Digi 4G and Port Forwarding, basically port forward for RDP and CCTV

alucard89
post Apr 18 2017, 10:51 AM

4,454 posts

Ok, some update
You can portforward using vpn (provided they include portforwarding service like rw4vpn)
I was able to monitor my cctv streams, bt, rpi

You'll need to use router firmware that has openvpn client (ddwrt,tomato, asuswrt) & admin option to run scripts/command (crucial step for DNAT rules)

I followed this guide

https://torguard.net/forums/index.php?/topi...port-forwarding

https://torguard.net/knowledgebase.php?acti...165&useful=vote

After going through different router and firmware
I settled with asuswrt merlin on my huawei ws880 since I get max speed with openvpn.
Tested on my other router but only geting 5-7mbps download probably because old hardware and the vpn encryption (256 bit)

Angrybirds88
post Apr 23 2017, 11:36 AM

14 posts

Sifu alucard89,

How to slot in digi simcard?connect to usb ws880?
Can send the equipment pic to use for simcard .

Thks u

alucard89
post Apr 23 2017, 05:18 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Angrybirds88 @ Apr 23 2017, 11:36 AM)
Sifu alucard89,

How to slot in digi simcard?connect to usb ws880?
Can send the equipment pic to use for simcard .

Thks u
Any 4g usb modem is enough, just make sure it's compatible xwrt (merlin)
tan_aniki
post Apr 25 2017, 09:51 PM

9,052 posts

it's very easy to determine whether your ip is public ip or not: type myip in google.com and use another network with internet and ping the ip. if failed means not public ip =end=
manx
post Jul 15 2017, 09:55 AM

1,849 posts

Guys.. i am also digi infinite150 subscriber using E5816 Huawei router. Interested to know the steps to enable port forwarding for my hone alarm system and cctv. Would be okay to use VPN as well but not really sure how to go about it.
Anybody has successfully done it amd get it working? Appreciate your guidance and help.
eddyann
post Jul 18 2017, 08:47 AM

Gold Miner
1,981 posts

cloud IP camera and my Synology NAS+Surveillance Station work well
TSHummingbird
post Jul 18 2017, 10:23 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(eddyann @ Jul 18 2017, 08:47 AM)
cloud IP camera and my Synology NAS+Surveillance Station work well
Is the setup going through an intermediate service/server? My setup is a typical peer to peer connection by exposing services to public internet.
eddyann
post Jul 18 2017, 10:30 AM

Gold Miner
1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Jul 18 2017, 10:23 AM)
Is the setup going through an intermediate service/server? My setup is a typical peer to peer connection by exposing services to public internet.
I believe my setup running through its dedicated cloud server. TPLINK cloud for cctv (ip cam) and Synology cloud for NAS. it works well and good and fast enough for me, no need p2p smile.gif
#Victor
post Jul 18 2017, 11:55 AM

4,672 posts

No problem for me using CCTV with Digi 150 + 4G router without any port forwarding nor VPN.
Maybe I am lucky enough because the CCTV is using cloud / p2p?

SUSdjmarcus
post Jan 3 2020, 02:01 PM

17 posts

Hi alucard89, do you have any idea how to port forward a blocked port 80 from Maxis 4g Broadband Dongle that is plugged and connected to Maxis Archer 1200 C5v Router ? Because we are trying to port forwarding port 80 for source and destination but it turns out resulting as connection was time out. Is there any work around ? Anyone can help please, would be very much greatly appreciated πŸ™πŸΎπŸ™πŸΎπŸ™πŸΎ. Thank you in advance !! Below is the picture we are trying to port forward but turns out unsuccessful.

0.0189sec    1.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:52 PM