Credit Cards Credit Card v20, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

aurora97
post Mar 29 2024, 02:32 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

Heeellloooo Sifu/Senpai/Sensai out there, need your help for this scenario. So story goes, AA canceled a flight and I am getting a refund to my credit card of close to 11K.

Previously, what I would do, I would transfer/top-up my Touch n Go Ewallet, and then transfer it back to my bank account. Unfortunately, they reduced the amount to RM1K and now they charge 1%.

Do you have any methods in mind that I can transfer out the money without incurring additional cost and transfer back to my bank account?

Appreciate advise notworthy.gif
aurora97
post Apr 3 2024, 10:35 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Mar 29 2024, 02:51 PM)
call CS and ask if you can transfer the excess $$ out (better if you have SA with them too). Tell them you already settled your cc statement but refund came later, hence the excess fund in the card.

else, keep the excess in the card and treat it as advance payment to your future card spending lor. i'm sure you still gonna keep using this card, right?
dont bother redirect your cc fund to any ewallets. none can handle 11k cc reload without any limitation/fee imposed.

you can claim it's from 'refund'. someone else can claim others too. in the end, the same action is to "recycle cc into cash" anyway. laugh.gif
I didn't know you can transfer excess out. I call customer service for UOB and they confirm it can be done without penalty. They will transfer it back to my savings account.

Normally, i fully pay out my credit card or partially because I have other plans and the excess money I need in cash. Previously, I can do this by transferring it to TnG eWallet and cash out to bank but now this cannot be done. Amusingly, I have also overpaid some credit cards in the past and the customer service gave me a hell of a time (apparently cannot do transfer back to savings). I found a solution, which is TnG eWallet but with the 1% admin fee. No thanks.

Still looking for solutions "just in case". Ultimately, I need the monies back into my savings account cause reasons...
aurora97
post May 21 2024, 10:49 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

want to ask, say my annual salary is more than RM 200K p.a. , what is the maximum credit limit according to BNM requirement that I am entitled to have for any credit card?
aurora97
post May 21 2024, 04:02 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 21 2024, 01:41 PM)
For cardholders earning RM36,000 per annum and less, maximum credit limit extended to a cardholder shall not exceed two times their monthly income per issuer.

Not specified for more than that pa.
Ya, that's what I saw as well but I just wanted to know for salary above 36K p/a, what is the discretion or the yardstick they use. Can't be them giving you RM 1 million credit for no basis.

aurora97
post May 24 2024, 10:16 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(hye @ May 23 2024, 05:17 PM)
May you enlighten us as to why you wanted to seem to strongly wanting to know how the CL award will be calculated for salary above RM36k p.a. ?
It's pretty odd because some banks have a section asking how much you want to increase your limit by.

Say currently my limit is RM 50K, can I ask for another RM 50K? Is there like a formula, basis, method used by Banks to determine maximum credit limit for those earning RM 36K p.a. above or the Bank woke up one day and chooses violence and decide to reject your credit limit increase request?

I have my reasons... but it would be good to know. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by aurora97: May 24 2024, 10:17 AM
aurora97
post May 24 2024, 11:27 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 24 2024, 10:27 AM)
you can ASK, but not necessary GET what you asked for.

each bank has their internal sets of evaluations and scoring of you as an individual.

it's highly internal and P&C. (unsecured) CL is risky and need to be managed. as much as they want to make money from you, they also need to contain their risk exposure if giving too much or stunting their cards business growth if giving too little.

again, there is no fixed guideline on how much CL they willing to give you. they have their policies, and for obvious reasons (eg security, data manipulation, etc), it's not for public consumption (aka your curiousity) laugh.gif
just as what you said, you "have your own reasons" and not sharing the true purpose or intention.

if i'm the bank, i'd be wary of your intention in getting higher CL. sweat.gif
Pretty sure banks have all the information they need to do their risk assessment on me, I am like an open book to them. On top of that, probably half of Malaysians information are floating in the public space after so many leaks.

Ultimately, I am curious about how they determine higher CL, if its easy as below RM 36K p/a i.e. 2x of salary then I won't bother putting in an application.

aurora97
post May 24 2024, 11:51 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 24 2024, 11:50 AM)
they assess based on your current income documentation, ccris, etc

not pluck from internet because these data could be outdated or invalid

36k pa min for them to consider onboarding you. anything above subject to assessment.

even u just applied same bank recently, they may reuse same documents cuz it's still valid/fresh. usually 6mths old data is acceptable. if longer, bank still ask you to furnish latest income docs, regardless of your existing info in their system.

in short, you will always be (re)assessed. no common/generic rules. each enforce their own policies.
Das is good. thumbsup.gif
aurora97
post Jun 6 2024, 05:38 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Jun 6 2024, 11:32 AM)
Can share what are the better ways?
If I am not mistaken, cash advance is 5% of the total cash advanced.

You might as well use TNG eWallet and pay the 1% convenience fee? After you transfer the monies out, just T/T to your bank account.

Anyone, do correct me if I am wrong.
aurora97
post Sep 8 2024, 11:23 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ May 21 2024, 10:49 AM)
want to ask, say my annual salary is more than RM 200K p.a. , what is the maximum credit limit according to BNM requirement that I am entitled to have for any credit card?
Hi, i am your future self, coming back to answer my own question after applying for a few cards.

Basically you will get either RM 50K (mainly foreign banks) or 40K (local banks), as a gauge looks like the x2 rules still apply even though you are earning more than the RM 36K p.a. .

aurora97
post Sep 9 2024, 09:33 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 9 2024, 04:36 PM)
I... earn less than 200k but get more than 50k limit on some banks. Its not merely salary that they look at.
Possible. What i am stating is just general observation and what the bank officer told me (actually they also not sure) but he told me min for the card that i was applying should be rm 50k.

The banks with lower credit limit possible because i dont bank with them and do not have any relationship prior, i just want their card cause damn easy to get points!

I have had some missed payment on my housing loan in the past. Which may also explain the low credit limit.

aurora97
post Oct 28 2024, 04:47 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 28 2024, 01:20 PM)
Sinchew's advice on using your credit card wisely. Avoid the pitfalls mentioned:

https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20241028/nation/6031012
Those are general advice.

I think the rule of thumb at least for me:
1. pay full every time and all the time.
2. bust the 30% credit limit, regardless if it hurts your credit scoring. (bust limit but still observe #1)
3. don't miss payment (this one will hurt you most, as both CCRIS and CTOS will hold this data).
4. Use all cards for at least 1 year than start to cut out the losers and swap for better ones.

example: for AM enrich VI, 1st year annual fee waiver but second year if spend don't exceed RM 100K, you get slapped with RM 500 annual fee. Assuming my credit limit is 50K and I use 20K every month (i.e. 40% limit), I can settle the annual fee requirement in 5 months. After that can put inside drawer and forget until i travel.
aurora97
post Oct 30 2024, 08:39 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Oct 29 2024, 10:41 PM)
If I wanted to use my credit cards overseas, do I need to call bank to activate it or no issue?

PB and MB CC
Be safe, best you call and tell the bank that when you intend to use your cards overseas.

There are banks who are not bothered, they say don't need to inform the bank. In any case, you don't want to find out when you are overseas your card has been declined. rclxub.gif
aurora97
post Oct 30 2024, 11:59 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Oct 30 2024, 11:24 AM)
I'm planning to have it as backup since im going to use Wise.
What I was toldlar...

For WISE, use at least once locally before you travel. Also, in some countries WISE may not be widely accepted.

Have fund and stay safe abroad! cool2.gif
aurora97
post Oct 30 2024, 02:02 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Oct 30 2024, 12:33 PM)
Really? I never use wise locally also...
Not too sure, I just over-heard my colleagues who use wise, I choose to use my trusty credit card and hard cash to power through my trip.

How to activate Wise card in Malaysia
Wise card doesn’t require an activation, but before you can use your Wise card for contactless payments you’ll need to activate it.

All you have to do is use your card PIN for a transaction - this could be buying something in a store, making a cash withdrawal or simply checking your balance at an ATM. This is a one time transaction, and you can do it after you’ve received your physical Wise card.

https://exiap.com.my/guides/how-to-use-wise-card-in-malaysia

aurora97
post Nov 13 2024, 02:40 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 13 2024, 01:04 PM)
Very not worth it. I cannot spend much also.
The answer is depends. If you are frequent flier than 2-3K monthly spending won't cut it at all. I don't fly frequently, which allows me to collect some points to convert to miles.

You can pay for your air ticket using points. Meaning to say a RM 200+ air ticket may be offset by 15K enrich points [this was way back before the mile points got inflated].

In instances of emergency, say a death of a relative close to festive season, air tickets would cost an arm and a leg, you can also use the points to knock it off.

If you intend to go down this path i.e. collect miles, then i suggestion the following:

1. identify the carrier that you intend to use most frequent (for instance, certain credit card only offer MAS example, HL VI, AMbank VI Enrich or Alliance Bank VI)

2. find the card that gives most BANG for the buck RM 4 spend to 1 Enrich miles (Ambank) or RM 3.5 spend to 1 Enrich (HL VI).

3. find a card with the least amount of exclusions, for instance, if the 2-3K monthly spend is mainly JomPay and the card excludes collection of points using JomPay, then you will get nothing at all.
aurora97
post Nov 14 2024, 05:52 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

Introduction:

This "pilot" post caters specifically for CASHBACK (or HYBRID) Credit Card.

Below is a collection of responses that i have gathered and also responded to in the past. It is not a recommendation of any particular credit card but gives you an overview of the credit cards feature. If you have any other

The thread will be updated gradually, however if you have any credit card you would like me to review, please post your message in this thread and I will tend to it.

I don't proclaim to be an expert in Credit Cards, I am also doing this to understand from the public at large, the best credit cards that are out there.

Content Arrangement

The content is arranged as follows:

(a) credit card name
(b) Min Income
© Annual Fee
(d) Cashback feature (and Reward Point)
(e) PPL
(f) Exclusion
(g) Additional Note
(h) Airmiles
(i) Source

Some content maybe omitted because they may not have that feature.

Updated as at

14 November 2024

AmBank Cash Rebate Visa Platinum
Min Income: 24K p.a.

Annual Fee: Free for Life.

RHB Visa Signature
Min income: RM 80k p.a.

Annual Fee: Waived.

HL Wise Card
Min Income: RM 24K

Annual Fee: RM 98 (P) / RM 48 (S) - Terms and Conditions item 4 - There is no annual fee waiver for WISE Card. (updated as at 17 November 2024)

Important Change (from 1 Jan 2025 onwards)

https://www.hlb.com.my/en/personal-banking/...1-jan-2025.html

Effective 1 January 2025, please be informed that the HLB Wise Credit Card Feature will be revised for you to enjoy up to 15% cashback and more than RM780 cashback in a year.

Dining: weekend 15% capped at RM20
Groceries and Petrol: weekend 10% capped at RM15 each
Online: 1% capped at RM15
Minimum monthly spend: RM1000

Max monthly CB: RM65

HL Essential
Min Income: RM 24K

Annual Fee: RM 100 (P) / RM 50 (S)

Public Bank Visa Signature (hybrid between CashBack and Reward)

Min Income: RM 80K p.a.

Annual Fee: RM 388 (P) / RM 200 (S)

MBB 2 Platinum 2 Card (hybrid between CashBack and Reward)
Min Income: RM 60K p.a.

Annual Fee: Lifetime fee waiver.

MBB Barcelona

Min Annual Income: RM 48K

Annual Fee: Free for Life

Alliance Bank Visa Signature

Min Annual Income: RM 48K

Annual Fee: RM 148

Affin Duo (hybrid between CashBack and Reward)

Min annual income: RM 24K p.a.

Annual Fee: RM 75 for each card (P) and RM 30 for each card (S) / 12 swipes for waiver

Affin Duo+

Min annual income: RM 48K p.a.

Annual Fee: RM 100 for each card (P) and RM 50 for each card (S)/ 12 swipers for waiver

----------------------------------------------------------Added on: 15 November 2024 --------------------------------------------------------------

AEON BiG Visa Gold (hybrid between CashBack and Reward)

Min annual income: RM 36K

Annual Fee: RM 95 (P) / RM 60 (S) subject 12 swipes per year for waiver.

RHB Shell Visa

Min annual income: RM 24K p.a.

Annual Fee: RM 195 (P) subject to 24 swipes per year for waiver / waived (S)

UOB One Card

Min annual income: RM 24K p.a. (One Classic Card) / RM 60K p.a. (One Platinum Card)

Annual Fee: RM 120 (P) & RM 60 (One Classic Card) / RM 195 (P) & RM 100 (S) (One Platinum Card)

----------------------------------------------------------Added on: 17 November 2024 --------------------------------------------------------------

UOB EVOL (formerly known as UOB YOLO)

Min annual income: RM 36K p.a.

Annual Fee: RM 90 (P) / RM 30 (s)

----------------------------------------------------------Added on: 18 November 2024 --------------------------------------------------------------

Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Platinum Card-i

Min annual income: RM 40K

Annual Fee: Lifetime fee waiver

aurora97
post Nov 17 2024, 11:18 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 17 2024, 06:32 AM)
597/9000= 6.633%
Sorry I don't get the 6k and 9k thingy. Also, what with the %. Appreciate the explanation.
aurora97
post Feb 19 2025, 09:22 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

Hihih, was looking at credit shield because of [insert reasons]. It looked useful until i did the meth. Some banks are charging RM 0.66 for every RM 100 outstanding. If my meth calculation is correct, that would be RM 6.6 for every RM 1000. If my outstanding is RM 10000, the premium will be RM 66??? Holy cow, this product is expensive. Am I seeing it wrong?
aurora97
post Feb 20 2025, 08:56 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 20 2025, 05:43 AM)
That’s why seasoned users don’t subscribe credit shield.
Yeah, its a costly endeavor, for any credit card user for that matter. My situation is a bit different, I have other means (which doesn't involve me coming out a single sen) to cover the cost of the credit shield but the rates are absurd.

Is there any alternatives in the market? Try to gauge responses of other credit card users.
aurora97
post Feb 20 2025, 10:15 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 20 2025, 09:31 AM)
What are you exactly trying to cover? The way you are talking like hiding some big secret, then expect advise?
Look up what credit shield is. 🤣

I am asking is there alternatives, you dont have to know what i spend on my credit card.

0.1399sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:45 AM