Samsung Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ discussion thread V4, S8 RM3299/S8+ RM3699

hirota
post May 6 2017, 01:50 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(juwels @ May 6 2017, 01:44 PM)
I try to keep the clear coat for a few more hours and see how it goes. really cannot tahan how it looks at the moment. my note 3 screen looks better side by side now lol!
Huh, go back ask the sifu reapply the clear coat, should not look like pixelated la
hirota
post May 6 2017, 02:49 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(Bacon-ator @ May 6 2017, 02:14 PM)
Hi all I got an s8 plus preordered from 11street. Do I need to register anywhere for the warranty? Or is the warranty automatically applied when I got the phone? Either way I did not get any SMS from Samsung saying my warranty has been activated as posted previously by some people
Mine also from 11street,you may open mysamsung app the. Device, click Moreinfo u may see your warranty expire date there.. mine show 2018 may, waiting for the extended warraty update...

This post has been edited by hirota: May 6 2017, 02:50 PM
hirota
post May 6 2017, 08:27 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(big1 @ May 6 2017, 08:19 PM)
Use
Metal
to replace FB
Metal for fb and Twitter?
hirota
post May 7 2017, 10:53 AM

2,387 posts

Just found out that my third party wireless charge pad Choetech brand not compatible with my S8+, it worked fine with my s7e...
hirota
post May 8 2017, 09:56 AM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(asphiroth @ May 8 2017, 09:22 AM)
me too...sometime it works, sometimes it just keep on pausing

bought two already haish, both cant work properly  bangwall.gif
yes, mine keep pausing end up i use the samsung stand pad
hirota
post May 8 2017, 10:48 AM

2,387 posts

my s8+ last cycle 15hr and sot 5hr left 9% battery, u guys so powerfull can get 6-7sot with s8+...
hirota
post May 8 2017, 10:51 AM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 8 2017, 10:39 AM)
I definitely wouldn't suggest turning off gps aka location. It will turn itself on when not being used but if you turn it off and you launch a program that needed it, a gps related app (can't remember the name) would keep draining your battery.
what about set the GPS to Battery saving mode? when use waze that time only set to high accuracy?
hirota
post May 8 2017, 11:22 AM

2,387 posts

Anyone have this option in your phone settings?

hirota
post May 8 2017, 12:00 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ May 8 2017, 11:47 AM)
no offence

if can't afford, get a cheaper phone.

seriously this is the most offence, lol
hirota
post May 8 2017, 12:06 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(hiroka88 @ May 8 2017, 12:05 PM)
Thanks for reply bro,

I used third party cable because that one just for car charger, when i come out work today, just realized that third party cable very very very tight.
yes same. i tried my aukey braided type-C cable, very tight too
hirota
post May 8 2017, 12:14 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 8 2017, 12:10 PM)
This is automatically activated once u plug in using a fast charger supplied by Samsung. The fast charging is displayed once a fast charger is plugged in.
ok, i checked with my friend, he did not use the fast charge adaptor to test, no wonder it never show in his phone setting, thanks notworthy.gif
hirota
post May 8 2017, 12:34 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(pendekar7 @ May 8 2017, 12:19 PM)
who else bought Australian Kase. Mine still @ KLIA :sad:
somebody please share the hardness of the case. is it hard like ringke slim or soft like tpu case.

From their website :

Simply snap the case onto your phone for 100% protection. Our slim silicone & hard case are built for

Impact resistant
Flexibility
Extremely slim
Unique-Trendy
Perfect Feel
Bro the so called Australian kase case is just aliexpress cheapo case...
hirota
post May 8 2017, 07:37 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ May 8 2017, 06:31 PM)
To those that use the clear coat, do you feel that the front sp a bit "soft"? For some reason mine feels like there's a soft layer. And if I press using fingernails I can see the mark on the sp. Is it the same for u guys?
Yes same

QUOTE(woonyoung91 @ May 8 2017, 06:57 PM)
Battery life quite good on mobile. With gaming and gear vr on the whole time
Oh I saw mobile legend, have u enable full screen? And turn on game performance mode?
hirota
post May 9 2017, 09:38 AM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(zirconzest @ May 9 2017, 09:30 AM)
Yea I selected all apps. Just now I noticed the edge lighting during screen on when bank TAC message comes in. Small but still noticable. Notify me if you can make it work when screen off tongue.gif
yes same problem, when screen off the edge lighting not working....

found this:

https://forum.xda-developers.com/galaxy-s8/...-t3594226/page7

Edge Lighting / Screen wake-up works very well with certain apps like Samsung messages (both screen on and screen off), but not with all the apps (example: WhatsApp). This is due to a permission change in Android 7.
If you go to the "Settings/Apps" screen and tap the three dots in top-right corner and select "special access", these will be an entry called "Apps that can appear on top". When you tap the entry, you will get a list of apps that can have the special access called "draw on top of other apps". any app in this list can invoke Edge Lighting or wake the screen up. In my case, I found WhatsApp is missing in it. That mean WhatsApp developers have to fix the app.

As a workaround: Open WhatsApp, Go to settings -> Notifications and enable "Popup" notifications to show when the screen is "off".

This post has been edited by hirota: May 9 2017, 09:42 AM
hirota
post May 9 2017, 04:18 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(devinz @ May 9 2017, 03:53 PM)
any bros can help on this? Transfer whatsapp from iphone to S8
need to purchase a software to do the transfer, u may search lyn Garage sales
hirota
post May 9 2017, 05:25 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(mchjkl @ May 9 2017, 05:18 PM)
Because WhatsApp restore failed, tried so many times and different ways, thru Google backup or local backup, nothing worked so far
how large your backup file?
hirota
post May 9 2017, 05:47 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(nonamekid @ May 9 2017, 05:45 PM)
Quite legit. Bougt few powerbanks and aukey charger from them. And the  livechat girl is cantik amoi!!
lol, the livechat keep popup, i just replied "Dont keep pop up this msg will do!!!"
then someone replied ok sorry...
hirota
post May 9 2017, 09:06 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(lordskarn @ May 9 2017, 08:53 PM)
Bought mine from Lazada and its not showing up in the cyber portal.. will check with this Bintang Maju whether I have to register personally or they will do
11street also same seller Bintang Maju, please update here once you got the answer, thanks in advance bro
hirota
post May 9 2017, 10:53 PM

2,387 posts

QUOTE(tany @ May 9 2017, 09:37 PM)
My s8
So girly... Pinky kitty lol
hirota
post May 9 2017, 11:00 PM

2,387 posts

My s8+ third cycles, good night