Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Cynox
post Jul 18 2017, 09:09 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(adie82 @ Jul 17 2017, 11:52 PM)
please post camera sample..

ttotal damage?
test taken a night indoor photo under florescent light, not impressive at all - photo is grainy and blur. laugh.gif but it is just a casual shoot, need to test further.

Bought from HK at mi.com/hk/max2 @ HKD1,899, converted to about RM1,070.

Bought it mainly for the large screen as Youtube player in car, it is larger than my Kenwood HU with 6.2" screen. And also for its large battery capacity to fit the purpose as spare phone and mobile hotspot. thumbup.gif Using it as a mini tablet actually.

The matt black full metal finishing is actually very very nice. The 2.5D large front glass also great. The only downside is the fat MIUI, hopefully the incoming MIUI 9.0 which promise a slim down OS will trim lots of bloat in the MIUI.

Any good launcher to replace MI launcher? Trying Google Now launcher a the moment but it is too plain for my liking. tongue.gif
Cynox
post Jul 18 2017, 07:50 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(half_lif3 @ Jul 18 2017, 04:39 PM)
can test how's the gps performance for this phone?
This is very important for me  wub.gif
Just tested heading home after work - instant lock upon tapping the GPS icon in the pull down toggle. Great gps signal throughout the 30 mins journey.
Cynox
post Jul 19 2017, 01:36 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(laguna1811 @ Jul 19 2017, 12:28 PM)
wow sexy black  brows.gif
is hk version global rom?
yes, global rom. I believe Malaysia version will also be black. Gold colour is China version. International version is black, as sold in HK now.

The matt black not only looks good, but can eliminate the thick black frame problem of the Max on white front face. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: Jul 19 2017, 01:37 PM
Cynox
post Jul 19 2017, 04:00 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jul 19 2017, 03:34 PM)
keen to get one, where is the best place to get it? only keen on the official set (Malaysia set), not sure is it called global rom...
Mi Max 2 has passed Sirim approval exactly 1 month ago but until now no news from Mi Malaysia yet. All the gold colour version are AP set from China.
Cynox
post Jul 27 2017, 09:49 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jul 27 2017, 09:30 PM)
RM1009 is a good price, but I dont like the black border for the gold version... sweat.gif
Yes. nod.gif black color is much more premium looking without the ugly black border. thumbup.gif
Cynox
post Jul 31 2017, 01:12 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(syukaro @ Jul 31 2017, 12:42 PM)
anyone using mi max 2 already? is there any minor issues like redmi 4 prime mic issue?
seriously considering mi max 2 black against redmi note 4. price difference is about rm250 - rm300, the only disadvantage redmi note 4 has against mi max 2 is lesser battery and smaller screen.
Have been using Mi Max 2 as my spare phone since 2 weeks ago. No issue till now but I am not a heavy gamer on mobile. My son will play some tiny games while waiting me to fetch him back from tuition.

Tested night shot and compared with Samsung S8+, photo quality is miles away. But daytime shot under bright light is not bad though.
Cynox
post Aug 4 2017, 09:09 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(arr9ow @ Aug 1 2017, 07:34 PM)
Camera performance ok kah guys?
daytime bright light ok. Night time low light not ok.
Cynox
post Aug 10 2017, 09:25 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(mrfarhatadib89 @ Aug 10 2017, 09:14 AM)
the phone size is to big for average consumers
xiaomi should made it 6inch max with minimum bazel.
if the size is 5.7inch im sure they will win the market
they already have other model with 5.7 inches for average consumers. There is tonnes of phone at 5.7", take them if they think this phone is too big. Just my 2 sen. icon_rolleyes.gif

This phone is for those who wants a mini tablet. thumbup.gif I use it as my video player on the go and in my car - superb. Its screen is even bigger than my Kenwood HU with 6.2" screen. thumbsup.gif The extra large battery that can only fit in such a large chassis is also another star feature of this phone. rclxms.gif

Cynox
post Aug 11 2017, 09:09 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(00007kel @ Aug 10 2017, 11:04 PM)
Hi, I for those who bought the Malaysian model, I would like verify if the Malaysia model retains its TD-SCDMA bands? Written in the manual/box/settings maybe?

Coz I'm looking to use it for frequent travelling to China.

ALSO, is the gold model officially here, or only AP?

Thanks!
from Mi. HK web site:

2G:GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz (B2/B3/B5/B8)
3G:WCDMA 850/900/1900/2100MHz (B1/B2/B5/B8)
4G:TDD-LTE B38/B39/B40/B41 (窄带 100MHz)
4G:FDD-LTE B1/B3/B5/B7/B8

Black is international version. Gold only for China I think.

QUOTE(attw @ Aug 11 2017, 08:45 AM)
It's available for RM1,099 on Qoo10 with a coupon discount. I would have gotten it but I'm not a big fan of MIUI biggrin.gif
Just use other launcher. Yes, MIUI is getting fatter and bloater, hopefully the MIUI 9 is slimmed down significantly as they promise.

This post has been edited by Cynox: Aug 11 2017, 09:12 AM
Cynox
post Sep 25 2017, 02:10 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(changshen @ Sep 25 2017, 02:06 PM)
Is Mi max 2 support NFC? I check various review online some say yes some say no. Confused who is correct.
Nope, no NFC.
Cynox
post Oct 5 2017, 11:26 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(beyond @ Oct 5 2017, 11:20 AM)
Very happy with the phone. Am using it more than my iphone7+ LOL. Got one gripe though. Sim 1 is on YES. It show LTE. Sim 2 is Umobile, But it shows 3G only. Unable to select. Why ah?
Can only select one SIM for LTE (Data) at one time. So while your YES is LTE, UMobile will be 3G. If you select UMobile as Data line, YES will become 3G.

To select: Setting>>SIm Card & Mobile Networks>>Scroll down>> Internet - Select Either One.
Cynox
post Oct 5 2017, 03:56 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Oct 5 2017, 03:45 PM)
ask via e-mail... 3pin should be MY set.
My HK set also 3-pin. biggrin.gif
Cynox
post Oct 16 2017, 02:16 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(changshen @ Oct 16 2017, 01:50 PM)
Just got my new mi max 2 global version. Anyone have idea why at the back lower part of the phone there is a small line about 0.2 cm. Looks like a scratch to me. But  the line is straight so it looks like on purpose to be there. Appreciate some comments.
are u referring to the antenna line at the bottom of the casing? If you look carefully, there is a same line at the top of the case at the top too.
Cynox
post Dec 5 2017, 06:30 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hkpg @ Dec 5 2017, 05:28 PM)
After try uninstall, reinstall the umobile app, the problem still happened especially when i tap the usage balance section. Not always but once a while..

Will it be compatibility issue ? Any other solutions ?
It is U Mobile app problem, my Samsung S8+ also has the same problem. Yes, as soon as you tap the usage to see the details, the app will crash. Then have to re-open then tap usage, will be ok the second time.

It will get fixed by U Mobile eventually but after few updates, the problem appear again. So i dun bother to fix it coz the problem come and go then come again. rclxub.gif
Cynox
post Dec 12 2017, 01:59 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Dec 12 2017, 01:39 PM)
Does Mi Max 2 have any GPS issues like the RN4? Thanks!
Nope, GPS working perfectly. thumbup.gif
Cynox
post Dec 13 2017, 10:10 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Dec 13 2017, 10:07 AM)
Is this phone worth getting?
everyone have their own "worthiness" meter. For me, I am using it as a spare phone and mobile entertainment station in car (Spotify & Youtube, Netflix, etc), it is perfectly worth. thumbup.gif

0.0246sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:04 AM