Games Trusty Bell / Eternal Sonata, Asian (English) Version is out

Gurdian
post Nov 10 2007, 09:02 PM

1,648 posts

First impressions:

the minute the game starts, there's a familiar feeling that welcomes you

it is something that was severely lacking in Enchanted Arms and Blue Dragon and now finally, Xbox360 owners can finally say this;

"We have a decent J-RPG for our console,"

Although not spectacular, compared to the empty Enchanted Arms and forced Blue Dragon, you can finally feel the sense of wonder and imagination which was put into this game by real Japanese developers who are known for their wondrous balance between gameplay and storyline.

The graphics are simple but solid. Characters are beautifully cell-shaded with almost no sign of polygons, proving that you don't need an Unreal Engine to flex High-Def graphics. Environments are anything but bland and dull, although greater detail would have been appreciated.

Gameplay is still to be judged. So far I can say the intro was long-winded enough to remind me of the Xenosaga days.
Letting me begin with a female character who uses a 'pretty' umbrella as a weapon reminds me of the stale and sour taste I had when playing FFX-2. I only hope the lead (and male) character comes in soon.

On a side note, the names of the towns and places are hilarious. I don't know if the developers realized how silly it was when translated to english.

There's a place called RETARD-dando. (Although spelled as Ritardando)
TSacougan
post Nov 11 2007, 12:13 AM

590 posts

uhm, i think ritardando is a musical term. the game places and characters have names that are musically-themed. jitterbug FTW!

i enjoyed this game cos it quite different from [eM] or BD. for ppl who are unsure, just try the demo smile.gif
DjiNn
post Nov 14 2007, 01:42 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

finally got my eternal sonata english version..
come come..

RPG time
samurai20
post Nov 14 2007, 03:12 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

erkk ic 2 stock only.????cukup ke meh...... damn time byk game no money.. adeiii need to collect all my hutang.... ... time to become along.. bukit beruntung.. laugh.gif.. lalalala
ben3003
post Nov 15 2007, 01:13 AM

10,859 posts

is musical term meaning slowing down ma.. aiyo
Gurdian
post Nov 15 2007, 10:38 AM

1,648 posts

this game isn't getting the attention it deserves

it's being overshadowed by Ass Creed and Ass Effect

BUMP FOR JRPG
TSacougan
post Nov 15 2007, 02:41 PM

590 posts

haha, don't worry in 2months, we'll get asian version of LO. more jrpg goodness. i wonder what voice track we'll get rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
DeaDLocK
post Nov 16 2007, 07:43 PM

345 posts

I've already put in around 15 hours (half way through I think), and my characters are up to around LV30.

It's fun, but the cut scenes are soooooooooooo boring, because the voice acting is WAY too slow and there are long pauses in between each person speaking. It's like watching paint dry! So as a result I have not been concentrating on the cut scenes, and so I'm not quite sure of the story or what I'm supposed to do at the end of the longer cut scenes, but Wikipedia and a quick glance at walkthroughs gives me the answers I need.

It's a pretty easy game so far, due to how easy it is to make money. I mean from within the second hour I have had more than 100,000 gold. You just need to take some photos of the bosses and sell them, and you make a fortune. Which means an unlimited supply of healing items and whatever weapon or item you want without thinking! I've only felt a need to level grind once so far, and I only spent about one hour doing that until I was strong enough.

The battle system is fantastic, the art direction is incredible. The story is more for kids rather than adults to be honest, but heck, it's a decent game, and finally a good JRPG for the 360.

It's just not as impactful and it won't be a classic like FF7 was, for example.

Added on November 16, 2007, 7:44 pmAnd oh yah don't be surprised at the musical terms - every single name of every chracter and location in this game relates to music somehow.

This post has been edited by DeaDLocK: Nov 16 2007, 07:44 PM
YunaX
post Nov 16 2007, 10:29 PM

365 posts

cool, you guys brought this topic up again, thanks biggrin.gif
DeaDLocK
post Nov 19 2007, 05:50 PM

345 posts

Just finished the game. Play time is 23 hours, and I found it VERY easy.

I only had to level grind once, and even then for 45 minutes before I was strong enough (pirate ship boss).

I finished the last two bosses the first time I fought them, with plenty of back up items to help me out if they were stronger.

E A S Y.
maintenance
post Nov 19 2007, 07:02 PM

1,064 posts

Good.
Now u have finished it??
Wanna Selll???

dark lenanza
post Nov 19 2007, 07:03 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

will had my COPY tomorrow
satanduck
post Nov 20 2007, 05:21 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(DeaDLocK @ Nov 19 2007, 05:50 PM)
Just finished the game. Play time is 23 hours, and I found it VERY easy.

I only had to level grind once, and even then for 45 minutes before I was strong enough (pirate ship boss).

I finished the last two bosses the first time I fought them, with plenty of back up items to help me out if they were stronger.

E A S Y.
Play it again. I think some of the musical score can only be obtained by a 2nd play through...
dark lenanza
post Nov 21 2007, 07:27 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

edi receive my copy
rclxms.gif
nerd
post Nov 23 2007, 12:03 AM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

3 hours into it, and I can conclude that the growing battle system is very addictive. it has a great music score too.

some of the cutscenes are a tad draggy though.

and I'm liking Beat and Polka somehow tongue.gif hate Chopin's English voice, so monotone and uninterested.
-= Virgil =-
post Nov 24 2007, 07:12 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Just started 5 mins into the game. The graphics are really top-notched.
I love this so much rather ... Mess Ifrit cool2.gif
dark lenanza
post Nov 29 2007, 01:44 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

hahaha
love this game
gfx damn cun
now moving to forte cstle
nerd
post Dec 2 2007, 01:17 AM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

beat the game today. clocked around 30 hours, all characters around level 58 or so.

i.......... don't get the ending. i got half of it, on

but i didn't get

cannavaro
post Dec 2 2007, 08:47 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Which 1 would you rather have - Eternal Sonata or Mass Effect?
dark lenanza
post Dec 2 2007, 09:03 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

buy both laaa

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0157sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:54 PM