Is your location history on?
Yes. Not always on are Bluetooth, NFC, Mobile hotspot
benny888
post May 6 2017, 08:11 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Seems Samsung as Huawei is also involved in "cheating" consumers about its ufs type storage
I checked mine and is ufs 2.1

https://www.xda-developers.com/the-hardware...-1-and-ufs-2-0/

This post has been edited by benny888: May 6 2017, 08:12 AM
benny888
post May 6 2017, 11:06 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I use package disabler pro and completely disable bixby. Before that I did test few bixby remap app but doesn't seem to work ?
benny888
post May 6 2017, 01:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Mr Mobile n MKBHD on LG G6 vs S8

benny888
post May 6 2017, 06:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mhhee @ May 6 2017, 06:02 PM)
S8 battery standby sucks to max, until now Samsung still cannot get it works right.
How bad is it ? My S8+ drain 2-3% on standby over 7 hours with both wifi n lte on. Sometimes is wakelocks causing higher drain. Is common issue on Androids

benny888
post May 7 2017, 03:21 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ivanchingkl @ May 7 2017, 03:14 PM)
can show us some picture? i am using spigen neo hybrid but not sure what sp to use
Why don't you try yourself with the supplied SP. I tested it ( though not a big fan of SP) and all my backcase ( samsung alscantra look alike) and flip case perfect fit . Edges doesn't lift up.
It is free n no harm trying out

This post has been edited by benny888: May 7 2017, 04:18 PM
benny888
post May 7 2017, 05:06 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 7 2017, 02:34 PM)
Ok, it is glasses issue.

I use back my old glasses which immediate unlocked for me.

But my new glasses difficult unlocked for me.
Mine is bi focal lens and I had no problems at all using it. It seems faster and better too vs ex Note7.
benny888
post May 9 2017, 04:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mchjkl @ May 9 2017, 04:47 PM)
Wonder if that is able to resolve data backup issues from Android to Android phone.
By the way, anyone tried? Is trial version able to restore once, or need to purchase the software to use?
Thanks!
Trial version only allow about 20 messages restore
This is a very good software n 100% restore accurately. Is worth the money if full transfer is important for you. Make sure you buy the correct one as there are 2 : iPhone to android and android to iphone
Each purchase entitle you to use up to 3 different phones

This post has been edited by benny888: May 9 2017, 04:55 PM
benny888
post May 9 2017, 05:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mchjkl @ May 9 2017, 04:58 PM)
Good to know the trial can restore 20 messages, maybe can try if really can work before buying.

This is the one I'm looking at now for Android to Android.
Backuptrans Android WhatsApp Transfer (link below)
Backuptrans Android

Backup WhatsApp Chat History from Android to Computer
Restore WhatsApp Chat History to Android from PC
Transfer WhatsApp Messages between Android Phones directly
Export WhatsApp Messages to document file(Txt, Csv, Doc, Html, PDF)
Print out WhatsApp Messages in conversations on PC
Extract WhatsApp Pictures videos audios etc attachments to PC
Work perfectly for Samsung, HTC, Motorola, Sony Ericsson, LG, Huawei and More

I assume this version can transfer from Android to Android.
Does it require phone to be rooted to work?
Why need software to transfer from android to android ? Just use WA restore function will be fine
I had purchase both android to iphone and iphone to android and is 100% good and fine
No need root for software

This post has been edited by benny888: May 9 2017, 05:10 PM
benny888
post May 9 2017, 05:28 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mchjkl @ May 9 2017, 05:18 PM)
Because WhatsApp restore failed, tried so many times and different ways, thru Google backup or local backup, nothing worked so far
My 5.2gb backup restore perfectly well on my s8+. Quick and easy. Just allow the WA itself to auto restore. I had never any problems restoring on all the androids I had used to date
Use same simcard from previous backup

This post has been edited by benny888: May 9 2017, 05:29 PM
benny888
post May 10 2017, 11:21 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xxdooyo @ May 10 2017, 11:01 AM)
Bro, do come back if you have any info on the seller. Really want to get from them.
S8 at rm2.7k and s8+ at rm3.2k, that are the cheapest price thus far although without any freebies
I don't think these are Samsung Malaysia sets...do clarify with them first
benny888
post May 11 2017, 04:47 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ May 11 2017, 04:21 PM)
Wow now Samsung call to confirm whether you buy the phone. Why is that?
They had been doing this since S6 days. Nothing new. I did receive calls for S6e, S7e and Note7 but none yet for the S8+
benny888
post May 11 2017, 04:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ May 11 2017, 04:35 PM)
guys is there anyway to maintain the navbar to black...i notice the when i open up my whatsapp my navbar turn back to white though i set it to black, some apps do that some  don
I don't had such a problem at all...it always stay black
benny888
post May 11 2017, 06:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

His rants on those complaints on S8

benny888
post May 13 2017, 09:16 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(crazycrazyman @ May 13 2017, 09:07 AM)
Just happened to me. My earpiece no sound and I couldn't hear what my called said. I'll needs to restart the phone to have it function again. Anyone has this too?
If it occur again just send in to claim warranty. Had such an issue on ex S6e ( 2 weeks usage) and motherboard was replaced
benny888
post May 13 2017, 09:19 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(crazycrazyman @ May 13 2017, 09:17 AM)
Ish. After replacing mother board, the ip68 water resistance feature will be gone is that right?
I don't think so unless the tech do a poor job sealing back the phone
benny888
post May 14 2017, 04:28 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ May 14 2017, 03:26 PM)
got alot other brand la

Hua wei is a crappy brand so avoid also no different. Iphone not everyone phone

Got Sony, Xiao mi, HTC, Samsung, Nokia, LG and many more
Huawei crappy ? Seriously have u used any
My opinion HW makes very good phones having used the 6.1, X1, Mate7, Mate8, Mate 9 pro n Mate9.
It can easily rivalled most high end phones these days
U make this conclusion just on its recent p10 series storage type issue ???

Btw the S8+ isn't that great for its price vs the much cheaper LG G6. I am using both now

This post has been edited by benny888: May 14 2017, 04:30 PM
benny888
post May 14 2017, 04:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 14 2017, 04:40 PM)
surely you should compare S8 with G6 no?

and S8 is only slightly more expensive than the G6.
S8 is around rm3.1 k while G6 is only rm2.4k now. RM700 is a big difference to me. Anyway I paid rm3.6k for S8+ and 2.7k for G6
benny888
post May 14 2017, 05:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 14 2017, 04:55 PM)
The S8 can be bought for between 2770 to 2900 right now. So taking your word for G6 current price at rm2.4k..

well the difference isnt much of a difference. Because you compare the s8+ with g6 of course gap is big, because s8+ is not an apple to apple comparison.

S8 vs G6 is a better comparison, both 18:9, both screen sizes almost the same 5.7 vs 5.8 therefore its only fair to use the S8 as the benchmark.

So for rm 300 more you get a significantly better looking phone along with its samsung software features some are so good while some are gimmick if you dont use or utilize them. Oh not to forget you also get the latest 10nm procs vs G6's outdated procs,

While you only really lose out on dual camera functionality against tthe G6. Thats if you even use it.
If you talk about your normal standard pictures, IMO S8 looks nicer than the G6.

So for you to say the S8+ or in this case the s8 "isnt that great of a device" for its price compared to the G6 is just mind boggling.
I am saying it from an actual user experience and not theoretical argument based on specs. I will post my assessment of both later

This post has been edited by benny888: May 14 2017, 05:02 PM
benny888
post May 14 2017, 05:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 14 2017, 05:10 PM)
anyway IMO, if you wanna compare both phones and determine which is "better", you should use the S8 instead of the S8+ for the benchmark on prices. Because the S8 and G6 are more similarly matched to each other than the S8+ vs the G6.

S8+ giving the 6.2" display itself calls for a different pricing category, comparable to that of the iphone7+. So no matter what it will always look like it isnt great value vs the G6 due to the difference in prices.

On the other hand the s8 can do whatever the s8+ can, and is more similar to compare with the G6 due to the screen sizes, form factor, etc.

Basically all im saying is, when you do your comparison of both phones, when you talk about the the "value" or "money" factor, you shouldnt use the s8+ price to determine which is more "value for money", because the s8+ doesnt belong to the same category as the G6.
As a simple summary i view G6 gives me more value vs S8. Both are good and each has its pro n cons. Again this depend on user preferences on phone features. If you check YouTube comparison the choice is split between them.

0.0194sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:49 AM