126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V5!, The madness continues!

Roland San
post Mar 28 2007, 01:37 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 27 2007, 12:19 AM)
talkin about blackie's replica.

remember how clapton said he retired blackie cos it was unplayable?

so does that mean the replica is also unplayable? tongue.gif
and if the replica is playable, does this mean fender are ripping off a couple hundred ppl of alot of money?
I think it's the fretwear. Over the years he's worn the metal down a few times, and a neck will only take so many refrets before its structurally integrity goes. Not only that, there was this thing about Fender's sideways fretting method back in the day...

The new Blackies, well, are new necks, so I guess they don't suffer from the same problem.

Blacktrix, your HKitty strap is truly gay. Strangely, it goes well with sharp pointy guitars. Even more strangely, it goes with the Zakk Wylde tongue.gif . Most strangely, I suddenly want a HKitty Strat. And a Daisy Rock guitar too. Pink. With glitter. And a feather boa.

khairold has some good stuff. Best to get a couple of Gibson know-a-lots, lure them with the promise of beer and good old rock n roll, and have them inspect it. You should be looking at '80s Jacksons and Kramers, cos luring their know-it-alls simply requires waving a can of hairspray around.

Added on March 28, 2007, 1:51 am

And what is with these fakey Cina Gibsons? Damn, intellectual property means absolutely nothing to them. Like human rights. But anyways, while they look good and all on the outside, it's probably like how foreigner see China: they see the glitzy Shanghai, but rarely get to see the thousands of bare, tired villages around. China has a long way to go. As long as their focus is on making money at the expense of quality, their industry will remain a counterfeiting cottage industry, save for the big companies that plonk one or two factories down to churn out MIC American brands. They should think about looking at the Japanese model, and how their quality transcended the fact that the guitars were copies, and turned all these lawsuit models into desirable alternatives.

Whatever the case, better be more careful when second-hand shopping. With all this Cina copies coming in, and fakey decals sold on the tank, I suspect that the less informed Malaysian buyer might fall into a pretty big pithole, considering the guitars we're looking at.

This post has been edited by Roland San: Mar 28 2007, 01:51 AM
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 02:01 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

echo, thats why you can always go look and play khairold's guitars.
and usually gibson frets will last a long time if its played normally.

and my strat? most probably RM2.5k with a semi hard case.
all stock cept for the black pickguard from AllParts.
the original white one still intact.
Pix
post Mar 28 2007, 04:44 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

roland san,

china is manufacturing good products too, not only copies. For guitars, ok, you have a point, but for many many many other things, they can do acceptable qualiy stuff at very low prices... that's where they're having an edge.
most consumers care more about the money they'll spend on something, rather than seeking for the highest-quality device...
echobrainproject
post Mar 28 2007, 07:22 AM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 28 2007, 02:01 AM)
echo, thats why you can always go look and play khairold's guitars.
and usually gibson frets will last a long time if its played normally.
dont worry. once ive managed to save enough...i'm really really gona make sure i get the best guitar i could ever get by testing like mad. hehe.
sean392
post Mar 28 2007, 09:00 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

lol
everyone sounds interested in khairolds lp std now

blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 12:22 PM

556 posts

maybe.but he is almost finished selling.....only left 1.anyway from the picture, u can already trust him 30 %. by the time u test them if u are satisfied u can buy them.but some of them are 'stripped' to avoid further exterior defection..

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 28 2007, 12:22 PM
Roland San
post Mar 28 2007, 01:01 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 28 2007, 04:44 AM)
roland san,

china is manufacturing good products too, not only copies. For guitars, ok, you have a point, but for many many many other things, they can do acceptable qualiy stuff at very low prices... that's where they're having an edge.
most consumers care more about the money they'll spend on something, rather than seeking for the highest-quality device...
No doubt there are good products coming out of China.
No doubt they have the low-cost edge.
That's their strength right now. We're all watching the formation of a superpower, if not THE superpower.

Now, most consumers do care what they spend their money on, that's true. The problem arises when some spend it on a fakey Gibson, thinking it's a real one. You may think, serves them right for falling being duped, but the Chinese will get better. Fakes will get harder to detect. I can't imagine what'll happen to the market when that happens.

It's just sad to see beautiful guitars copied like this, and passed off as real ones.
sean392
post Mar 28 2007, 01:26 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Roland San @ Mar 28 2007, 01:01 PM)
No doubt there are good products coming out of China.
No doubt they have the low-cost edge.
That's their strength right now. We're all watching the formation of a superpower, if not THE superpower.

Now, most consumers do care what they spend their money on, that's true. The problem arises when some spend it on a fakey Gibson, thinking it's a real one. You may think, serves them right for falling being duped, but the Chinese will get better. Fakes will get harder to detect. I can't imagine what'll happen to the market when that happens.

It's just sad to see beautiful guitars copied like this, and passed off as real ones.
You have a point there. Its will be very risky for buyers to spring out their hard earned cash for a fake.

blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 04:25 PM

556 posts

lets clap for the chinese haha...hmm dun worrry by that time gibson sure will do something...like wat microsoft did..or maybe everyone will love fakeys...its either way its gonna happen.no way u can stop chinese fakey production as if y ou u wanna stop their population being grown too fast.

and most probably fakeys will be cheap to fight the market with real gibbys..maybe shops will sell them with the price tag for a real one...pray for us

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 28 2007, 04:27 PM
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 04:59 PM

30,735 posts

no matter how good the fakes get, once you play it you will know its one.
and for guitars like gibsons, its just not feasible for them to do a fake with the correct woods.
its much easier to fake a brand like ibanez, as you can use generic woods and they can pretty much pass off as real.

anyway, i just got back from yamaha at the curve.
i tried all 5 set neck MIC LPs, 4 standards and 1 studio, they had there.
goddamn all of them were so light, 1 of them even had a chip at back of neck showing bare wood.
maybe whoever wants can go get a nice discount on that.
and i got them to check the price of the epi tony iommi SG if they do bring it in.
sean392
post Mar 28 2007, 07:18 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 28 2007, 04:59 PM)
no matter how good the fakes get, once you play it you will know its one.
and for guitars like gibsons, its just not feasible for them to do a fake with the correct woods.
its much easier to fake a brand like ibanez, as you can use generic woods and they can pretty much pass off as real.

anyway, i just got back from yamaha at the curve.
i tried all 5 set neck MIC LPs, 4 standards and 1 studio, they had there.
goddamn all of them were so light, 1 of them even had a chip at back of neck showing bare wood.
maybe whoever wants can go get a nice discount on that.
and i got them to check the price of the epi tony iommi SG if they do bring it in.
mmmm
i gotta to yamaha n try it for myself
lol
SweetTooth
post Mar 28 2007, 08:12 PM

2,650 posts

how do i improve my improvisation? any tips ?
Equilibrium777
post Mar 28 2007, 08:16 PM

1,228 posts

listen to alot of music. . . play alot of songs. . . play different genres. . . never restrict yourself to one genre as your playing will sound very much that genre if you wanna be unique. . . and work on proper techniques. . . theory knowledge is also important. . .
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 08:23 PM

30,735 posts

be a singer tongue.gif
Equilibrium777
post Mar 28 2007, 08:29 PM

1,228 posts

btw everdying why selling your highway 1?

and yea humming out your solos really work, try humming and playing what you hum. . cause your voice never lies =D lots of jazz guys do that. . . instead of letting what your fingers want to play you hum out what you want and play what you hum. . . but it's no easy feat. . .
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 08:35 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Mar 28 2007, 08:29 PM)
btw everdying why selling your highway 1?

and yea humming out your solos really work, try humming and playing what you hum. . cause your voice never lies =D lots of jazz guys do that. . . instead of letting what your fingers want to play you hum out what you want and play what you hum. . . but it's no easy feat. . .
i posted awhile back la.
gibson style necks are more comfortable for me, so going to fender necks must readjust since im not so used to it.
also fender string spacing is about 5mm wider from low to high E.
but then when playing the fender for awhile, playing the gibson is so much easier tongue.gif

and my fender i hardly play it.
echobrainproject
post Mar 28 2007, 08:38 PM

4,765 posts

fakes u dont even need to play one to know its a fake. the one at the curve, another guy was testing, i went in and the moment i heard it i felt something was wrong. i went out and straight away told blacktrix.
blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 08:39 PM

556 posts

fender is really making his guitars all to a very commercialize state...look at the website..win a mustang?is that one?

hmm...looks like the curve really has some bad reputation..alright...banlisted haha

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 28 2007, 08:42 PM
led_zep_freak
post Mar 28 2007, 09:53 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 28 2007, 08:39 PM)
fender is really making his guitars all to a very commercialize state...look at the website..win a mustang?is that one?

hmm...looks like the curve really has some bad reputation..alright...banlisted haha
Don't make Leo Fender turn over his grave, man. laugh.gif
blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 10:16 PM

556 posts

he sold it anyway..he wouldnt bother to...guess thats why dave sold all his jacksons collections....

126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:42 PM