HelloGold - Ask Me Anything, related to HelloGold or gold in general

Shalidar
post Apr 25 2019, 05:25 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(xot901027 @ Apr 25 2019, 05:10 PM)
Sorry dumb question here, just bought RM500 gold last night at about 168.7/g and I get about 2.679g of gold. When I was trying to sell off 2.679g of gold today at price 170+ it shows I will be getting RM489+ only.

I understand that there will be a 2% processing fee, but 489 is definitely not what I expected, I thought I will be getting more than rm500 since the price hike lol

Does any pros mind teach newbie here?
First, how did you purchase the gold? Direct purchase, or you top up your account with RM500 first before purchasing using your HG wallet? Purchase/Top up using Boost or not? If any modes other than Boost, you will have surcharge as stated in HG FAQS here: https://help.hellogold.com/en/top-up-processing-fee/

Second, don't forget you have a 2% processing fee, even at the stage of purchasing your gold. So you already received less than RM500 worth of gold.

Third, there's another 2% processing fee for selling your gold. So that reduces it even further.

But one thing that I'm surprised is that you only received 2.679g of gold when you purchased RM500 worth at 168.7/g. By my calculations, assuming there's only 2% processing fee (without RM1.20 top up fee) you should be getting like 2.8g+ or something. Perhaps we need some other sifus to explain how to calculate conversion of RM500 to gold notworthy.gif

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Apr 25 2019, 05:17 PM)
must factor in storage fee, blah blah blah blah fee as well
i fail math so cant help
hope we have some math pro here
1 night only, the storage fee or administrative fee is practically non-existent lah since it's 2% per annum only
Shalidar
post Apr 25 2019, 05:38 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Apr 25 2019, 05:33 PM)
take the screenshot of your buy and sell details, inside u will be able to see gold bought, amount paid, gold price, transaction fee.
That's a good point. Should take a screenshot of the buying details. I'm curious how RM500 purchase of gold at 168.7/g would end up with only 2.679g
Shalidar
post Apr 25 2019, 11:09 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(xot901027 @ Apr 25 2019, 06:35 PM)
oh, my bad, bad memories hehe it's 2.939g..
but I still don't get why when I sell off this 2.939g at a higher price I get lesser than RM500 lol

I've calculated, and at RM170/gram, it's really only about RM489 for 2.939grams. You can check it yourself, 2.939*170 = RM499.63, less 2% processing fee = RM489.64
Shalidar
post Apr 29 2019, 02:47 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 27 2019, 09:27 AM)
Joshua.

Where is the promo dude. Don't tell me it recycling e waste.
Don't forget about the SmartSavers promo for newbies tongue.gif
Shalidar
post Apr 30 2019, 12:33 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 29 2019, 06:12 PM)
Turn Your Payday Into a Savings Day! (Get RM10 x 7 worth of gold)

This one is a new promo for savers plan?
Not really new, should be ending soon in fact. I remember it ends early May
Shalidar
post Apr 30 2019, 02:43 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Apr 30 2019, 02:15 PM)
using Boost withdraw money charge me RM2 which i just did yesterday
then i am thinking why not i top up HelloGold then withdraw it since there is no charges
just a thought to save RM2 but again hellogold is quite scary, saw some posting that withdrawal take ages
No charges for topping up HelloGold and withdrawing from HelloGold, but don't forget the up to 2% processing fee to purchase and to sell gold. So you risk being charged up to 4% processing fee and on top of that, the fluctuating gold prices which if the prices are against you, you will be losing even more. Sounds like better to just pay RM2 to withdraw from Boost, isn't it?

This post has been edited by Shalidar: Apr 30 2019, 02:48 PM
Shalidar
post Apr 30 2019, 02:48 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 30 2019, 02:46 PM)
Are you getting confused over your statement that you posted there?

He's no intention of buying and selling gold at all.
He just wants to top up HG e-wallet using Boost and cash out the registered CASA in HG.
No touch of buying or selling gold.
Where's the 2% processing fee involved?
Ohh... Shoot, you're right. I did get confused. Just HG e-wallet, I see

Edit: My apologies doh.gif Thanks for pointing out my mistake, haha

This post has been edited by Shalidar: Apr 30 2019, 02:50 PM
Shalidar
post Apr 30 2019, 03:20 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Apr 30 2019, 02:56 PM)
The power of seniority in this forum hahaha
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 30 2019, 02:58 PM)
I'm assisting him to untangle the brain nerves.
For sure, I'm always ready to stand corrected by the senior sifus around notworthy.gif

Brain overload from all the things to learn around this finance forum bangwall.gif
Shalidar
post Apr 30 2019, 05:44 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Apr 30 2019, 05:25 PM)
back to my topic of cycle money through HG, if you not comfortable to post here, please feel free to PM me ok... dont be shy.. we share knowledge..
Now that my brain nerves have been untangled so to speak tongue.gif , I have no personal experience in withdrawing from Boost, but I did withdraw from HG e-wallet before.

Personally, my withdrawal of <RM200 was received in my bank account within 1 day, so I definitely had a good experience. On the other hand, I noted some others who withdrew a larger sum took longer to receive. So it's really a question of whether you want to take the risk to save RM2. If it's a lesser sum, really doesn't seem to be a bad idea, but if it's a larger sum, you better think twice

On the other hand, Boost might hate you for this because you're denying them of their RM2 whistling.gif
Shalidar
post May 6 2019, 11:25 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ May 6 2019, 10:21 AM)
totally tak faham this statement - what is Islamic Cryptocurrency, what is Amanie Advisor?
I'm not sure about the Islamic Cryptocurrency but as for Amanie Advisors, you may want to refer to this:
https://www.hellogold.com/hellogold-is-worl...ech-platform-2/

Amanie Advisors is HG's Syariah Advisor

Edit: While googling about the said Islamic Cryptocurrency, I found this:
https://themalaysianreserve.com/2018/02/21/...cryptocurrency/
Apparently they really have Cryptocurrency which I think isn't doing so well sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Shalidar: May 6 2019, 11:30 AM

0.0272sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:47 AM