55~60" TV recommendation, Sifu pls recommend

ubi1kelubi
post Jul 25 2017, 09:08 AM

I hope I think I know
2,409 posts

Hi, any review on LG 55UH770T?read on rtings.com it on par with KU6000 just that the LG 55UH770T got dolby vision and more expensive.
ubi1kelubi
post Jul 25 2017, 11:15 AM

I hope I think I know
2,409 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 25 2017, 10:46 AM)
License fees cannot be so expensive lar. I think the Samsung KU6000 price has come down because Samsung new models comes out pretty fast. The 2017 model is no more KU6000.
Further reading found that the UH770 has less motion blur compare to KU6000 (120Hz vs 60Hz). Not sure how significant this feature is. But overall the picture quality is the same. Keen on KS7000 but the price more expensive.
ubi1kelubi
post Jul 25 2017, 11:23 AM

I hope I think I know
2,409 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jul 25 2017, 10:31 AM)
For the LG you are paying extra for Dolby Vision license fees (DV is just a higher spec version of HDR10), a feature you are unlikely to use.
Is the DV will enhance the picture quality with more bit per color regardless any format is been played?or it only depend on the format that support DV?
ubi1kelubi
post Jul 25 2017, 02:25 PM

I hope I think I know
2,409 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Jul 25 2017, 12:16 PM)
i am also looking for a TV but my budget is below RM5k so OLED is out of the question.

i was told that the LG 55UH770 is a direct comparison to the Samsung KS7000 but in terms of pricing, the KS7000 is much more expensive than UH770.

the attractive point of the LG is the GUI of the smart feature and price but it seems to have very low brightness. HDR contents seems to suffer from the low brightness of the TV

apart of KS7000, any TV you guys would recommend for budget of below RM5K? the size that i am looking for is 50 inch.
Same case with me, but based on review, on overall performance KS7000 win hands down and UH770 is lacking behind. The plus point for UH770 is its claim to be having a Dolby Vision and a smart feature with magic remote like u mentioned.

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jul 25 2017, 12:16 PM)
No, you need DV content. Almost negligible at the moment.

Also it is suspected (but not confirmed) the LG panel is not even true 10 bit panel (i.e 10 bit color with WCG), which is necessary for minimum HDR10 specs, which LG model also claim to support in addition to DV).

You can read about it here (under Calibration heading):-

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/55uh770v-201610064369.htm

(But I am not sure if that model the same because the model number ends wit a V instead of a T)

But do also take note that the KU6000 as well is not true HDR10 certified (only 8 bit panel), that's why they only said it has HDR capability. (Can input and process HDR, but the output not HDR10).
From what I understand, DV can coexist with HDR-10. So it will be a nice added feature for your TV. But after reading a review from the link u provided, seem that the HDR in this UH770and even though it also has DV wont be as good as a TV with true HDR10 without DV.haha

This post has been edited by ubi1kelubi: Jul 25 2017, 02:34 PM
ubi1kelubi
post Jul 25 2017, 03:05 PM

I hope I think I know
2,409 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 25 2017, 02:35 PM)
i share the view that it is better to spend money on a true HDR10 tv.

dolby vision is a few years away, at least - in terms of content.

note to get even hdr10 colors, u need hdr10 source, hdr10 player, hdr10 avr and hdr10 tv.

what more for dv 12 bit colors!!
agreed! thumbup.gif
ubi1kelubi
post Aug 25 2017, 09:19 AM

I hope I think I know
2,409 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Aug 24 2017, 06:09 PM)
Lazada & 11streets can give you a rough estimate of the overall price and most of the time, it is lower than what most shops can offer but do check the information of the seller. a lot of the sellers in Lazada are from China because Lazada is now own by Ali group.

you can use the price you get from Lazada & 11street to bargain with the shops. Most of the time, we will try to follow the price you see in 11streets.
Last time I purchase n paid, after 1 week lazada reply no stock from the seller and it take about 3 days for the refund. 1 week + 3 days = 10 days of time wasting waiting for your tv. Their refund process also not automatically refund to the account that u made payment for, need to provide account detail, IC number etc. Before buying, better check the stock 1st by asking the seller. Their stock information is not real time and inaccurate.

0.0168sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:54 PM