Seeking for guitar wood

TSjackson_asdf
post Mar 17 2007, 01:37 AM, updated 19y ago

36 posts

Hey guys.. i'm new in this section.. i was wondering if any of you guys know where any places in KL sells guitar wood?? i'm talking about Mahogany, Poplar, Basswood etc... i'm looking forward of building my own electric guitar.. thanks alot in advance
skydancer
post Mar 17 2007, 01:43 AM

308 posts

how bout GIM? does GIM sell wood?

This post has been edited by skydancer: Mar 17 2007, 01:43 AM
TSjackson_asdf
post Mar 17 2007, 01:45 AM

36 posts

i'm not sure.. all i know is GIM using snake wood to do electric guitars.. but i dunno if the tone is nice or not... i want something light.. i wanan build in my fuzz factory in my guitar..
ReeveX.com
post Mar 17 2007, 01:58 PM

Music Fanatic "but" NooB
840 posts

ur a luthier urself???
if ur asking a luthier to build for u...they can order the woods for you...
or can try shipping in from stewmac or LMI
TSjackson_asdf
post Mar 17 2007, 04:53 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ Mar 17 2007, 01:58 PM)
ur a luthier urself???
if ur asking a luthier to build for u...they can order the woods for you...
or can try shipping in from stewmac or LMI
hm.. i wonder where can i find a luthier around KL.. i'm not a luthier juz a guy who is interested in constructing a guitar..
gizmoduck
post Mar 17 2007, 05:07 PM

323 posts

Are you looking for pre-cut wood or block? I saw a lot of generic bodies in singapore when i went there last year.. unless u wanna guitar shaped like a scorpion!!! warkhhghgg!!!!
TSjackson_asdf
post Mar 17 2007, 05:08 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(gizmoduck @ Mar 17 2007, 05:07 PM)
Are you looking for pre-cut wood or block? I saw a lot of generic bodies in singapore when i went there last year.. unless u wanna guitar shaped like a scorpion!!! warkhhghgg!!!!
i want a block.. i drew my own guitar blueprint already...
gizmoduck
post Mar 17 2007, 05:11 PM

323 posts

mail order is prob ur best option, my friend wanted to do the same thing last time around.. but he didnt go thru with it. hav u found any websites?
TSjackson_asdf
post Mar 17 2007, 05:14 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(gizmoduck @ Mar 17 2007, 05:11 PM)
mail order is prob ur best option, my friend wanted to do the same thing last time around.. but he didnt go thru with it. hav u found any websites?
well.. i didn't find any local companies that sell the wood i wanted... i hate ordering it online because of the shipping and stuff will cause like months to deliver...

This post has been edited by jackson_asdf: Mar 17 2007, 05:15 PM
ReeveX.com
post Mar 17 2007, 06:04 PM

Music Fanatic "but" NooB
840 posts

u can only get wood like snakeskinwood...nyatoh...meranti...in malaysia...GIM is the only one selling woods for guitar here...
stewmac and LMI are both establish company...
my teacher is going to order some wood from LMI to build my guitar....
TSjackson_asdf
post Mar 17 2007, 09:19 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ Mar 17 2007, 06:04 PM)
u can only get wood like snakeskinwood...nyatoh...meranti...in malaysia...GIM is the only one selling woods for guitar here...
wow! could u post some pictures of ur guitar building progress?? dat will be so cool...

what i have in mind is a les paul body but slightly thinner with a tele neck built in zvex fuzz factory with mirror-backed perpex.. i might add lasers in it..

BTW gizmo duck.. my friend used to play in ur band.. his name is Handri.. i guess u know who's dat.. he plays the keyboard..

This post has been edited by jackson_asdf: Mar 17 2007, 09:22 PM
Everdying
post Mar 17 2007, 11:02 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ Mar 17 2007, 06:04 PM)
your teacher, im assuming its the same one, needs to learn how to pick up his phone.
today i called him a few times from 2pm - 5pm, no answer, so i could go collect my guitar.
plus as of now he never bothered to call or sms back.

its a good thing i can control my temper nowadays...
next time maybe not.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 17 2007, 11:19 PM
gizmoduck
post Mar 17 2007, 11:25 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(jackson_asdf @ Mar 17 2007, 09:19 PM)
BTW gizmo duck.. my friend used to play in ur band.. his name is Handri.. i guess u know who's dat.. he plays the keyboard..
ahaaa.. ol' handri.. he's a weird one that.. biggrin.gif we miss him dearly.. all that synth stuff was amazing!
TSjackson_asdf
post Mar 17 2007, 11:48 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(gizmoduck @ Mar 17 2007, 11:25 PM)
ahaaa.. ol' handri.. he's a weird one that.. biggrin.gif we miss him dearly.. all that synth stuff was amazing!
lol he's good in music.. he's my classmate last 2 years back den.. real talented.. he can play guitar, keyboard, drums, piano...
ReeveX.com
post Mar 18 2007, 10:29 AM

Music Fanatic "but" NooB
840 posts

@jackson....
i'm building acoustic guitar...so i'll try to get some pictures...

@Everdying
ya...i sms him yesterday oso but no reply...dunno wat happen...anyway wat guitar r u repairing...i remember last time he was repainting a SG...is it urs?
malaysianPotato
post Mar 18 2007, 12:37 PM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

http://www.boingboing.net/2007/02/21/1500_...ric_guitar.html

Ikea wood?
Everdying
post Mar 18 2007, 03:34 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ Mar 18 2007, 10:29 AM)
@Everdying
ya...i sms him yesterday oso but no reply...dunno wat happen...anyway wat guitar r u repairing...i remember last time he was repainting a SG...is it urs?
yea, first one repainted already.
now my other SG is there for some very minor refinishing.

the least he could do is sms and say he very busy etc, rather than not picking up for how many times.
TSjackson_asdf
post Mar 19 2007, 09:58 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Mar 18 2007, 12:37 PM)
omg can u actually get that in IKEA??? if itz for real.. i'll get it for sure..
Everdying
post Mar 19 2007, 10:07 PM

30,735 posts

that guitar is a stupid joke la.
the grain sux, and the body is multipiece AND laminated.
TSjackson_asdf
post Mar 20 2007, 06:19 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 19 2007, 10:07 PM)
that guitar is a stupid joke la.
the grain sux, and the body is multipiece AND laminated.
lol! are u sure???

hey btw everdying, can u recommend me any guitar luthiers ??

This post has been edited by jackson_asdf: Mar 20 2007, 06:51 AM

0.0193sec    0.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:54 AM