Hi Guys, I'll only compare MBO and GSC since only those two are available here in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah.
Pricewise, it's generally the same between the two. Though, there are two main instances in which one has an advantage over the other. During weekdays after 1 p.m., tickets for adults is cheaper in MBO. However, during the weekends before 1 p.m. GSC is cheaper. Not to mention, MBO is cheaper for kids no matter what or when.
Concessionwise, I prefer snacks in GSC. But that's just my personal opinion. It doesn't really vary in terms of concession pricing for the popcorn combo between the two. Nonetheless, if you select the single pack or share pack combo in MBO, it is RM1 and RM2 cheaper than normal respectively.
Comfortwise, take this from my mom who's out of shape when I say that she prefers the seating in MBO since it's cushioned throughout the seats whereas the arm rest and sides of seats in GSC is not cushioned and you come in direct contact with the metal of the arm rest when seated. Nevertheless, in terms of cleanliness GSC wins hands down.
The edge that's decisive for me is the fact that MBO provides points for every ringgit of transaction made with them. GSC offers nothing. In addition, the points can not only be used to redeem ordinary rewards such as tickets and concessions but you'll also be able to redeem movie merchandises regularly! This is something I believe even TGV does not offer. To top it off, MBO has the 'Happy Wednesday' campaign in which tickets are flat at RM 9(*with the exception of new releases and sneak showings of course!) as well as double points awarded for any transaction made on Wednesdays for that Wednesday. That's game-changing to be honest!
All in all, I prefer MBO without contest. It's fair and rewarding beyond compare. I certainly do not mind sacrificing price at certain times and cleanliness for the points which I get to collect and put to good use later!
Best cinema in Malaysia? GSC, TGV or MBO ?
May 1 2019, 07:06 PM
0.0172sec