Review Joying Head Unit, After using it for 1 month , is it good?

TSjackyhowh
post Apr 19 2017, 04:35 PM, updated 9y ago

Hi, I'm new into this forum.

I have been searching for a good android head unit for awhile, first saw it was some android auto head unit, but it was new development and android auto now still has limited app. And then 1 day I come across on XDA forum know that the Joying Head unit. I have search through in this forum but i get very less information on that particular unit, so i may just be the white rat to try it out.

Joying head unit has full fledged android system build into, it was just like smashing an android tablet on to your car console.

Now the spec for my unit. The unit that i using now was model JY-UL135N2, you can check it out on here

Android version : 5.1.1 Lollipop
CPU : Intel SoFIA 3GR quad core 1.2Ghz ( produce by rockchip)
Ram : 2GB
Storage : 32gb internal, 2x micro sd card slot
Screen Size : 7.5 inch
Resolution : 1024 X 600
Connection : wifi a/b/g/n, bluetooh 4.0, nfc, 2x usb, A-GPS, GLONASS
Feature : Support PIP, DVR, OBD2, DAB+, RDS, mirror link,Steering Wheel Control, 4x45w amp, etc.

Unfortunately when i first get my unit, my unit did not response to any touches cry.gif so i have to send back for warranty. bangwall.gif

And after a week later my unit was send back rclxms.gif so i can test it out for myself.

1st time start up speed/ cold start speed (i cannot get my unit to cold start again, so i'm just showing the restart, it should be similar)

for the cold start it was not very fast, but it was not too slow either, still can accept. but after your 1st time start up, the unit startup was lighting fast.

notice the speed difference? blink.gif

and as i stay in KL (the city that make me lost countless of times) i always use waze to guide my around and also avoid some of the police doh.gif
Let's see the app starting time.

The speed for the app to launch and getting my location was quite snappy for me (actually it was faster than my phone cry.gif )

And i also get my steering wheel control working on the unit too. it was very simple to connect the control to the head unit as it was both using 3 wire connection.

Other than above, the unit also equip with wifi, so can go on youtube while in the jam =.=

Oh, I also brought a DVR than can work with the head unit. This DVR. The quality was not bad, and i can view and manage it with my head unit.

watch the footage here.

The DVR can also pickup any sound in car, so sometime i may pickup to song that you singing. brows.gif

I forgot to capture the process to install my unit, but for my car (perodua axia) i have to buy a wire harness ( i brough it form here ) to minimize wire cutting ( also dont want to void my warranty so fast lol bangwall.gif )

After 1 month of usage, i feel that i always need to tether to my phone to get online, so i might get a portable wifi later instate. Luckly what i consent for are not happening, i was scare the unit will overheat during noon time but it does not happening. For now was so far so good!

Screenshot from cpu-z

Any question you want to know more can ask me here ya. Nice to meet you all. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jackyhowh: Apr 19 2017, 08:40 PM
ahchun
post May 7 2017, 11:26 PM

MiddleAge
1,148 posts

jackyhowhHow's the sound quality before joying and after? Got Kena kastam tahan?

And did you plug ur unit to amplifier?

0.0169sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:17 AM