Refinancing your property for cash, and credit consolidation

fun_feng
post Jul 11 2017, 02:35 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Hi, is it a good idea if i redraw a home loan to buy car?

I have a home loan that I am very close to settling after less than 10 years.
Seeing that home loan interest is usually less than car loan interest, will it be a good idea i redraw the home loan to pay for the car?

Of course, I will still pay/settle the loan asap, or at a minimum, pay it as much as a car loan's monthly payment.

So, do I save up in interest rate? Is there a con in this?
fun_feng
post Jul 11 2017, 02:48 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 11 2017, 02:43 PM)
redraw? it depends, the HP interest is not the same as the reducing balance interest, so to make a comparison, I would need to know the loan amount u need, and the tenure that you plan to take, if you were to take a HP.

Then we can do a direct comparison, at least based on the interest rates..
What is HP?
fun_feng
post Jul 11 2017, 03:26 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Sorry, I don't know the correct term for it, but redraw in my case is not refinancing. It's to draw out the money I've paid earlier to settle my loan faster. I just need to pay RM50 to withdraw it.

Currently my home loan interest is 4.5%.
Let's say I want to buy a 130,000 car.. in which the car loan might cost... 2.5% interest rate for 9 years (I did not really research this, pls some one correct me if i am wrong)
fun_feng
post Jul 12 2017, 10:11 AM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Jul 11 2017, 06:05 PM)

Please note that you cannot redraw any amount that you utilise your EPF Account 2 in the past.

I dont quite understand this part. What does EPF acc 2 got to do with anything?
fun_feng
post Jul 12 2017, 01:06 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Jul 12 2017, 10:14 AM)
If you have used your EPF Account 2 to pay down your Housing Loan previously, I was told that you CANNOT redraw out this amount in the future.
U sure? How do they even track this? blink.gif

After u withdraw EPF acc 2, the money is transferred to your bank acc and that's it. U can do whatever you want with the money. The bank won't even know if you use the money to pay house loan
fun_feng
post Sep 7 2018, 12:38 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

QUOTE(Chouetlyn @ Sep 7 2018, 11:05 AM)
Hi sifu, I am interested to know. My current bank is charging at 4.66% interest and market is 4.45-4.4%.

Can we check the amortisation table for the current table because.. The Interested rate changes a few times since few years ago and I have additional payment.

If based on the balance of my loan currently and the repayment states by the bank, I back calculated and it yields 7.1% interest rate it is super concerning
How do you calculated to 7.1%???

4.66% to 4.4%, i dont think it's worth the effort to refinance.. due to all the lawyer, charges feess..

In a 100k loan, the difference of 0.26% is just 260.... U can add up your cost and see

0.0315sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:25 PM