Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

write code from scratch or modify template, how you do programming ?

views

TSdobidobi23
post Apr 18 2017, 11:09 PM, updated 7y ago

Getting Started
75 posts

i'm a beginner in javascript and php.

i'm curious how you guys do programming.
lets say u want to code a new function to add in your website, do you write the piece code from scratch ?
OR find an existing template code from google and modify the code ?

pls pardon me if its a stupid question.

and teach me how u guys find existing code template ?
let say i want add a 'installments calculator function' on my homepage, how and where to find this existing scripts ?

This post has been edited by dobidobi23: Apr 18 2017, 11:15 PM
badai
post Apr 19 2017, 03:49 PM

Enthusiast
986 posts

small thing: write a bit, copy paste, write, copy paste, modify, modify, copy paste, write original code, copy paste .... (in no particular order)

big thing: generate code, modify, then do as in "small thing" above

xsan
post Apr 20 2017, 11:33 AM

Ouh Emm Gee I Can Edit This Nao
1,020 posts

it depends...

if time constraint, might be better just modify..
if not, well write from scratch would be useful for controlling the codes..

and nowadays, there are lot of things can be found and include in the apps..
e.g : laravel got a lot of repo for some apps.. you can just pull it and use it..

otakotak
post Apr 20 2017, 03:41 PM

Getting Started
278 posts

careful with template keyword here. the meaning can be interpreted differently depending on context.
imho the correct term would be boilerplate.

for web dev, if you are already using somewhat established framework like laravel, express , codeigniter..and etc.
it's better to have a boilerplate ready with all features available. just remove them accordingly based on project need.
not the other way around where u add stuff based on project. there's plenty of boilerplate generator out there for all this frameworks.