wTA : Wearing cap to temple is consider rude?, kindly drop your feedback please .

TSlife27
post Apr 23 2017, 09:37 AM, updated 9y ago

469 posts

Mornings .

I just want to discuss and get some opinions from you all,

Is it wearing a normal cap to temple is consider rude because i get scolded by people because i am wearing cap went go to Chinese temple .

May i know i am wrong or i din something really wrong here ?

Thank you
max_cjs0101
post Apr 23 2017, 09:46 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

As far as I know, nope but some people yes.
Anyway different places have different rules so it's best you stick to it.
Its like a visitor coming in your house with shoes when he thinks it's totally not rude when it's unacceptable to you.

This post has been edited by max_cjs0101: Apr 23 2017, 09:48 AM
saikia2046
post Apr 23 2017, 09:56 AM

414 posts

in house cannot wear cap or use umbrella is sort of common thing.
WiLeKiyO
post Apr 23 2017, 10:32 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(life27 @ Apr 23 2017, 09:37 AM)
Mornings .

Is it wearing a normal cap to temple is consider rude because i get scolded by people because i am wearing cap went go to Chinese temple .

May i know i am wrong or  i din something really wrong here ?

Thank you
If people say so, just remove your cap.
TSlife27
post Apr 23 2017, 12:07 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Apr 23 2017, 09:46 AM)
As far as I know, nope but some people yes.
Anyway different places have different rules so it's best you stick to it.
Its like a visitor coming in your house with shoes when he thinks it's totally not rude when it's unacceptable to you.
of course i am not wearing shoes when entering the temple place , but i am just wearing a very plain cap without any logo too .. just a white hat =p

QUOTE(saikia2046 @ Apr 23 2017, 09:56 AM)
in house cannot wear cap or use umbrella is sort of common thing.

hahahahaha , what for need to wear cap or open umbrella at HOME bangwall.gif

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Apr 23 2017, 10:32 AM)
If people say so, just remove your cap.
yaya , i understand it , i do remove but i suddenly get scolded because of wearing a plain cap ..

but come on la ,, i am not wearing HELMET to temple , just a plain cap , and there is no sign cannot wearing cap around temple area @.@ cry.gif
max_cjs0101
post Apr 23 2017, 12:13 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(life27 @ Apr 23 2017, 12:07 PM)
of course i am not wearing shoes when entering the temple place , but i am just wearing a very plain cap without any logo too .. just a white hat =p
hahahahaha , what for need to wear cap or open umbrella at HOME  bangwall.gif
yaya ,  i understand it , i do remove but i suddenly get scolded because of wearing a plain cap ..

but come on la ,, i am not wearing HELMET to temple , just a plain cap , and there is no sign cannot wearing cap around temple area @.@  cry.gif
You totally can't understand my example don't you?
Just because you think it is okay to wear a cap doesn't mean it's okay to do so WHEN YOU'RE ENTERING SOMEONE ELSE'S PLACE.
rain55
post Apr 23 2017, 02:24 PM

43 posts

now still got ppl like to act la.....scolding ppl oso is not allowed in temple....even god is more friendly to teach ppl wat right wa wrong...god no like scold ppl one..nice nice talk n teach u ...so u now know la next time u go to temple wat to do,,,,,,, let the ppl whos act too much go hell coz he dont understand god...u learn the right way to approach heaven....LOL

This post has been edited by rain55: Apr 23 2017, 02:25 PM
ozak
post Apr 23 2017, 03:25 PM

17,021 posts

You can wear a cap to the temple.

But when pray, bow or give respect to the temple god, take out your cap.

I always wear cap to temple. Nobody said so cannot wear.
MiLKTea
post Apr 23 2017, 03:41 PM

942 posts

Just follow the temple rules.
If cap is not allowed, just remove your cap.
Why wanna argue it's plain or white cap.
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Apr 23 2017, 03:43 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Apr 23 2017, 12:13 PM)
You totally can't understand my example don't you?
Just because you think it is okay to wear a cap doesn't mean it's okay to do so WHEN YOU'RE ENTERING SOMEONE ELSE'S PLACE.
I sincerely don't get the point of such rules in the first place. Aside from being "their rule", is there a good reason why you just can't wear a cap in a temple?
nicole_4ever
post Apr 23 2017, 05:20 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Apr 23 2017, 03:43 PM)
I sincerely don't get the point of such rules in the first place. Aside from being "their rule", is there a good reason why you just can't wear a cap in a temple?
just follow the rules, is that so difficult?
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Apr 23 2017, 05:31 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Apr 23 2017, 05:20 PM)
just follow the rules, is that so difficult?
I don't follow things blindly usually.
MiLKTea
post Apr 23 2017, 05:38 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Apr 23 2017, 05:31 PM)
Taking off hat is considered as respect.

You don't wear shoes in people's house just because you think it's ridiculous.
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Apr 23 2017, 05:40 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 23 2017, 05:38 PM)
Taking off hat is considered as respect.

You don't wear shoes in people's house just because you think it's ridiculous.
At least taking off shoes there's a practical reason, because you don't want any grime and dust from the outside to get into your house. Reasonable.

Taking off hat? What reason?

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Apr 23 2017, 05:41 PM
sou12b810
post Apr 23 2017, 05:43 PM

147 posts

is songkok a cap.?
baseball cap is for baseball games...

MiLKTea
post Apr 23 2017, 05:44 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Apr 23 2017, 05:40 PM)
At least taking off shoes there's a practical reason, because you don't want any grime and dust from the outside to get into your house. Reasonable.

Taking off hat? What reason?
As i mentioned, it's a sign of respect.

nicole_4ever
post Apr 23 2017, 06:13 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Apr 23 2017, 05:31 PM)
then just don't go to temple, easy. less you one person no loss

This post has been edited by nicole_4ever: Apr 23 2017, 06:14 PM
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Apr 23 2017, 06:26 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 23 2017, 05:44 PM)
As i mentioned, it's a sign of respect.
So taking off shoes is a sign of practicality, but taking off the hat is a sign of respect?

Don't get me wrong. I understand I need to follow certain rules depending on where I am, but I'm just asking about the reason behind the rule so that at least I know it's a reasonable thing to do.

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Apr 23 2017, 06:13 PM)
then just don't go to temple, easy. less you one person no loss
If lose one whole person is no loss, then how one person with their cap on is a big hoo-ha? One cap is more important than one person?

Don't get me wrong. I understand I need to follow certain rules depending on where I am, but I'm just asking about the reason behind the rule so that at least I know it's a reasonable thing to do.

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Apr 23 2017, 06:27 PM
ricstc
post Apr 23 2017, 06:30 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(life27 @ Apr 23 2017, 09:37 AM)
Mornings .

May i know i am wrong or  i din something really wrong here ?

Thank you
i wore a cap the whole day today and attended a church service

no one say me but the can see that ive got penyakit and the cap is part of attire to
cover the penyakit

so itsokay - people look you onekind but then who knows you also need cap becos
of penyakit

itsokay
MiLKTea
post Apr 23 2017, 06:46 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Apr 23 2017, 06:26 PM)
So taking off shoes is a sign of practicality, but taking off the hat is a sign of respect?

If lose one whole person is no loss, then how one person with their cap on is a big hoo-ha? One cap is more important than one person?

Sign of respect, as simple as that.
It's not limited to temple, a lot places/ countries has this culture as well.

SUSHoka Nobasho
post Apr 23 2017, 06:49 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 23 2017, 06:46 PM)
Sign of respect, as simple as that.
It's not limited to temple, a lot places/ countries has this culture as well.
They usually have good reasons behind them, because nothing is that simple. There could history of cultures, and at times practical reasons as well.

Like I said, I usually end up following the rules anyway, but I will rather find out why because it's more reasonable and rational that way.

I don't want to be a mindless sheep, following things without at least knowing the reasons behind them.

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Apr 23 2017, 06:50 PM
MiLKTea
post Apr 23 2017, 06:50 PM

942 posts

Useless to ration with people that don't respect people's culture.
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Apr 23 2017, 07:23 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 23 2017, 06:50 PM)
Useless to ration with people that don't respect people's culture.
First of all, never have I once said that I disrespect people's culture.

Secondly, I was merely asking for the reason, and not asking how to disrespect a culture.

And lastly, it's "useless to rationalise", not "useless to ration". In addition, it wouldn't be rational if one were to just respect a specific culture without finding out why, don't you think?
MiLKTea
post Apr 23 2017, 07:40 PM

942 posts

Again...useless...

Note: typo on the 'ration', regardless of what you think
SUSHoka Nobasho
post Apr 23 2017, 08:20 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 23 2017, 07:40 PM)
Again...useless...

Note: typo on the 'ration', regardless of what you think
Sigh. A bit sad if this is the standard of Malaysian civil discourse.

This post has been edited by Hoka Nobasho: Apr 23 2017, 08:21 PM
ozak
post Apr 23 2017, 08:29 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Hoka Nobasho @ Apr 23 2017, 07:23 PM)
First of all, never have I once said that I disrespect people's culture.

Secondly, I was merely asking for the reason, and not asking how to disrespect a culture.

And lastly, it's "useless to rationalise", not "useless to ration". In addition, it wouldn't be rational if one were to just respect a specific culture without finding out why, don't you think?
This is some race culture or somebody put down the rule on their premise. Not all temple have such rule.

I understand you curious with such rules. Same as me. But if I cannot find out the reason, just wait the time come. You can visit the temple and ask too.

Religion have no logic.

0.0199sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:58 PM