Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

primax97
post Apr 8 2010, 12:20 AM

QUOTE(prakashpj82 @ Mar 9 2010, 04:45 PM)
Hi Guys,

I passed the Structured Interview back in May '09.
But till to date (10 months ardy) still no offer..

Helpless.
Must have cable uh?
Don't know what to do..

HRM says 'll contact me when there is a relevant position.
My degree in Chemical masters in HSE.

Can someone advise me?
Guys,

Petronas now downsizing their staff, same goes to othe OnG companies. Only the strong will survive no matter what colors you are. Dont you ever talk rubbish that if you are non malay so you are not given opportunity to work in petronas.

if you think you are the best, there are many more which suoerior than you out there.

To others, if you feel Malaysian is not good for you, please surrender your citizenship and you are free to go where you think you have the equal chance in your life and careers. Do appreciate what you get here and stop complaining. I have worked with US/Europe based, Japanese, Korean, Local Chinese owned, and Petronas. The worse is local chinese owned but there a lot of chinese owned company which is excellent.

Added on April 8, 2010, 12:25 am?
QUOTE(xander @ Feb 23 2010, 05:30 PM)
damn my high sch senior went in petronas not even 2 years then buy lancer 2.0

he comes from a poor family and supported by petronas scholarship so dun tell me his family is rich
So dude, what r u trying to say? Working in Petronas can make u rich? Stop dreaming dude!

This post has been edited by primax97: Apr 8 2010, 12:25 AM
primax97
post Apr 18 2010, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(ajai_fza @ Apr 8 2010, 01:15 AM)
i've gone from page 1 since 2007 until now..some of us full of assumptions. smile.gif

it would be better if someone with experience to talk on this (primax97 yeah rclxms.gif ). since it relates to career path, newbs with 2-3 yrs working experience (or not even have a year yet) must stop injecting negative thinking to those freshies. we do need advice and response but not in some way that will spark quarrel among us.

me myself is still waiting for a reply from petronas. im accounting graduates. the career path in petronas is actually vast (as said by their HQ HR mgr [if im not mistaken], she came to my college to persuade students to apply a position in Petronas, 'seeking for talent' as they said.)

seriously, in Petronas, they often rotate their employees for each 3-5years. some positions were left by the employees upon their request to be transferred to another department. so that is why they always reply on your job application "you will be informed once there are suitable positions for you". you might start in development department, research, marketing, operational, etc. even with accounting background, i might start out in other non-finance department relates to my qualification.

petronas is a high prolific company. they may only look for the 'best'..so that they can absorb them to ANY departments. and yeah, i don't think there is an advantage for being bumi. a friend of mine (non-bumi) has already been offered a position without having to undergo further test/interviews (2nd stage, 3rd stage and forth). me myself have got trouble in making the first test. Petronas is being governed by meritocracy. so, please stop "that" mindsetting smile.gif

correct me if im wrong. its just an opinion.
From what i experienced in Petronas, many of the projects also goes to non-malay. Many of them are damn rich and we give projects based on merit, not based on colors. You dont perform we terminate you, simple as that. mad.gif

your time will come. Be patience and do the best in your life. notworthy.gif

stop complaining and talk rubbish like others, be yourself and show what u are capable of. Want to earn more there are many jobs in middle east. Many of my malay friends working there but they never condemn malaysian company for giving them low salary, or whatever.. Just like our local chinese who prefer to work and earn in Australia, having house there and has double citizenship as well..but anyhow, it is about loyalty..if you only to earn more money and have assets outside malaysia, that was good but to have double citizenship, i do not know what to say.. rclxub.gif

they just know how to complain..please say thanks to what they already have in malaysia
primax97
post Jun 7 2010, 11:55 AM

QUOTE(SPS @ May 15 2010, 11:24 PM)
Let's cut the crap, shall we?  You are levelling unfounded accusations against audit firms and yet denying that an UMNO controlled GLC is non-discriminatory?  You think the forummers here crawled out from some frigging rock?  rolleyes.gif

i think u re damn racist and stupid..only u are right and the others all wrong.

Added on May 15, 2010, 11:27 pm
Don't mutter bullcrap here, ok?  There are no DUAL citizenship rights for Malaysians.
Wantto challenge me?..i have facts and don't say that u know everything BS.

Added on May 15, 2010, 11:30 pm
Who the hell are you to tell others to quit complaining and get lost from Malaysia?  Got that from the school of umnoputras?
Why u link me with umnoputras..all shit and u as well. Seems that u never learn from history..go f#$k yourself dude..u just know how to BS others, but can not accept BS by others.

Added on May 15, 2010, 11:48 pm
More BS from the likes of you - GLCs in Malaysia practise a Bumiputera Vendor Development programme that only develops vendors from MALAYS only.  At the most, non-Malay vendors can only resort to Ali Baba partnerships if they wish to secure business with Petronas or any GLC for that matter.
Even there are some cases like u mentioned, it's still benefited the non malay. From what u write, u are the type of people who want it all..i think when PM is non malay, TPM is non malay, all the GLC headed by non-malay, all the goverment directors are from non malay and all the top man are from non-malay then u will stop cursing and talking shit like this.

0.0418sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:49 PM