Mukhsin, Last Movie About Orked's Family

TSH4RRY
post Mar 10 2007, 09:25 PM, updated 19y ago

393 posts

Mukhsin

Synopsis
Orked is ten. Mukhsin is twelve. They meet during one school holiday and quickly become the best of friends. They play together and even dress alike. But everything comes to an end when Mukhsin has to go back to his village. Mukhsin never promised that he will be back, but Orked assure that she would ask her parents to drop by at Mukhsin's place, but a misunderstanding between them has changed everything. How does something so beautiful like love ruined something similarly beautiful like a friendship?

"With Mukhsin, I try to examine one common and uncomfortable human experience - what happens when your very best friend, someone with whom you've been learning to do cool best-friend things like climbing trees, flying kites, riding bicycles, and even getting into fights with other kids, starts to develop romantic notions about you," Yasmin explained on her blog.

There are some suprises, 3 Sharifahs, plenty of things that wasn't revealed, humor that are not lame, great music and beautiful backgrounds.

I never thought any of Yasmin's films are "controversial". Much of it is true and some are idealistic. But for the sake of comparison with the first 3 Orked films, Sepet > Gubra > Mukhsin > Rabun is how i would rank them.

Mukhsin Trailer
Majalah 3 on Mukhsin

Release Date: 8 March 2007
Running Time: 1 hour 35 minutes
Tagline: Everyone has a first love story to tell
Director : Yasmin Ahmad

Actor :
Mohd. Syafie Naswip (Mukhsin)
Sharifah Aryana Syed Zainal Rashid (Orked)
Sharifah Aleya Syed Zainal Rashid (Mak Inom)
Irwan Iskandar (Pak Atan)
Adibah Noor (Kak Yam)
Mislina Mustafa (Makcik Senah)

Trivial
Mukhsin means "Yang Berbuat Kebaikan"

There are 2 cameo appearances, be suprised smile.gif

The real Orked, Pak Atan and Mak Inom appeared in the end. Not too hard to figure this one out.

The Orked in Mukhsin is the younger Orked we see in Sepet. The younger Jason from Sepet is also in Mukhsin.

Yasmin even poke fun at the term "pencemar budaya" that critics has labelled her films with, LOL.

Yasmin Ahmad is a film director and writer from Malaysia. Her feature films to date include Rabun (2003), Sepet (2004), Gubra (2006) and Mukhsin

(2007).

Lots of Links About Mukhsin

Some Links About Mukhsin(some spoiler)
http://star-ecentral.com/news/story.asp?fi...5123&sec=movies
http://star-ecentral.com/news/story.asp?fi...0372&sec=movies
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/archive.as...03.htm&arc=hive
http://www.mmail.com.my/Current_News/mm/Bu...icle/index_html
http://diatulis.blogspot.com/2006/06/cinta...onik-orked.html
http://tontonfilem.blog-city.com/muksin.htm
http://sultanmuzaffar.blogspot.com/2006/08...ang-paling.html
http://mono-no-awareness.blogspot.com/2006...ahmad-film.html
http://drowmage.wordpress.com/2007/03/07/m...sy-simple-tale/

This post has been edited by H4RRY: Mar 10 2007, 10:57 PM
fantagero
post Mar 10 2007, 09:32 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

just watching the trailer makes we really really hav to watch it..
but unfortunately, this kinnda of movie, for me, not worth it to watch at the big screen.. huhuuh waste of the big speakers in GSC.. hehe

quintessential
post Mar 10 2007, 09:37 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

hopefully this movie will not create controversy like gubra.
x-loki
post Mar 10 2007, 10:09 PM

yo!
718 posts

seems promising. I'm thinking of watching this. but all my friend don't want it. sad.gif
navilink
post Mar 10 2007, 10:35 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

if u like this movie, check out Little Manhattan....will make u fall in love once again!
alieamin
post Mar 10 2007, 10:46 PM

Mobile Phones Authorized Reseller
1,279 posts

i was the first batch people who watch it. nod.gif

i thought this movie a lot of sadness.. but im truly wrong.
this movie comes with lot of jokes. not slapstic jokes or lawak bodoh.
im gonna give 4.5/5 for this movie. really worth to watch it.
thats why this movie won an award.
maxizanc
post Mar 10 2007, 10:56 PM

5,909 posts

Mukhsin!! What are you doing up there on the tree?

LOL
TSH4RRY
post Mar 10 2007, 11:08 PM

393 posts

There's things that i wanted to know so badly.

What was written on the tail of the kite?
My best guess is "Don't Leave Me" as the song is playing in that scene. Anyone want try guess? Definitely not "I Love You" though. At first, i thought it's "I'm Sorry"

From NST:
There is one particular scene in the poignant coming-of-age drama, in which Orked runs after Mukhsin after reading a note scribbled by the boy on a kite (Yasmin had refused to disclose its contents, saying that she told Mohd Syafie to express his whole feelings to Aryana through writing). What did it say?

"Oh, that's a secret..." she said with a smile.

What is Orked doing under the bed? With the cat?

A complete translation of all those Chinese words and more specifically those on Orked's blackboard. Yasmin said this has some meaning, too bad i can't read Chinese. All those who can read please translate for us, please?

This post has been edited by H4RRY: Mar 10 2007, 11:15 PM
fantagero
post Mar 10 2007, 11:16 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

The Orked in Mukhsin is the younger Orked we see in Sepet. The younger Jason from Sepet is also in Mukhsin.

jason is malay ???

huhuhu havnt watch yet..
TSH4RRY
post Mar 10 2007, 11:30 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 10 2007, 11:16 PM)

jason is malay ???
huhuhu havnt watch yet..
No, Jason is not a Malay, but he is a Muslim since he's married to Orked in Gubra. If u want to know, go watch the movie smile.gif

Rabun + Sepet + Gubra + Mukhsin = Mukhsin
hello_world
post Mar 11 2007, 12:27 AM

32 posts

i hope this movie is just good clean fun to watch. yasmin ahmad seems to rely on controversial matters too much. plus, sepet was good, but it was so overrated. haven't watched gubra yet, but i hope mukhsin is a lot better.
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Mar 11 2007, 12:43 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(H4RRY @ Mar 10 2007, 11:30 PM)
No, Jason is not a Malay, but he is a Muslim since he's married to Orked in Gubra. If u want to know, go watch the movie smile.gif

wow i din realise the sequels were named differently rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(hello_world @ Mar 11 2007, 12:27 AM)
i hope this movie is just good clean fun to watch. yasmin ahmad seems to rely on controversial matters too much. plus, sepet was good, but it was so overrated. haven't watched gubra yet, but i hope mukhsin is a lot better.
aiya this is the kinda films we expect 2 watch come out in local cinema instead of the lame malay love movies with the same lame malay casts...YA is definitely the only one director who dare 2 do differently over the top unlike other directors n thus she shall earn my respect notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Mar 11 2007, 12:43 AM
vertigofoo
post Mar 11 2007, 02:39 AM

37 posts

We SHOULD watch this in the cinema - at the very least - to support our local movie makers like Yasmin.

I intend to buy the DVD when its released (IF its released).
maxizanc
post Mar 11 2007, 04:37 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(vertigofoo @ Mar 11 2007, 02:39 AM)
We SHOULD watch this in the cinema - at the very least - to support our local movie makers like Yasmin.

I intend to buy the DVD when its released (IF its released).
next 3 months or less it will be shown on astro.. just like Cicakman.. coming soon on astro.. yawn.gif
tsg
post Mar 11 2007, 04:44 AM

Idontcare Club
14,610 posts

its on my wishlist,been following sinced SEPET,GUBRA now MUKHSin....reversed back
azarimy
post Mar 11 2007, 09:13 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(H4RRY @ Mar 10 2007, 11:30 PM)

huh? when did orked marry jason? he's dead!

she married another guy (played by adlin aman ramli) in gubra.
TSH4RRY
post Mar 11 2007, 11:27 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Mar 11 2007, 04:37 AM)
next 3 months or less it will be shown on astro.. just like Cicakman.. coming soon on astro.. yawn.gif
It'll definitely be played during the primetime on Hari Raya, just like Sepet and Gubra before it.
QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 11 2007, 09:13 AM)
huh? when did orked marry jason? he's dead!

she married another guy (played by adlin aman ramli) in gubra.
Oh man, you should've stayed for Gubra till after the credits finished rolling. The most beautiful scene in Gubra, the reason why Ng Choo Seong's name is on the poster. The cinema staff should tell the audience lah...sad. Pay attention to their fingers if u were to watch it again. rclxms.gif Jason really did died if u look at the timeline of all 4 movies. Yes, not 3 movies, but 4 movies about the Orked family.

I stayed till the credits finish rolling for Mukhsin as well. But no extra, FYI.

This post has been edited by H4RRY: Mar 11 2007, 11:40 AM
kevler
post Mar 11 2007, 02:06 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(H4RRY @ Mar 11 2007, 11:27 AM)
It'll definitely be played during the primetime on Hari Raya, just like Sepet and Gubra before it.

Oh man, you should've stayed for Gubra till after the credits finished rolling. The most beautiful scene in Gubra, the reason why Ng Choo Seong's name is on the poster. The cinema staff should tell the audience lah...sad. Pay attention to their fingers if u were to watch it again. rclxms.gif Jason really did died if u look at the timeline of all 4 movies. Yes, not 3 movies, but 4 movies about the Orked family.

I stayed till the credits finish rolling for Mukhsin as well. But no extra, FYI.
what u mean by "The most beautiful scene in Gubra, the reason why Ng Choo Seong's name is on the poster "

is it explicit one ?

This post has been edited by kevler: Mar 11 2007, 02:06 PM
TSH4RRY
post Mar 11 2007, 03:35 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ Mar 11 2007, 02:06 PM)
what u mean by "The most beautiful scene in Gubra, the reason why Ng Choo Seong's name is on the poster "

is it explicit one ?
Explicit? LOL. Seems like a hell lot of people didn't get to watch that last scene. Next time Gubra is shown on TV, wait till the credits finish rolling. U'll understand then.
katopunk
post Mar 12 2007, 04:48 AM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

harry,

cow man... you're making me confused! 4 movies? rabun's about orked's family meh?

This post has been edited by katopunk: Mar 12 2007, 04:51 AM

0.0453sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:30 AM