Samsung Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ discussion thread v3, Available 5th May

yupio
post Apr 27 2017, 10:18 AM

Pro
1,766 posts

Actually what can we do with Gear VR? Is it useful? Can I watch movie with it?
yupio
post Apr 27 2017, 12:04 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Apr 27 2017, 11:06 AM)
Not neccesary. You can also trad in in selected Samsung stores and authorized dealers. This offer is until end of June.
Watch movies, Play games....
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 27 2017, 11:24 AM)
If use for 360, I found only kpop and porn able to provide the high resolution to make it worthwhile. You will still see plenty of black dots on clear background.

If movies, I find it tiring. But if you can get 3d movies, then its worth it. I never watch 3d before hence I find it awesome. Haha...
Aiyoh liddat I wanna buy one and try lo...never try before...I'm gonna go to Sunway Pyramid and harass them to let me get one at 50% off
yupio
post Apr 28 2017, 04:38 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(SEP910 @ Apr 28 2017, 04:34 PM)
I already cal them,
they get more than 100++ preorder
If all goes there same time.... still crowded
But I will go there after 6pm
I'll be seeing you. 😊
yupio
post Apr 28 2017, 06:15 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

My gut feel would be that they will offer us to buy the Gear VR and Gear 360 at 50% off when we collect our PO. Let's see.
yupio
post May 2 2017, 02:28 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(edthrax @ May 2 2017, 10:20 AM)
after reading few forums on the web..general consensus are s8/s8+ DAC are quite good..

though its still a step below v20/G6/Axon 7 level.. the snapdragon version of s8 sounds similar like HTC 10 as its using the same Aqstic dac..

Exynos will/might be using Cirrus Logic CS43130 which is rumoured to be quite good..cant compare tu ESS quad Dac on the V20/g6 or Axon 7 AKM Dac setup but would be leap and bound improvements of the abysmal s7edge DAC.

can't wait to try it out with my BA iem this thursday..
Bro. Can recommend any good FLAC player for Android?
yupio
post May 2 2017, 03:40 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ May 2 2017, 02:33 PM)
Poweramp. Still one of the best
QUOTE(edthrax @ May 2 2017, 02:39 PM)
If u want free hibymusic is quite good
Thanks for the reply guys. Will definitely try those out.
yupio
post May 2 2017, 03:44 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

To all who wanna check out the S8 & S8+, Samsung store in Setia City Mall in Setia Alam has many units for all 3 colours for you all to try. Went there yesterday. Also, all official covers of all colours are also shown.
yupio
post May 2 2017, 06:18 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(hidayat14 @ May 2 2017, 05:32 PM)
Already got the whatsapp reminder from Samsung Experience Store Jaya shopping centre. telling me to pickup from 4th - 7th may and instruction on how to do the data transfer.

anyone picking up their unit at the same store?
Me smile.gif
I got their WhatsApp this morning too smile.gif
yupio
post May 2 2017, 09:07 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ May 2 2017, 06:20 PM)
they no whatsapp me?
Aiyoh jialat liau, they must have missed you in their list. Forgotten about your allocation for the device bro. Where is ur collection store?
yupio
post May 4 2017, 02:35 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

Samsung store allows 6 or 12 months zero interest instalment for Maybank cards. No extra / hidden charge. I did 6 months.

Good thing is I buy the Clear Cover with Stand and put it in the same instalment.
yupio
post May 4 2017, 03:00 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(hidayat14 @ May 4 2017, 02:54 PM)
Anyone collecting in jaya shopping centre? Hows the crowd there?
I collected there this morning. Zero queue. They said only have 70-80 pre orders. So you don't have to worry. Also they offer to stick the supplied SP for u if u want.
yupio
post May 4 2017, 03:18 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 4 2017, 03:06 PM)
Hmm very little pre oders compare with previous flagship models by Samsung..
JAYA mall is one of the less popular location.

QUOTE(FuNks @ May 4 2017, 03:11 PM)
if signed cc d can still ask for installment ah?  biggrin.gif
Haha can't. U have to tell them to do EPP before you swipe. What u can do now is try calling your bank n see if they have any offers.
yupio
post May 4 2017, 04:14 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ May 4 2017, 04:10 PM)
The texture feels nice on the skin. Really soft and i like the rugged velvet look of it. And so far only the Samsung official cases separate the fingerprint from the camera sensor so I think if you wanna have a nice feel case for daily usage the Alcantara case is the safest bet. tongue.gif

Anyhow try yourself first before you buy it. I saw one Uncle just now asking to feel the case first before buying also so the Samsung rep at the store had to open up the case for him to feel then you guess what? The uncle purchased it right away lol laugh.gif
It's like holding a Ferrari steering wheel lol
yupio
post May 4 2017, 04:15 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(SEP910 @ May 4 2017, 03:47 PM)
Great if they can stick sp. 2 more hours and I will going there.
They didn't give any discounts for micro sd?
Nope. Nothing. 😔
You can take one latest Samsung Catalog for free though 😂
yupio
post May 4 2017, 04:22 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(benson92 @ May 4 2017, 04:16 PM)
saw a guy in front of me just now using samsung pay to pay the balance but fail  hmm.gif
Definitely not me lol. I went there 10+am.
There's a dude before me. Credit card can't go through. Maybe not enough limit. Have to come back another time with money 😅

This post has been edited by yupio: May 4 2017, 04:23 PM
yupio
post May 4 2017, 04:25 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(Evrae90 @ May 4 2017, 04:23 PM)
Those with S8+ how does it feel? Is it too huge?
Just like S7E with a few mm longer. If u don't compare side by side you can't tell the size difference.

If u used iphone7 plus or 6 plus. The S8+ is smaller and holds easier.
yupio
post May 5 2017, 12:47 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ May 5 2017, 12:47 AM)
guys do this too, for scientific research!
https://forum.xda-developers.com/galaxy-s8/...inning-t3596434

CL0 is little cores, CL1 big cores, G3D is the GPU.

come list down your CLO-CL1-GD3 values + phone model whether s8 or s8+.

mine is, 5-6-4 S8
mine is, 9-9-6 S8+

any good?
yupio
post May 5 2017, 02:37 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ May 5 2017, 02:11 PM)
Guys, wana ask something. Im using S7, plan to switch to S8. Can i backup using Smart Switch on PC, then restore that S7 backup to the new S8 ?
You can backup your S7 to Samsung Cloud in Settings Menu.....then when you get your S8, choose restore from Samsung Cloud.

I did that before I sell my S7E 2 weeks back and yesterday got my S8+ restored 100% back all my data and apps. thumbsup.gif

0.0987sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:31 AM