better in battery standby with same setup. I repeat again, same apps & same setup.

May be takes few days to kick in but I really never had WOW battery standby time in Samsung phones.
haha i also worry about the battery of my s8+

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 6 2017, 08:06 PM)
Uninstall Facebook and messenger would help a lot. That's the only two I wouldn't install back in any android phone. One wouldn't believe how much it takes the toll on the battery despite what was reflected in the battery status details.

Edit:

I'm lying... I just did for my wife S8+. However there's no Fb nor messenger on my phone. Therefore I really noticed how much better the battery consumption was after I removed both from my S6e.
omg
really ?
but in the battery life
show fb doesnt drain much

silrave
post May 7 2017, 01:39 AM

5,893 posts

seem like i am the only one facing the camera issue ?
when u guys take pic , press screen to focus 1 place then take pic right ?

i find out all the pic i take very bright
need to press focus and adjust to brightness to very low only look normal for those photo

is it normal?
silrave
post May 7 2017, 02:01 AM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(jaysonwee @ May 7 2017, 01:57 AM)
guys, i'm using tempered glass right now, as what other youtuber said, it just sucks unless you go for those very expensive 1 (gpel/olixar/hao), anyone experiencing this issue? (all side of the screen vry hard to use, especially btm left and btm right), however, samsung SP should be no problem on touch right (since not as thick as tempered glass), i guess i will throw this 1 away and go for samsung 1 with shock prove, what do you guys think?
hmm?
i use clear coat no issue on this
just got like water mark under clear coat
need to go there reapply again
silrave
post May 7 2017, 02:17 AM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(jaysonwee @ May 7 2017, 02:09 AM)
are you using the 1 from samsung? i heard they say only rm40 on most telco store
i use clear coat...
last time velocity got help us to get promotion for apply it
silrave
post May 7 2017, 02:28 AM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(Nick Zelos @ May 7 2017, 02:20 AM)
U using auto or pro mode?
i am using auto
i am facing this issue = =
silrave
post May 7 2017, 02:43 AM

5,893 posts

i am thinking may be i got on wifi and got run background apps
now try to close all and see wake up left how many percentage of battery
silrave
post May 7 2017, 01:41 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(big1 @ May 7 2017, 08:37 AM)
then you are doing it wrong.

will your screen turn bright when you go to camera?
no the screen wont turn bright
just most of time
if i use auto to take picture
the photo like become very bright or white

like i take food or pet
their color tone like very white need adjust the brightness to low
then the photo look perfect XD

QUOTE(Gary @ May 7 2017, 09:45 AM)
My s8+ kena camera failed. Front camera failed.
Cant selfie, cant iris.
Tested all method recommended in the net.
Even Master Reset.
Now need to go baxk to Maxis
Hope they change a new one for me.

Btw i wash the phone everyday with dettol...will it affect it?
haha first time see this
i no problem on camera
dont think dettol will spoil camera? lol XD

QUOTE(powerangah @ May 7 2017, 10:13 AM)
Am I the only one having problem with fingerprint gestures?
i no issue, can slide notification XD

QUOTE(Yen8on3 @ May 7 2017, 12:04 PM)
waiting to see the compatibility with Spigen and Ringke cases I had bought. Only decide once cases arrive
i am using ringke fusion
my right side corner clear coat lift out
need reapply

QUOTE(FuNks @ May 7 2017, 12:19 PM)
Gg im using tough armor , I think not compatible . Claim second time clear coat. Trimmed edges, still lift.
same goes to ringke fusion case

silrave
post May 7 2017, 06:10 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ May 7 2017, 02:39 PM)
2.5 hours with sot of 1 hour and now battery is at 82%.is this normal? If it is then im not impressed.. 😅
lol
why i am like seeing this msg
since yesterday
silrave
post May 7 2017, 10:45 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 7 2017, 09:53 PM)
Finally finish setup my S8+  biggrin.gif

user posted image user posted image

wow look nice ^^

with wifi on and some time using data
game , fb, instagram and normal usage of phone

not bad can last long almost 1 day
but problem sot not as high as u guys

This post has been edited by silrave: May 7 2017, 10:46 PM
silrave
post May 7 2017, 10:48 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 7 2017, 10:46 PM)
Wah! Your SOT is bad, you turn the screen extremely bright?
not sure is it i no format the phone?
hmm i am using auto brightness
silrave
post May 7 2017, 11:48 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 7 2017, 10:52 PM)
I didn't format either but I setup as new, I never did backup from previous phone one.

I also auto brightness and using high performance. I can get SOT around 5 hours ++ near 6 oh.
Weird I use optimised mode
Now try use performance mode

0.0523sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:44 AM