TSblacktrix
post Mar 11 2007, 04:31 PM, updated 19y ago

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

With echo Brain now.,..

Wes Borland is damn Cool.. even with the bizKit stuff!

Very riff Base.
Now on to final questions. Will perform more after that.

Pics coming up ..

iamzacky
post Mar 11 2007, 04:42 PM

300 posts

damn dah lepas ke? sad.gif when was it?
blackangel
post Mar 11 2007, 05:33 PM

556 posts

bizkit!!!woohoo respect!but i hate fred..aha
SweetTooth
post Mar 11 2007, 06:50 PM

2,650 posts

i was there! saw echo and blacktrix.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 11 2007, 08:02 PM

13,063 posts

Sudah balik!

Clinic was surprising lah. At least from the get go, he said he wasn't a "soloist" and more of a "group player"...... but the stuff he did with the loop pedal was damn cool......
Alot more... what's the word..... Industrial Instrumental.....

But it was AFTER the clinic that have alot to talk about.

They had to shuffle us ALL THE WAY back to their Curve store..... NOT FUN if you're carrying a coffin case... and when you get to the signing.... "Can Only sign the provided Autograph card or a Yamaha guitar"..... WTF!!!???!!!

For those keeping score..... Yamaha BeatSpot Bad Marks = 2 (The first was for the over pricing)

Then once the event ended, and waited for Wes to clear before can go test out the amps.... their 3 MAIN DISPLAY AMPS all NOT WORKING!!!! Not even plugged in!

BeatSpot Bad Marks = 3

At LEAST one of the worker there was good enough to try to setup the amps. Turns out....... couldn't...... sigh. And NO tube amps in sight.....

However!!!!!!

There WAS a Gibson Les Paul SUPREME on display..... and guess what.....
Me and Echo tried it out! No Hassle!!!!

Will report more on the sound later.
Right now.... I'm hungry and I want to eat!

echobrainproject
post Mar 11 2007, 08:33 PM

4,765 posts

im hungry and want to eat too..

oh ya...

let me say it before blacktrix does

WES BORLAND PLAYED JAZZ!!!

wooo...

be afraid u guys.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 11 2007, 10:01 PM

13,063 posts

....... and the Gibson Les Paul Supreme just plain, flat out SUCKED!!!!

Seriously.... It was just.... as echobrain put it.... Epiphone Quality.
The built was alright.... but the humbuckers....... urgh.
Don't think they were Burstbuckers.....

And it was DAMN light! Even my ZW Epi was heavier! And it was also only SLIGHTLY heavier then an Epi Custom LP......

Overall..... Very disappointed.

Oh..... and there were alot of Epi LP Standards...... however, all MIC.
The only MIK I saw was the Zakk Wylde epi Camo Bullseye.... Yup. They have it.
Everdying
post Mar 11 2007, 10:12 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

you know why the LP supreme is light?
cos apparently it uses the wood higher up on the tree, which i guess is older.
the wood on the bottom is heavier cos its being compressed by the weight.

and supremes dont use burstbuckers, just regular 490/498 pickups.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 11 2007, 10:13 PM
led_zep_freak
post Mar 11 2007, 10:12 PM

5,231 posts

If I'm not mistaken, I read somewhere that Beatspot is supposed to be some kind of a concept store where it's catered for players who want to test out gears before purchasing. Apparently, all their amps are ready-to-be-tested & guitars are hung at your disposal. biggrin.gif Oh well, they're still new I guess. smile.gif

Nice hairstyle btw, echo.
sean392
post Mar 11 2007, 10:24 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 11 2007, 10:01 PM)
....... and the Gibson Les Paul Supreme just plain, flat out SUCKED!!!!

Seriously.... It was just.... as echobrain put it.... Epiphone Quality.
The built was alright.... but the humbuckers....... urgh.
Don't think they were Burstbuckers.....

And it was DAMN light! Even my ZW Epi was heavier! And it was also only SLIGHTLY heavier then an Epi Custom LP......

Overall..... Very disappointed.

Oh..... and there were alot of Epi LP Standards...... however, all MIC.
The only MIK I saw was the Zakk Wylde epi Camo Bullseye.... Yup. They have it.
iianm gibby lespaul supremes have a chambered body
hence lighter?
Everdying
post Mar 11 2007, 10:26 PM

30,735 posts

actually all gibsons have weight relief holes, up to 9.
the standards, customs all.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 11 2007, 10:37 PM

13,063 posts

But still..... not impressed with the sound.
I'd rather go for a Standard.
sean392
post Mar 11 2007, 10:52 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 11 2007, 10:37 PM)
But still..... not impressed with the sound.
I'd rather go for a Standard.
well yeah
and a standard costs less than a supreme right?
echobrainproject
post Mar 11 2007, 11:03 PM

4,765 posts

seriously guys, even if they sold it for RM8000, i would think twice about buying it. i told blacktrix its epiphone quality, no way would pay RM8k and above for it. just not worth it. only thing worth it is the looks i guess. soundwise, feel, etc, just not Gibson at all...not even Gibson Standard level.

edit: on my hair, thanks. haha. its not a new hairstyle. just didnt cut it over a month. tongue.gif $$$ all go to wes borland clinic, muse concert, etc

This post has been edited by echobrainproject: Mar 11 2007, 11:04 PM
Everdying
post Mar 11 2007, 11:17 PM

30,735 posts

how much were they selling that supreme?
TSblacktrix
post Mar 11 2007, 11:24 PM

13,063 posts

They CLAIMED it was at RM8000...... but if you do a quick search at musician's friend, it retails for 2900USD Already!!!!
Everdying
post Mar 11 2007, 11:26 PM

30,735 posts

RM8k? i bet its a MIC 'special' thats been grossly marked up tongue.gif
that could explain its 'epiphone' quality.

yea, musiciansfriend has the LP supreme selling at USD2899.
with current rate, its easily RM10k.
list is USD4238.

i've seen 'special' LP supremes on ebay before.
looked pretty real, the serial number gives it away everytime.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 11 2007, 11:29 PM
gapnap
post Mar 12 2007, 12:09 AM

1,782 posts

he.he..Gibson LP supreme ..has always been my "wish i could have that" guitar..

i am definitely going to the curve to rape it ..

If its original , and its 8k before discount..i will buy it on the spot .

Anyway , care to explain in detail why does it suck ? just because of the pickups ?

i am planning to PIMP MY GUITAR EMG it anyway ..
TSblacktrix
post Mar 12 2007, 12:10 AM

13,063 posts

But anyway, back to the clinic......

Wes new favorite toy is the Boss Looping pedal. I must admit.... he DOES use it to great effect.

And no, he's not a soloist by any means..... but he is a damn good riffer. Alot of cool riffs he came up with and uses ALOT of effects...... most dominantly his delay and echo pedals.

And his Signature Guitar?
Definite GAS for me! It's a REALLY cool take on the semi-hollow body guitar..... all the size of a Les Paul, but without the weight. AND it has a cool whammy trem.

Also, he made quite a few mistakes during the performance and had to stop and just restart everything, including his backing band......

FYI... his Backing Band was an iPod.......

EDIT: And dude..... seriously.... for 8K..... go get an LP standard instead of THAT Supreme. Heck... get 2 Epi Les Paul Customs..... me and echo both agreed that the Supreme only sounds SLIGHTLY better then the Epi Custom..... and those were MIC Customs!
It's the overall sound of the guitar. You'll know what we mean as soon as you pickup the guitar and play it. There's no other way to describe it.

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Mar 12 2007, 12:12 AM
echobrainproject
post Mar 12 2007, 12:13 AM

4,765 posts

its not that beautifully constructed as i expected it to be. of course, it looks good from far. on the price, the guy wasnt sure so he told me prob around 8k. he asked me to call back on wednesday and by then theyll confirm the price (wth?). it says made in US at the back, but looking at the way they printed the serial number, maybe everdying is right. its too good for a MIC crap copy, but no where near a gibson standard.

0.0201sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:58 PM