marsha1l
post Oct 1 2024, 01:56 PM

water-cooling PC enthusiast
1,041 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 1 2024, 01:25 PM)
here's how they would fail due to corrosion

I guess the condom and ziptie idea would work, but no harm to just inspect it once, then waterproof the thing
thats a great finding. using potentiometer could even use as theft deterrent method.

oh well, another item to stock up for the ride. cool2.gif
marsha1l
post Oct 4 2024, 08:33 AM

1,041 posts

i use yellow for lane splitting during heavy traffic and raining.

White for 'jalan gelap'
marsha1l
post Oct 9 2024, 02:45 PM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Oct 9 2024, 12:08 PM)
OK i think it's good that one of the forumer actually told me to try out the riding school. I shall try that first and learn some basic. You know my parents used to ride kapchai when they were young (cause poor) now they are discouraging me like crazy. I should have done it when i was younger but now I'm in my 30s already. I feel like if I don't do it I might regret it for the rest of my life.
Yes you'll regret if you dont learn. Just trust the process.

register and learn in driving academy.
with L, enjoy riding and practice at home/housing area.

if you have friend that know how to ride, ajak him/her for your first ride.
marsha1l
post Oct 28 2024, 10:02 AM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Oct 28 2024, 09:37 AM)
Thanks! I will definitely have a think about it. What traumatized me is the impact on the head, at that moment i was thinking, if i didn't have the helmet on, it would be a pool of blood that I would be lying on. Haha. I fell a lot from bicycle when i was young, mostly just scratches and all, not like this. damn when you were young, you really didn't know better. I felt like I am like 10 years too late, should have learned a long time ago.
Wish you speedy recovery and rest well. Hopefully continue on your riding. Good thing is making mistake early is that its a permanent memory that will guide you for safer ride in future.

Anyway, even in driving academy I went, newbie rider sign up for bfull, will need to learn ride bfull bike instead of kapchai/b2 bike. IIRC, you wrote in this forum you need to attend L 'ceramah', seems like you have not experience much on clutch vehicle. When the courage come, you can use clutch only to get the bike going, before going into throttle play.

kipidapdongibap
marsha1l
post Nov 11 2024, 10:38 AM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(carbon14 @ Nov 10 2024, 02:17 AM)
Bought a few used bike and I learned from a guy named Ayah Pong (search him in Facebook he provides inspection services). Also some background engineering knowledge from my job as a technician.

Basic basic checking

1. Check starting motor smoothness. It shouldn’t take more than 2 efforts to start when using the electronic starter with a good battery. If you hear grinding sounds when starting and fails to start… just avoid the bike.

2. Test ride. Check front brakes, should not be squishy, firm and progressively feedback as you apply more pressure. Rear brakes gives less feedback but logic is the same.

3. Test ride. Check gear shifting smoothness. Missed gear shifts or abrupt drops back to neutral big red flag.

4. Static test. Pump the front brakes check the front forks for oil leaks. Touch the forks see if there’s oil.

5. Static test. Check if the condition of the overall body and disc rotors tally with the mileage of the bike. Suspiciously low mileage? Disc rotors should tell the truth. It’s not uncommon for touch up paints to be in high mileage bikes, it’s normal. What’s not normal is repairs to hide accidents. I’m afraid I’m not super knowledgeable in this. But obvious suspects, super shiny new radiator with new hoses? More than something just hit the radiator..

I just ask the owner if he jatuh bodoh before. Also do a CTOS total loss claim if you want on the chassis number (ask to share Geran)

6. Static test. Bring along multimeter. Set to DC, check battery condition should be 12.1x (at least 50%charged) above depending whether the owner drive long or short distance usually (Google charge state to get more detail). A lithium battery will be higher voltage at 50% SoC. Then after that, start the bike. The reading should be around 13.1x to 14.xx. It should rise and fall as you rev it up. Number between 12-13V indicates a weak charging output. Anything lower than 12V or stuck at >14.6V should be suspect as the alternator system is problematic. Usually either the stator coil or rectifier.

7. Major service evidence. >40-50K mileage. Ask if valve clearance has been done before..

I’m not a mechanic, just some basic understanding of electronics and stuff I learnt from my own bike service manual and also sifu online. Hope it helps.
True, but i'll check visual(underseat wiring) and static test checklist before requesting test drive. If its not good, I dont even bother to test drive, otherwise, they claim damage is done by me. haha
marsha1l
post Nov 26 2024, 02:32 PM

1,041 posts

there is whistle/low pitch humming sound.

no idea what it is. If its wheel bearing, sound going to be louder as speed increase.

it has similar sound my car issue last time. But its due to pcv and can be heard during idle.
marsha1l
post Nov 28 2024, 10:23 AM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Nov 28 2024, 10:09 AM)
belum pandai kot tongue.gif
or mau power all the time hence tak up the gear to 6 to cruise
or he was talking about, 'where is your glove?'

marsha1l
post Dec 29 2024, 02:23 PM

1,041 posts

achievement for myself 2024

-d400 > er6n 2010 (currently) > 2025 plan (2025 z900/gsxs-750)
-bfull license in one go. (from zero to JPJ passed under 5 weeks)
-confident to weave through traffic defensively. (occasionally kena horn/finger by kapchai especially in high traffic).
-confident to ride in heavy rain. (especially during night time ride going up genting and down, misjudge weather doh.gif )
-reduce Chicken strip and build confidence to lean.

May not be much for most, but as greenhorn and most of time solo/+wife as pillion, ticks all my check before upgrade another bike. thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by marsha1l: Dec 29 2024, 07:17 PM
marsha1l
post Jan 2 2025, 07:03 PM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 2 2025, 03:28 PM)
im on a z900 v1 using double bubble windscreen from aliexpress... can see it HERE

the ride itself is fine as long as the pillion doesnt move around too much and positions herself properly while the bike is leaning.

honestly... the z9 pillion seat is a joke...its so small and so thin... pillion gets uncomfortable really fast. even if u recushion it, it needs to be pretty damn thick to the point of ugly. widening also doesnt really help much as there isnt any support on the sides for it as the frame itself is pretty slim.

if u wanna get a bike and intend on carrying a pillion alot of the time... i say find something else.

my gf has never ridden any bikes til she met me... her first ride was on the z9..and she was ok for the 20-30 minutes she was on it... then i bought a versys1000... now she refuses to ride the z9 hahahahhha

versys1000 comfy for pillion. nice bike too when i test it last time.

wife approve dom400, change to er6n, complain leg pain since its leaning towards the front. sakit kaki nk tahan brake/going over bump.
marsha1l
post Jan 12 2025, 08:58 AM

1,041 posts

new year new bike.

opt out for gsxs750(2022) to replace er6n. used of course, less than 5k mileage but warranty over as its pass 2 years. Wife approve as its better pillion seat vs er6. jury still out, rode with her only 1xxkm.

test out hornet/z900/gsx8s before choosing this. Sadly those model hard to come by as 2nd unit.

marsha1l
post Jan 12 2025, 02:19 PM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 12 2025, 01:21 PM)
Congrats! How much was the bike?

Although weird u couldnt find a used z900. Quite a lot for sale on the z9fb group. Also if i had known could have intro u to my friend...he sold his to imotorbike about 2 months ago.
it was at low 3xk ish.

I want z900 se with tft, hahaha. hardly see any.

marsha1l
post Jan 12 2025, 04:05 PM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 12 2025, 03:20 PM)
Oh then u should definitely have checked out the z9 fb group...saw quite a few for sale actually
But too late now hahahahah
Its ok, dont think any z900 SE less than 40k. Survey for 6 month.

Besides the bike is at 5k mileage and trying suzuki now.gotta love the one push start and low rpm assist.

marsha1l
post Jan 14 2025, 08:03 AM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 12 2025, 07:06 PM)
congrats, the s750 is definitely a good bike.
my only complain is the rider seat is a bit too small as its not covering your whole butt properly compared to z900.
this makes it good for attacking corners but sacrificing comfort on the long run, so you might need to look at widening the seat after some time.

don't forget to change the exhaust to bring out that bassy inline 4 sound  brows.gif
yes, the seat is abit small, make it easier to shift butt. haha.

inline 4 sound is nice, another reason go for this s750, and almost double hp from er6n. even with pillion, riding at cruising speed 150-170, is effortless. Plan to go long trip with wife this bike, and see if she is ok with it on long distance trip before replacing the er6 with scooter.
marsha1l
post Jan 14 2025, 10:20 PM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 14 2025, 12:15 PM)
for ultimate pillion comfort, nothing beats a touring bike or maxi scoot. My pillion has sworn off ever getting on the NK after one single 3 hr ride. Looks like I have to get my Dominar out from mothballs or maybe trade it in for a maxi scoot.
Yea, wife like the dom seating too. Haha, told her, too early for touring, wait children masuk high school then can consider.

0.0277sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:35 PM