Looking For Broadband Portable Wifi, Want to RENT

TS0501024
post Apr 20 2017, 12:35 PM, updated 7y ago

346 posts

Hi guys,

I have an event coming up and I will need to rent/contract/buy portable wifi for.

Details:-
duration: 4 days
cater for: 20-30 users
purpose: checking email, social media etc.

I have been looking around online at the only thing that seems to fit my requirement is Celcom PortaWifi.
However it only:-
1. caters to max 10 connections.
2. sign contract for a year.

Are there any companies who does wifi rental for a few days?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated! thumbsup.gif

GameSky
post Apr 20 2017, 04:23 PM

Nyancat too much
6,335 posts

Why not, use the prepaid method? Subscribe to either Digi/Maxis/Celcom (which got higher quota and better network), then setup a 4G wifi router? Some telco even got quota specially allocated for social media apps/website.

maybe it will bit costly, but better than contract for a year right?

This post has been edited by GameSky: Apr 20 2017, 04:23 PM
TS0501024
post Apr 20 2017, 04:27 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Apr 20 2017, 04:23 PM)
Why not, use the prepaid method? Subscribe to either Digi/Maxis/Celcom (which got higher quota and better network), then setup a 4G wifi router? Some telco even got quota specially allocated for social media apps/website.

maybe it will bit costly, but better than contract for a year right?
i dont mind doing that, but that has limited connections right?

Btw do you mean postpaid plan or broadband plan? im confused what the difference is !

4g wifi router = sim card + device like huawei e5577?
GameSky
post Apr 20 2017, 04:32 PM

Nyancat too much
6,335 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ Apr 20 2017, 04:27 PM)
i dont mind doing that, but that has limited connections right?

Btw do you mean postpaid plan or broadband plan? im confused what the difference is !

4g wifi router = sim card + device like huawei e5577?
limited connection? afaik even digi infinite doesn't restrict to how many devices connected. It's just a recommendation on how many devices connected.
What I mean was, if you're going to use the internet only for short brief of time, just buy a prepaid simcard ...then subscribe to the prepaid internet plan nod.gif ..do test the signal and coverage on your area first to determine which telco got better services.

the e5577 is a mobile mifi, for higher and better connection try get a 4g modem wifi router model such as Huawei B315 for example nod.gif (others may have other modem wifi router to recommend)

Since you're only going to use for 4days, why the need to signup for a postpaid plan nod.gif
ldragon
post Apr 20 2017, 05:08 PM

981 posts

try this
http://www.wiyo.my/
http://visondata.com.my/
GOPI56
post Apr 20 2017, 05:16 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ Apr 20 2017, 01:35 PM)
Hi guys,

I have an event coming up and I will need to rent/contract/buy portable wifi for.

I have been looking around online at the only thing that seems to fit my requirement is Celcom PortaWifi.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!  thumbsup.gif
Are there any wifi hotspots at the location of the event? Is the event in a building or ...?
YoungMan
post Apr 20 2017, 07:19 PM

5,393 posts

Well, I agree to the above post that you can just use prepaid. Digi for example, has RM8 daily internet pass which you can use up to 10GB a day, which should be enough. But now you need to find a 4g router to use with it. for 4 days, I believe get TPLink or a lower end Huawei router is good enough, unless you want to get the high end one for future event use.
TS0501024
post Apr 20 2017, 07:26 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Apr 20 2017, 05:08 PM)
thanks man will check it out
TS0501024
post Apr 20 2017, 07:27 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Apr 20 2017, 05:16 PM)
Are there any wifi hotspots at the location of the event? Is the event in a building or ...?
its in pwtc, but it costs like rm3k to rent from them for 4 days !
TS0501024
post Apr 20 2017, 07:28 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Apr 20 2017, 04:32 PM)
limited connection? afaik even digi infinite doesn't restrict to how many devices connected. It's just a recommendation on how many devices connected.
What I mean was, if you're going to use the internet only for short brief of time, just buy a prepaid simcard ...then subscribe to the prepaid internet plan nod.gif ..do test the signal and coverage on your area first to determine which telco got better services.

the e5577 is a mobile mifi, for higher and better connection try get a 4g modem wifi router model such as Huawei B315 for example nod.gif (others may have other modem wifi router to recommend)

Since you're only going to use for 4days, why the need to signup for a postpaid plan nod.gif
i googled b315 and it even looks much better haha.. my question is, how do i set/pair it with a data sim card?

it looks like i need a wired connection to transmit wifi... or am i wrong?
TS0501024
post Apr 20 2017, 07:29 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Apr 20 2017, 07:19 PM)
Well, I agree to the above post that you can just use prepaid. Digi for example, has RM8 daily internet pass which you can use up to 10GB a day, which should be enough. But now you need to find a 4g router to use with it. for 4 days, I believe get TPLink or a lower end Huawei router is good enough, unless you want to get the high end one for future event use.
thanks for your input buddy.

as mentioned above, how do i hook up a digi sim to this router? does this router have a sim slot?
GameSky
post Apr 20 2017, 10:50 PM

Nyancat too much
6,335 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ Apr 20 2017, 07:28 PM)
i googled b315 and it even looks much better haha.. my question is, how do i set/pair it with a data sim card?

it looks like i need a wired connection to transmit wifi... or am i wrong?
the device it self got a sim slot...and it's a wireless router as well nod.gif
Chriss
post Apr 21 2017, 12:31 AM

*** Lai liao ***
634 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ Apr 20 2017, 12:35 PM)
Hi guys,

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!  thumbsup.gif
Try this
http://www.wiyo.my/
TS0501024
post Apr 21 2017, 02:05 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Apr 20 2017, 10:50 PM)
the device it self got a sim slot...and it's a wireless router as well nod.gif
thanks buddy. you guys been very helpful!
GameSky
post Apr 21 2017, 11:55 AM

Nyancat too much
6,335 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ Apr 21 2017, 02:05 AM)
thanks buddy. you guys been very helpful!
no problem..just try which telco provide the best service.. but for social medias seems digi or maxis got better plans for those.

maybe just get digi..and maxis as backup just in case
TS0501024
post Apr 21 2017, 04:52 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Apr 21 2017, 11:55 AM)
no problem..just try which telco provide the best service.. but for social medias seems digi or maxis got better plans for those.

maybe just get digi..and maxis as backup just in case
yeap will definitely ask around more first before signing anything. CHeers!
GameSky
post Apr 21 2017, 07:50 PM

Nyancat too much
6,335 posts

rather than signing up for postpaid.. prepaid is the way to go if for short term use
Chriss
post Apr 21 2017, 10:00 PM

*** Lai liao ***
634 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ Apr 21 2017, 04:52 PM)
yeap will definitely ask around more first before signing anything. CHeers!
Make sure u ask around event venue telco coverage/signal strength before signing up
haturaya
post Apr 21 2017, 10:07 PM

2,469 posts

Use Huawei E5770 MiFi connect to WiFi router via it's built in UTP connection. Any stable prepaid can be used. Do check the internet stability at the area to be deployed.
TS0501024
post Apr 24 2017, 07:42 PM

346 posts

hi guys. after asking around i think aim card w broadband plan and Huawei B315 is the way to go.

however, few shops and even the big one at MV doesnt have this item anymore.

anyone has any idea where to get it? virtual teh tarik from me tongue.gif

0.0166sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:18 AM