Guide How to make Windows XP be like Windows Vista, [Now with even MORE visual mods]

eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 10 2007, 08:54 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

Vista Startmenu Emulator RC2 for XP seems cool.

Will try it thanks.
eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 10 2007, 10:26 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Mar 10 2007, 10:20 PM)
The step by step is all there. Just install the 4 things needed, then install VAIOXP, then install the VIsta Sidebar... maybe u can share with us in more detail about the problem you are facing.
It looks cool... but it doesn't work for me. I keep getting error  sad.gif
It's not really resource hungry right? unsure.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 10 2007, 10:38 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Mar 10 2007, 10:31 PM)
Nope. It works just fine. I'd still rather rely on the real vista sidebar than other sidebar emulators which might have bugs and all that. Plus, the vista sidebar can install new gadgets from Microsoft's Gadget Gallery:

http://vista.gallery.microsoft.com/vista/S....aspx?mkt=en-us
Erm, I'm referring to the Startmenu emulator sweat.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 11 2007, 04:54 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(Greasy Sweet @ Mar 10 2007, 11:14 PM)
I found an alternative to LogonXp, It's called FrontMotion. I have not tried this as I'm no longer using XP, but from the descriptions and screens from the site, it looks pretty promising.

Features

* User reconfigurable logon interface
    * Interactive Macromedia Flash Themes
    * Remote Desktop support in Windows XP and Terminal Services support.
    * Fast User Switching support in Windows XP (Standalone and Domain Mode)
    * Configurable Windows 2000 or Windows XP security behavior (Runs Task Manager                              on Ctrl-Alt-Del)
    * Screen Rotation support
    * Windows XP Password Reset Wizard support.
    * No DLL hacking required. Safe even after Service Pack upgrades.
    * Built-in 'recovery mode'.

Check out the Webpage, which has a neat little flash that displays the logons in action.  smile.gif

After installing this, try out Flahorn's Skin for FrontMotion called Energy Milestone 1

Author's instructions to install:
How to install:
1.Download and instal FrontMotion Login
2.Unpack logon to the folder "Program Files\FrontMotion Login\Themes"
3.Open Control Panel in the classic view
4.Click on the FrontMotion Login, choose "Energy[your screen resolution]"
5.Go to "Advanced" tab and check "Use FMLogon (reguires reboot)"
6.Restart your Windows

Seems cool! what is the min specs of using this patch? huh.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 25 2007, 01:19 AM

9,257 posts

I tried the tooltip thingy on my campus computer, damn cool thumbup.gif
nice tutorial btw. nod.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 1 2007, 10:27 PM

9,257 posts

Eh did you guys noticed that the tooltip thingy can 3d flip to the left side when you press Ctrl and Alt? or it's just me? unsure.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 2 2007, 09:59 PM

9,257 posts

Oh I see... I was like eh? How come can turn one... laugh.gif
Nice feature leh...
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 3 2007, 10:09 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(CBC888 @ Apr 3 2007, 02:08 AM)
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but...  did you actually use/install VTP 6.0, or did you manually install each feature/component - as outlined in Post #2?

I would like to achieve as complete and close as possible a look and feel as Vista, without incurring any of the potential bugs and/or performance issues associated with VTP.  If I follow the steps that you outlined in Post #2 (listed below) for advanced users and select the RECOMMENDED versions of each program/utility/add-on, would I end up with as complete an effect as with VTP?

- Windows Vista Misc Pack
- Windows Vista Icon Pack
- Windows Vista Logon Screen
- Windows Vista Visual Tooltip
- Windows Vista Flip 3D
- Windows Media Player 11
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 7
- Windows Vista Wallpaper
- Windows Vista Sidebar (The REAL sidebar from Microsoft)
- Windows Vista System Infomation (right click My Computer > Properties)
- WindowBlinds 5 Enhanced skins
- Vista Startmenu Emulator RC2 for XP
- Vista Startmenu Button
- Vista Sidebar Styler

Thanks in advance!
By following the post, I seriously think that it should be very similar to Vista's GUI. nod.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 9 2007, 02:46 PM

9,257 posts

Hmm, the advance start menu was buggy... Sad... If not it's nice. sad.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 10 2007, 10:01 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(CBC888 @ Apr 9 2007, 11:27 PM)
Yes, I had it enabled on Windows start up.  sniper69 offered a good alternative...
Thanks for the suggestion...  I gave Visual Task Tips a try and it has been very stable so far!  I think it may have even fixed a related problem that was probably caused by Visual Tooltip.  It is not as fancy as Visual Tooltip and it doesn't offer options for customization, but it gets the job done with stability - PLUS:

- As you pointed out, the thumbnails are updated real time (unlike Visual Tooltip)!
- It provides thumbnails even for minimized windows (unlike Visual Tooltip)!
- Although (as you pointed out) it does not show running videos, neither does Visual Tooltip.

Thanks again!
Seems interesting I'mma change it right now. brows.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 11 2007, 06:26 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Apr 10 2007, 11:44 PM)
6MB shouldn't be a burden right biggrin.gif...
Also, I just found out that the moment you scroll on the thumbnail you can control the size of it... doh.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 14 2007, 02:12 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Apr 13 2007, 09:32 PM)
i dun quite understand how to replace boot screen..says there rename the image to ntoskrnl n then put back to system 32 fplder...tried it but nothing happened  shakehead.gif
Do it in safe mode. If you do it in normal mode WPF will replace it back with the original one.
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 15 2007, 06:59 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Apr 15 2007, 04:36 AM)
some sites said bootskin is (arguably) boot faster than then default one as it only takes few hundred KB to boot as compare to few MB on windows default (including ntoskrnl.exe). i'm using bootskin btw.
So, the difference in size really matters when it comes to cold boot? unsure.gif unsure.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 17 2007, 03:20 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Apr 17 2007, 02:43 PM)
no idea, i use it for the sake of many attractive choices blush.gif
use other themes, if i'm not mistake, the theme u mentioned is preset
Lol ok ok.. As my friend was asking the same thing. flex.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 21 2007, 09:21 PM

9,257 posts

It seemed to change the start menu... Cool. wink.gif
Will try.
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 23 2007, 11:24 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Apr 21 2007, 09:34 PM)
Guys, I found another goodie of the day... I'm sure a lot of you are looking for this.

Flip 3D for Windows XP

LINK: http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/48740848/
*Note*
Please read the comments section in the link to get a clearer idea of what it really is  ph34r.gif
It's the same from OtakuSoftware ph34r.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 23 2007, 06:03 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Apr 23 2007, 01:45 PM)
inside the link already stated from otaku  doh.gif
I'm just stating it what doh.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post May 17 2007, 11:01 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ May 16 2007, 01:01 PM)
OMG! OMG! OMG!

I found a fully functional Vista Start Menu!!!

Vista Start Menu Beta

LINK: http://www.windowsxlive.net/?p=817
It works great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ZOMG Had to test this on my friend's comp. Thx for da heads up. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(CuteSniper22 @ May 17 2007, 10:19 PM)
If customize Windows XP desktop to windows Vista by installing Vista Transformation Pack 6.0, will this cause pc consume more cpu usage and eletricity due to vista interface.
It will, if you're on an ancient rig. laugh.gif
And I never knew that using the skin will cause a fluctuation in electricity lol laugh.gif xD
eXPeri3nc3
post Oct 5 2007, 09:24 AM

9,257 posts

Found this file on my university computer, and it's cool! Try it.

http://winflip.stylekings.de/

It's resource friendly too! damn nice.
eXPeri3nc3
post Dec 12 2007, 10:41 AM

9,257 posts

Vista Inspirat FTW if you ask me.

0.0302sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:23 PM