Any career that can clock out at 5:30pm in Big 4s?

lovesick170
post Apr 26 2017, 10:26 PM

21 posts

may i ask what is the so called big 4?
Drian
post Apr 26 2017, 10:39 PM

4,968 posts

Maybe the receptionist also can clock out at 5:30 , in fact even earlier.
Win Win Inspiration
post Apr 27 2017, 02:25 PM

2,708 posts

QUOTE(MrSnorlax @ Apr 25 2017, 11:27 PM)
Not really sure. I am in audit line. It just seemed that my workload keeps on increasing and never stops everyday and I am forced to OT.
Is the OT Pay Rates good?
Win Win Inspiration
post Apr 27 2017, 02:26 PM

2,708 posts

QUOTE(lovesick170 @ Apr 26 2017, 10:26 PM)
may i ask what is the so called big 4?
Big 4:
Ernst and Young
KPMG
PWC
Deloitte
chiahau
post Apr 27 2017, 09:39 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,074 posts

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ Apr 27 2017, 02:25 PM)
Is the OT Pay Rates good?
Big 4 mana ada OT?

Heck, when you climb towards certain level, OT is non existence....
tzxsean
post Apr 27 2017, 11:44 PM

Lonely Driver
5,201 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 27 2017, 09:39 PM)
Big 4 mana ada OT?

OT= own time .. tongue.gif
Topace111
post Apr 28 2017, 11:33 AM

2,102 posts

Reach manager. Take flexi plan. Work half time. Pay also slash half.
aspartame
post Apr 28 2017, 01:32 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Apr 28 2017, 11:33 AM)
Reach manager. Take flexi plan. Work half time. Pay also slash half.
Oh really? All of the big 4 have such schemes? And only manager level ?
Topace111
post Apr 28 2017, 05:36 PM

2,102 posts

Have to check and partner has to agree. But most quit to find jobs that pay better and with better work life balance.
lovesick170
post Apr 29 2017, 08:23 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ Apr 27 2017, 02:26 PM)
Big 4:
Ernst and Young
KPMG
PWC
Deloitte
oh. those are the big companies for audits. i see. thanks
MyloXyloto
post Apr 30 2017, 02:41 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 27 2017, 09:39 PM)
Big 4 mana ada OT?

Ya agreed. I'm in audit and work 12-16 hours a day. No OT because manager always black face when see the claim sheet. So got used to it.
Financier
post Apr 30 2017, 09:57 AM

267 posts

I interned in Advisory b4 at one of the BIG4s. Sohai stayed until 12am at night diuuuu to finish a proposal for the next day. I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT I SIGNED UP FOR!
TSMrSnorlax
post Apr 30 2017, 06:46 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Financier @ Apr 30 2017, 10:57 AM)
I interned in Advisory b4 at one of the BIG4s. Sohai stayed until 12am at night diuuuu to finish a proposal for the next day.  I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT I SIGNED UP FOR!
Here I am thinking of advisory sweat.gif Mind sharing to us what is your day-to-day tasks?
Financier
post May 1 2017, 03:47 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(MrSnorlax @ Apr 30 2017, 06:46 PM)
Here I am thinking of advisory  sweat.gif  Mind sharing to us what is your day-to-day tasks?
Highly depending on your engagement projects and the senior manager in charge of the projects.

9:30am - Reach client's office or HQ (depending on where you are posted)
> Check emails
> Continue to finish deliverables/tasks that haven't been completed yet.
> Manager calls the team to meeting room to assign new tasks
> Complete old tasks and new tasks from boss
12pm-1pm - Lunch, usually fast and furious because time is essence especially in client's office (Client don't pay you tokcok)
> Complete old tasks and new tasks
> Suddenly manager say need to go back HQ because meeting
> Go back HQ for meeting
> Complete old tasks and more new tasks in HQ
> Go back client's office because client meeting
> Complete old tasks and more more new tasks from clients
8pm - Realize I spent too much time working and my deliverables are piling up.
> Wish I just die
> Contemplate suicide
> Try to finish old tasks so I don't have to die tomorrow
9pm - Go home and rest.

Normally, you will be working in a team of around 4-5 people for 1 engagement. Advisory is NOTHING like Audit. It is fast paced and must easily adapt to the situations. Your work is very VERY important to the team because everyone is dependent on everyone. If you can't send me your deliverables I can't work on my deliverables, and thus the tasks cannot be completed and kena scolded by boss later on.

Also you will be facing your clients most of the time and spend a lot of time in client's office.

Advisory peeps will be working with slides most of the time. Our methodology, excel > words > powerpoint. We do all the rough work using excel, send our deliverables through words, and finally transfer all the work to the slides to present to the client.

If you want to know more about especially about the firm I interned and more questions feel free to PM me!

This post has been edited by Financier: May 1 2017, 03:49 PM
Win Win Inspiration
post May 2 2017, 08:56 AM

2,708 posts

QUOTE(lovesick170 @ Apr 29 2017, 08:23 PM)
oh. those are the big companies for audits. i see. thanks
You are most welcome mate.
Win Win Inspiration
post May 2 2017, 08:59 AM

2,708 posts

QUOTE(Financier @ May 1 2017, 03:47 PM)
Highly depending on your engagement projects and the senior manager in charge of the projects.

9:30am - Reach client's office or HQ (depending on where you are posted)
> Check emails
> Continue to finish deliverables/tasks that haven't been completed yet.
> Manager calls the team to meeting room to assign new tasks
> Complete old tasks and new tasks from boss
12pm-1pm - Lunch, usually fast and furious because time is essence especially in client's office (Client don't pay you tokcok)
> Complete old tasks and new tasks
> Suddenly manager say need to go back HQ because meeting
> Go back HQ for meeting
> Complete old tasks and more new tasks in HQ
> Go back client's office because client meeting
> Complete old tasks and more more new tasks from clients
8pm - Realize I spent too much time working and my deliverables are piling up.
> Wish I just die
> Contemplate suicide
> Try to finish old tasks so I don't have to die tomorrow
9pm - Go home and rest.

Normally, you will be working in a team of around 4-5 people for 1 engagement. Advisory is NOTHING like Audit. It is fast paced and must easily adapt to the situations. Your work is very VERY important to the team because everyone is dependent on everyone. If you can't send me your deliverables I can't work on my deliverables, and thus the tasks cannot be completed and kena scolded by boss later on.

Also you will be facing your clients most of the time and spend a lot of time in client's office.

Advisory peeps will be working with slides most of the time. Our methodology, excel > words > powerpoint. We do all the rough work using excel, send our deliverables through words, and finally transfer all the work to the slides to present to the client.

If you want to know more about especially about the firm I interned and more questions feel free to PM me!
Good morning mate!
Your role sounds super interesting (despite the challenges).
Is that a Finance Advisory role?
IFeelItComing
post May 3 2017, 01:29 AM

Last time when I back home around 7pm+ , the next day that farking manager already 'sound' me ady lo ~ but she dint know i come start work at 7am sad.gif

chiahau
post May 3 2017, 08:31 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,074 posts

QUOTE(MrSnorlax @ Apr 30 2017, 06:46 PM)
Here I am thinking of advisory  sweat.gif  Mind sharing to us what is your day-to-day tasks?
Advisory is actually a good place to start if you manage to enter.

Money's good down the road.

And having connections with clients ensured that if you are leaving eventually, someone would actually reach out and offer you a job.

Happened to many of my friend who consulted for large O&G company. The moment he tendered the resignation, offer began to come in from former advisory engagements' clients.

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ May 2 2017, 08:59 AM)
Good morning mate!
Your role sounds super interesting (despite the challenges).
Is that a Finance Advisory role?
Intern and real life advisory is rather different.

Intern does most of the ground and paper work while as a staff, you spend more time "solving" the issue.

Eg - Client want to reduce a certain cost center but yet not to affect the entire operations.

Advisory staff - Find out how to fulfill that particular request.

Intern - Compile Advisory's staff finding and submit for their perusal.

QUOTE(IFeelItComing @ May 3 2017, 01:29 AM)
Last time when I back home around 7pm+ , the next day that farking manager already 'sound' me ady lo ~ but she dint know i come start work at 7am  sad.gif
Welcome to the Big 4 / Audit lifestyle. I believe Big 4 is perhaps more lenient compared to smaller firms where the manager would actually make noise if you go back early.

There's always the option of entering commercial anyways tongue.gif

Win Win Inspiration
post May 3 2017, 12:58 PM

2,708 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ May 2 2017, 05:35 PM)
Nope. Just general business advisory
Management Consulting?
IFeelItComing
post May 3 2017, 10:04 PM

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 3 2017, 08:31 AM)
Advisory is actually a good place to start if you manage to enter.

Money's good down the road.

And having connections with clients ensured that if you are leaving eventually, someone would actually reach out and offer you a job.

Happened to many of my friend who consulted for large O&G company. The moment he tendered the resignation, offer began to come in from former advisory engagements' clients.
Intern and real life advisory is rather different.

Intern does most of the ground and paper work while as a staff, you spend more time "solving" the issue.

Eg - Client want to reduce a certain cost center but yet not to affect the entire operations.

Advisory staff - Find out how to fulfill that particular request.

Intern - Compile Advisory's staff finding and submit for their perusal.
Welcome to the Big 4 / Audit lifestyle. I believe Big 4 is perhaps more lenient compared to smaller firms where the manager would actually make noise if you go back early.

There's always the option of entering commercial anyways tongue.gif
I actually start from (very....) small firm to Big4... surprisingly Big4 have such narrow-minded manager. Which my small firm boss is totally opposite biggrin.gif

Anyways, Big4 no doubt have better exposure lah~

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0153sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:22 PM