> 3 out of 4 Malaysians can’t raise RM1,000, in an emergency Chat

scorptim
post Apr 12 2017, 06:44 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Apr 12 2017, 06:35 PM)
I really doubt those most of those queuing up for Hokkaido cheese tart are part of the 3 out of 4.

BNM statistic is after Malaysians as a whole, not those who work and live in richer parts of Klang Valley. You don't see stuff like this much in Shah Alam where many lower tier civil servants are based in.
On the contrary, I believe that many of those queueing for hokkaido cheese tart are part of the 3 out of 4. Why? Because most of them are hipsters and trend followers who are known to live in heavy debts just to support their "cool" lifestyle.

Ironically, from my observation, people in the richer parts of klang Valley are usually the ones with none or minimal savings as opposed to people outside of klang Valley. They usually get to save more since they ain't got much entertainment to spend their money on.
scorptim
post Apr 12 2017, 07:19 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(Vape On @ Apr 12 2017, 06:53 PM)
Lol.

I am guessing you are now either student or working with less than 3 years experience.

Am i right?
Nope, I wish I was that young. Oldfag d lerr me.

You would observe that people in richer parts of klang valley have more savings if you mainly compare between Chinese ppl but do bear in mind majority are the Malays.

Looking at Malays in KV (macai and crony not included), memang damn a lot are heavily in debt and have minimal savings. They constantly upgrade their lifestyle whenever they earn more resulting in them not being able to save. Everytime got promotion etc, will upgrade car, house etc. So end of the day no savings. More Malays in kampung tend to just maintain their lifestyles and live in old houses while saving the extra money earned.
scorptim
post Apr 12 2017, 07:32 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(Vape On @ Apr 12 2017, 07:24 PM)
Actually since the bnm survey is not region specific.

It means the whole country.

3 out of 4 cannot raise rm1000.
That make sense because 1 out of 4 are taking br1m.

Inflation and rising food cost are killing the minimum wage workers.

Those pakai civic guna tayar second hand is less of my concern because they chose this lifestyle.

I am more concern about the poor and needy.
Agreed with your points, but I just think that since 1 out of 4 ppl qualify for BR1M means that the other 2 from the 3 out of 4 who can't raise rm1000 are earning at least rm3k salary. For someone earning 3k a month and can't come up with 1k for emergency, it means either you have too many mouths to feed or your lifestyle choices is what caused it.

The reality is, there are quite a lot of pakai civic guna tayar second hand kinda ppl.
scorptim
post Apr 12 2017, 09:45 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(Jv8888 @ Apr 12 2017, 08:50 PM)
Imagine house loan monthly (RM1700), Unifi (RM180), TNB (RM120), Water (f.o.c), Petrol (RM400), Toll (RM200), Food (RM500.00), car loan (RM600). Total: RM3700.00. Havent include personal insurance, car insurance, car maintenance, and much more. How many ppl in Malaysia actually able to earn so much to be able to cover all this expenses?
House loan 1700 means ur house loan itself already 350k+, honestly if you don't earn min 5k,should not go for house in that price range. Flats can get within 100k, monthly installment 500 only. The key is to not push your budget to the limit.

From your petrol and tol, can say you're traveling quite far to work, should have gotten a place nearer but guess too late now.

QUOTE(iGamer @ Apr 12 2017, 08:57 PM)
Because most people push their budget to the limit. Unifi RM180 for instance is not a necessity, TNB RM120, use less aircond lah.
Agreed on this.

0.0131sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:14 PM