Share Dividend - Taxable?
TSTripod
Apr 12 2017, 08:31 PM, updated 9y ago

Just wanna ask about this share dividend thing Its not taxable right? But do I have to declare them when I submit my income tax? Just received my dividend by cheque The statement or voucher got one small print asking us to keep the voucher for submission to tax authorities. Dividends are tax free right? No need to declare them also right? So far for the past few years, I did not declare those dividends at all
alextan99
Apr 12 2017, 08:36 PM
if it pushes you to the next tax bracket then exclude them
Ramjade
Apr 12 2017, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(Tripod @ Apr 12 2017, 08:31 PM) Just wanna ask about this share dividend thing Its not taxable right? But do I have to declare them when I submit my income tax? Just received my dividend by cheque The statement or voucher got one small print asking us to keep the voucher for submission to tax authorities. Dividends are tax free right? No need to declare them also right? So far for the past few years, I did not declare those dividends at all  No need declare. Already tax. Keep in case income tax people come knocking on your door.
TSTripod
Apr 19 2017, 07:41 PM

Thanks guys for the info.
So I guess no need to declare those share dividend as income in my BE tax form.
But yeah I do keep those dividend slip.
apathen
Apr 20 2017, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(Tripod @ Apr 19 2017, 07:41 PM) Thanks guys for the info. So I guess no need to declare those share dividend as income in my BE tax form. But yeah I do keep those dividend slip. dividend already taxed before distributed to you. actually if want to declare also don't know to fill in where in the tax form, anyone know?
tehoice
Apr 20 2017, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(alextan99 @ Apr 12 2017, 08:36 PM) if it pushes you to the next tax bracket then exclude them what logic is this? means you're avoiding tax and it is punishable.
Dividend Magic
Apr 21 2017, 08:58 PM
The dividends you receive are tax FREE.
Income cannot be taxed twice. Your dividend is paid from a company's profits which has already been taxed at a company level. Ie. corporate tax.
You keep your dividend vouchers in case IRB asks you where you got your money to buy that Ferrari.
This post has been edited by Dividend Magic: Apr 21 2017, 08:59 PM
ysc
May 3 2017, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ Apr 21 2017, 08:58 PM) The dividends you receive are tax FREE. Income cannot be taxed twice. Your dividend is paid from a company's profits which has already been taxed at a company level. Ie. corporate tax. You keep your dividend vouchers in case IRB asks you where you got your money to buy that Ferrari. Does this mean that if you own your own company, you can just give yourself dividend and no need to pay income tax?
Ramjade
May 3 2017, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(ysc @ May 3 2017, 08:48 PM) Does this mean that if you own your own company, you can just give yourself dividend and no need to pay income tax? Yes. But company also got corperate tax.
cherroy
May 3 2017, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(ysc @ May 3 2017, 08:48 PM) Does this mean that if you own your own company, you can just give yourself dividend and no need to pay income tax? Dividend come from profit made aka company retained profit or profit after tax, which is already taxed in the first place. That's why single tier dividend is tax exempted.
Showtime747
May 4 2017, 06:53 AM
QUOTE(ysc @ May 3 2017, 08:48 PM) Does this mean that if you own your own company, you can just give yourself dividend and no need to pay income tax? Not simply give lah. Must fulfill 2 conditions : 1. Must be out of retained earnings, i.e. Company must have made profit and paid taxes 2. Since 31/1/2017, directors have to make sure company is solvent
goodbrother
May 5 2017, 03:54 PM

How about share earnings? It is taxable?
Ramjade
May 5 2017, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(goodbrother @ May 5 2017, 03:54 PM) How about share earnings? It is taxable? Capital gain is not taxable.
Cubalagi
May 6 2017, 01:36 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 5 2017, 03:59 PM) Capital gain is not taxable. But be careful, if u earn a living from share trading the IRB may consider capital gain as "income" and want to tax u. This post has been edited by Cubalagi: May 6 2017, 01:37 AM
amandalim
Dec 12 2018, 09:29 AM

I have a question on dividend and tax. Based on the info I've read, I understood that the dividend we received will no longer be taxed, because it is already being taxed at the company level, does this mean that the company will actually deduct the tax from our dividend before sending it to us? Take AirAsia for example, if they have declared a special dividend of 40 cents, does this mean that the actual dividend we received will not be exactly 40 cents but is 40 cents minus the corporate tax?
cherroy
Dec 12 2018, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(amandalim @ Dec 12 2018, 09:29 AM) I have a question on dividend and tax. Based on the info I've read, I understood that the dividend we received will no longer be taxed, because it is already being taxed at the company level, does this mean that the company will actually deduct the tax from our dividend before sending it to us? Take AirAsia for example, if they have declared a special dividend of 40 cents, does this mean that the actual dividend we received will not be exactly 40 cents but is 40 cents minus the corporate tax? The 40 cents is net you will be getting. The tax already paid by company in the first place before concluding the dividend.
amandalim
Dec 12 2018, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 12 2018, 10:00 AM) The 40 cents is net you will be getting. The tax already paid by company in the first place before concluding the dividend. Thanks for your clarification! That's good to know