Looking for an upgrade budget RM2500

TSMeToo
post Apr 6 2017, 04:00 PM, updated 9y ago

9,338 posts

Guys, hope i can get some ideas/pointers for my potential monitor upgrade...

I do light gaming (Fallout 4, Total War, ME3, no serious FPS), watches Anime, movies etc.
I'm currently using a 27" full HD Samsung TN panel with 2ms + GPU 1060

I'm looking to upgrade to the following :

1. 27" or bigger
2. IPS (or equivalent as I watch movie on in with my wife)
3. GSync (prefers)
4. QHD
5. Budget... this one tricky.. i try to keep it under RM2500 is possible..

Thanks! notworthy.gif
slaveone
post Apr 6 2017, 04:05 PM

1,231 posts

if buang any one of the features, then have aaa. if all five, then let me know if you find it
TSMeToo
post Apr 6 2017, 04:10 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Apr 6 2017, 04:05 PM)
if buang any one of the features, then have aaa. if all five, then let me know if you find it
Buang which one wor laugh.gif

if buang then not much diff from my current monitor me thinks...
karthyhu
post Apr 6 2017, 04:18 PM

1,165 posts

All have except no2.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3755174&hl=
TSMeToo
post Apr 6 2017, 04:30 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(karthyhu @ Apr 6 2017, 04:18 PM)
That is very nice, only concern was the TN panel, i'm currently using a TN and watching movie with my wife (we sit side by side) the colour is abit off due ot the TN's viewable angle..

I'm also looking at the U2717D, but it has no GSync... not sure how much this affects my gaming experience... sweat.gif
Jet144
post Apr 9 2017, 05:36 PM

QUOTE(MeToo @ Apr 6 2017, 04:00 PM)
Guys, hope i can get some ideas/pointers for my potential monitor upgrade...

I do light gaming (Fallout 4, Total War, ME3, no serious FPS), watches Anime, movies etc.
I'm currently using a 27" full HD Samsung TN panel with 2ms + GPU 1060

I'm looking to upgrade to the following :

1. 27" or bigger
2. IPS (or equivalent as I watch movie on in with my wife)
3. GSync (prefers)
4. QHD
5. Budget... this one tricky.. i try to keep it under RM2500 is possible..

Thanks!  notworthy.gif
http://www.lazada.com.my/viewsonic-xg2703-...28147.html?ff=1
TSMeToo
post Apr 10 2017, 03:20 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Jet144 @ Apr 9 2017, 05:36 PM)
Thanks for the heads up.. this is Very nice... price competitive as well...

How would you rate it vs Acer Predator XB271HU? Price RM300 diff the Predator comes with a bunch of freebies...

Found a Predator for RM3400 with free Predator Headset... looks decent deal though I dun need the headset

This post has been edited by MeToo: Apr 10 2017, 02:44 PM
syawalx
post Apr 10 2017, 03:29 AM

133 posts

if youre not planning to upgrade ur GPU. dont go QHD
TSMeToo
post Apr 10 2017, 12:12 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(syawalx @ Apr 10 2017, 03:29 AM)
if youre not planning to upgrade ur GPU. dont go QHD
Eh?

Was under the impression 1060 should be able to manage QHD?

My Current monitor is FHD with 2ms, pointless to go FHD again..
terence_nwb
post Apr 10 2017, 02:14 PM

7,016 posts

1060 is more towards 1080p gaming, you need to lower down the graphics settings if you go for 1440p to achieve stable 60 FPS.
syawalx
post Apr 10 2017, 02:17 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 10 2017, 02:14 PM)
1060 is more towards 1080p gaming, you need to lower down the graphics settings if you go for 1440p to achieve stable 60 FPS.
yes, what he said. if wanna go QHD and maintain your graphics settings. for gaming i mean, then better stick to a 1080p. or get a 2k monitor maybe?
TSMeToo
post Apr 10 2017, 02:40 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(syawalx @ Apr 10 2017, 02:17 PM)
yes, what he said. if wanna go QHD and maintain your graphics settings. for gaming i mean, then better stick to a 1080p. or get a 2k monitor maybe?
Um... kinda pointless to go FHD again since my current is alrdy such.

Spending that kinda money just to go from TN -> IPS abit waste wor sad.gif

The benchmark on 1440p here looks acceptable wor... they running it on low settings? confused.gif

https://www.gamespot.com/articles/nvidia-ge...w/1100-6441925/

This post has been edited by MeToo: Apr 10 2017, 02:43 PM
Fzeo
post Apr 10 2017, 02:43 PM

455 posts

TSMeToo
post Apr 10 2017, 02:57 PM

9,338 posts

Think I'll give either the Predator or ROG or Viewsonic a try....

Strangely here the ROG is $3999 pricier then the Predator ($3499) which is pricier Viewsonic ($3199)... they all using same panel...

Anyone come across a good deal on the Predator/Viewsonic (ie discount hehe) pls drop me a line...
terence_nwb
post Apr 10 2017, 03:20 PM

7,016 posts

TN to IPS upgrade is not a waste (at least for me), the benefit of having IPS is more than enough for me to switch over from TN.

Depends on the games you play, 1060 will struggle in those demanding titles on 1440p, just lower down the settings (if you don't mind) in return for a better frame rate.

Asus products are always more expensive here, this is not strange at all, especially their GPU lineup (Strix), it costs few hundred more than other brands. ROG > Predator > ViewSonic in terms of pricing.

0.0170sec    2.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:48 PM