125 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Bottom

PlayStation 3 Community V2, Firmware 1.81 OUT NOW!

crimsonhead
post Jun 14 2007, 06:48 PM

One Of A Kind
2,261 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Jun 14 2007, 06:08 PM)
Just came back home. Tested both my US and UK PSN account. Can login without problem. Same goes with my JPN account.

Maybe your Streamyx got problem?  hmm.gif
um maybe.or maybe my router? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
aobk84
post Jun 14 2007, 07:43 PM

406 posts

if i get a ps3 from Malaysia (assuming it's asia version), can i then log into australia network when i'm in australia?

i guess the answer is yes but just wanna confirm..heheh
iloveredapples
post Jun 14 2007, 09:37 PM

juz make a ausie psn account(can use anywhere)
Ninja
post Jun 15 2007, 10:21 AM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

PS3 Firmware Upgrade 1.81 Coming Today

Just a quick update: we'll be making available firmware upgrade 1.81 tomorrow which will fix a few small issues some of you have noticed. Most notably is the RGB Full setting which a few of you wrote in about. In 1.80 we added an option to the XMB under settings allowing you to choose between RGB Full and Limited. Basically if you are connecting your PS3 to your TV using an HDMI cable, and if your TV supports RGB full range, the picture quality may be improved when this option is set to Full. Some of you pointed out that the Full setting would sometimes revert back to Limited and 1.81 will address this issue. Please keep in mind that this setting is only effective when the PS3 is connected to a TV using an HDMI cable. You can download the update tomorrow from PlayStation.com or through your System Update option on the PS3 XMB.

We're continually evaluating and improving PS2 software compatibility too. Where we can, we'll look to share similar updates like this on our blog moving forward. Thanks for your ongoing feedback and support!

Source: http://blog.us.playstation.com/2007/06/14/...oming-tomorrow/
SUSadli
post Jun 15 2007, 10:29 AM

33 posts

ninja tv kau support full rgb ke? mcm mane nak tau kalau tv kite support ke tak? or applicable to 1080p only?
Ninja
post Jun 15 2007, 10:32 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(adli @ Jun 15 2007, 10:29 AM)
ninja tv kau support full rgb ke? mcm mane nak tau kalau tv kite support ke tak? or applicable to 1080p only?
Yup, TV aku support. You can actually see the different when you set to Full RGB. Black color is more black when we set to Full RGB. Color is more striking and popping.
samurai20
post Jun 15 2007, 10:38 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

emmmm nampak nyer kena beli HDMI cable la nie.. siot je.. dry.gif
rx330
post Jun 15 2007, 10:40 AM

11,808 posts

er... guess i will skip tis one... not applicable to me... but if i dun update, can i still sign in?
lightning69
post Jun 15 2007, 11:15 AM

2,298 posts

What is full RGB? I'm currently using the Toshiba Regza LCD so does it support full RGB?

rx330
post Jun 15 2007, 11:24 AM

11,808 posts

eh? i tot u bought samsung?
Ninja
post Jun 15 2007, 11:32 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 15 2007, 11:15 AM)
What is full RGB?  I'm currently using the Toshiba Regza LCD so does it support full RGB?
Not sure how to check whether your LCD TV support it or not. Full RGB increases the range of colours in PS3 playback, making both games and movies have a much wider range of colour.

Before this black colour on my LCD TV were gray-like, the blacks weren't really black. When I set to Full RGB, blacks look blacker than ever and I can see some details which may have been missing before.

If Full RGB is set when using a TV that supports RGB full range (only over HDMI), the picture quality of the game or video will improved, increasing the colour spectrum from 16 to 235, to 0 to 255.

Some comparison pics:

(Normal setting)

(Full RGB)

lightning69
post Jun 15 2007, 11:39 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 15 2007, 11:24 AM)
eh? i tot u bought samsung?
The salesman at Courts told me it was in stock but after I made my payment, they told me it would only arrive 3 days later. I agree to pick it up then, but then I met a friend who has a friend that operates a service center for both samsung and toshiba. He advised not to go for samsung because it has lots of problem while the toshiba is almost trouble free. I did go to the service center and there really are a lot of samsung but none toshiba going in for service.

So I went back to Courts and get my refund and bought the Regza instead.

Added on June 15, 2007, 11:43 am
QUOTE(Ninja @ Jun 15 2007, 11:32 AM)
Not sure how to check whether your LCD TV support it or not. Full RGB increases the range of colours in PS3 playback, making both games and movies have a much wider range of colour.

Before this black colour on my LCD TV were gray-like, the blacks weren't really black. When I set to Full RGB, blacks look blacker than ever and I can see some details which may have been missing before.

If Full RGB is set when using a TV that supports RGB full range (only over HDMI), the picture quality of the game or video will improved, increasing the colour spectrum from 16 to 235, to 0 to 255.

Some comparison pics:

(Normal setting)

(Full RGB)

That is a big difference. Will try it tonight.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 15 2007, 11:43 AM
rx330
post Jun 15 2007, 12:45 PM

11,808 posts

whoa... they actually did gip u a refund?

verced
post Jun 15 2007, 01:06 PM

168 posts

So everytime there's an update, the PS3 will download the whole 100 megs worth of updates?

Oh boy!
Kent82
post Jun 15 2007, 02:03 PM

322 posts

Hi, quick question. anyone here install Linux YDL on your ps3? Did you try the vlc player? I tried to play video files in full screen but its pixelated. Is there anyway to enable the upscaling functions? Thanks
Ninja
post Jun 15 2007, 02:21 PM

1,764 posts

Firmware 1.81 out now. You can update through your XMB menu 'Network Update' or you can direct-download the following:

(Japan PS3 version)

http://djp01.ps3.update.playstation.net/up...57/PS3UPDAT.PUP

(Asian PS3 version)

http://dsa01.ps3.update.playstation.net/up...57/PS3UPDAT.PUP

QUOTE(Kent82 @ Jun 15 2007, 02:03 PM)
Hi, quick question. anyone here install Linux YDL on your ps3? Did you try the vlc player? I tried to play video files in full screen but its pixelated. Is there anyway to enable the upscaling functions? Thanks
There's no upscaling function yet through YDL at the moment.
Kent82
post Jun 15 2007, 02:24 PM

322 posts

Actually its software scaling function thats is what i'm trying to say. For Mplayer, there is a software scaler which i enable but Mplayer's perfomance is terrible. VLC is a good player overall, just that when i full screen the video. The picture is jaggy and pixelated.
rx330
post Jun 15 2007, 02:26 PM

11,808 posts

ninja, only update is full RGB thing?
verced
post Jun 15 2007, 02:33 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Kent82 @ Jun 15 2007, 02:24 PM)
Actually its software scaling function thats is what i'm trying to say. For Mplayer, there is a software scaler which i enable but Mplayer's perfomance is terrible. VLC is a good player overall, just that when i full screen the video. The picture is jaggy and pixelated.
Apparently the RSX (graphics) portion is not available for 3rd party developers at the moment. Let's just hope Sony changed their mind and offer it to the masses.

Ninja
post Jun 15 2007, 02:37 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Kent82 @ Jun 15 2007, 02:24 PM)
You're referring to Mplayer software upscaling which is the '-zoom' syntax? I'm using Mplayer too, and so far the result is the same as yours. Picture colour washed out and not sharp.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 15 2007, 02:26 PM)
ninja, only update is full RGB thing?
Yup, I think so. I haven't update mine yet.

125 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:49 AM