Car tinted film UV400

TSMonkeyShoulder
post Apr 1 2017, 10:27 AM, updated 9y ago

Guys, i dont know this is some good tinted or just a gimmick saying that it deflect all UV400 from sun.....i wanna install a normal IR film, they recommend me UV400 and saying that its better... Any suggestions guys?
Hossain
post Jul 19 2017, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(MonkeyShoulder @ Apr 1 2017, 11:27 AM)
Guys, i dont know this is some good tinted or just a gimmick  saying that it deflect  all UV400 from sun.....i wanna install a normal IR film, they recommend  me UV400 and saying that its better... Any suggestions  guys?
Yes, UV400 tinted film can block more UV than IR films. You can check these links...
http://uv400.com/2017/05/04/uv400-window-film-technology/
http://sunbarrier.com.my/index.php/sun-bar.../uv400-featureswww.sunbarrier.com.my
lsm1991
post Jul 19 2017, 10:06 AM

309 posts

Yeah........ if you ask me, I would (at this moment) take that with a pinch of salt?? unless anyone ELSE can confirm....

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jul 19 2017, 10:06 AM
jfcheong
post Jul 19 2017, 11:31 AM

44 posts

I am using this on my front windscreen, the heat rejection so far so good, comparable or less than those branded. No comment on the UV blockage as it required equipment to test on it.
One thg I dont like is the tint a bit blue-ish under the sun light, can feel like foggy foggy while driving, huge comparison with my side window which is on Huper Optik.
Overall satisfied with the price and quality.
TSMonkeyShoulder
post Jul 19 2017, 01:56 PM

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jul 19 2017, 11:31 AM)
I am using this on my front windscreen, the heat rejection so far so good, comparable or less than those branded. No comment on the UV blockage as it required equipment to test on it.
One thg I dont like is the tint a bit blue-ish under the sun light, can feel like foggy foggy while driving, huge comparison with my side window which is on Huper Optik.
Overall satisfied with the price and quality.
Yah...mine feeel abit purple under extreme bright sun...heat reject so far okok...
jfcheong
post Jul 19 2017, 02:40 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(MonkeyShoulder @ Jul 19 2017, 01:56 PM)
Yah...mine feeel abit purple under extreme bright sun...heat reject so far okok...
Thinking to add on another layer to darken the color
TSMonkeyShoulder
post Jul 19 2017, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jul 19 2017, 02:40 PM)
Thinking to add on another layer to darken the color
Later warranty void bro....
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Jul 19 2017, 03:20 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

Thickness: 2mil
VLT: 68%
IR Rejection: 65% (1400nm)
UV Rejection: 100% (UV400)
TSER: 40%

Look at the figures not really good. Regarding the UV, normal car tint film have 99% too.

The Sunlight Heat for UV only consist few percent, even block 100% wont contribute much on the total heat rejection
jfcheong
post Jul 19 2017, 03:21 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(MonkeyShoulder @ Jul 19 2017, 03:02 PM)
Later warranty void bro....
Thats y thinking only.. haha
Wait few more months later, if the tint no problem, den only go tambah
Really hate that blue-ish color
Zot
post Jul 19 2017, 03:28 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Jul 19 2017, 03:20 PM)

Look at the figures not really good. Regarding the UV, normal car tint film have 99% too.

The Sunlight Heat for UV only consist few percent, even block 100% wont contribute much on the total heat rejection
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jul 19 2017, 03:21 PM)
Like the spec given, the heat rejection is not good. UV light is not big concern. It will fade or age interior but the heat rejection you must look for TSER (Total Solar Energy Rejection). The solar heat is more from IR and visible light spectrum side. The TSER of 40% is common. The ceramic tint has TSER of around 60%. The problem is some is so good at filtering IR that you cannot use Smart Tag through windscreen sad.gif
chris11
post Jul 19 2017, 03:32 PM

68 posts

wan to have better price for vkool tinted?
i can PM u my SA number, i just tinted yesterday and feel so good.
highly recommend my SA service
TSMonkeyShoulder
post Jul 19 2017, 05:39 PM

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Jul 19 2017, 03:20 PM)

The ir is not really high ,but if ur film made in US....your ir would last longer.... Usually US film dont manufacture high ir film.....for example....US film ir usually around 50-70,but years later it may just drop abit.....for korea,china,india film....comes with high ir 80-99 %...months later may drop alot .....mayb drop to 50 or 60 only....
TSMonkeyShoulder
post Jul 19 2017, 05:43 PM

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jul 19 2017, 03:21 PM)
Ibwould say Pro and con lah bro...if add another layer film.... Initially ur car windscreen become safety film....for example.now u apply 2mil...later ubadd on another 2mil....total 4 mil....safety film d .....thats good la...con is both film sure no warranty d lor....if u apply second layer and suddenly bubble or blue wanna claim warranty i think cannot d....sometimes depend on shop owner also la...lol
constant_weight
post Jul 19 2017, 08:59 PM

916 posts

If you search UV400, there are many brands carry the UV400 tinted films on the market. I believe they are R&D and manufactured by this company below. The local brands partner, import, and rebrand the film and provide customer support.

Looks like some proper designed product, with patent in China and globally. Not the cheapo China dye film. But in the end, I still gave up and go for famous brand.

http://www.purpletech.cn/index.php/default/index/lang/en
http://purpletech.cn.ningboexport.com/jesu...purpletech.html
ayamxxx
post Sep 18 2018, 01:44 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(umangbajik @ Sep 18 2018, 10:11 AM)
You guys may check this out
http://uv400.com/product/majestic-black-509/

UV400 window film not only blocking 100% of UV rays but also it has high IR (heat) rejection.
For example this tinted film model:
MAJESTIC BLACK 509
SPECIFICATIONS: Black
Thickness: 3mil
VLT: 50%
IR Rejection: 90% (1400nm) (heat)
TSER: 67%
How to verified the spec if true. Cz even the top brand only have the Tser around 55% when its IRR% is 95%. Some like 3M have 99% IRR. Somemore this new brand is not having low VLT which to compensate the calculation for total TSER. So its kinda not true spec iinm. Price also cheap
Zot
post Sep 18 2018, 01:57 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(umangbajik @ Sep 18 2018, 10:11 AM)
You guys may check this out
http://uv400.com/product/majestic-black-509/

UV400 window film not only blocking 100% of UV rays but also it has high IR (heat) rejection.
For example this tinted film model:
MAJESTIC BLACK 509
VLT: 50%
IR Rejection: 90% (1400nm) (heat)
TSER: 67%
Number can be deceiving. Unless products are from certain country like the USA, the TSER number, IRR, and others do not adhere to any standard because there is no world standard on these. The US at least follow the country standard in measurement.

The IR rejection above which is 90% is measured at 1400nm. The word heat gives an impression that the heat is block. If you look at the chart below, the 1400nm or 1.4um wavelength is at visible light frequency but the heat transfer through IR is beyond human visibility.

Zot
post Sep 19 2018, 08:11 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(umangbajik @ Sep 18 2018, 06:01 PM)
I don't have much idea about the tinted specification.
But my friend using this UV400 brand film more than one year. So far he satisfied with the heat rejection, even after one year.
He suggested me so I am also thinking to use this film.
You will not notice the degradation of film performance. I think last time I used V-Kool that came with the car also like that. When new, felt very cool but over the years you might have gotten used to it. I think it is getting hotter too. I guess no matter branded or not, all will suffer. It is a matter of faster or slower.

So, if you have to replace the tint after 2~3 years, it still cost you only RM1400 and has coverage of 5~6 years maybe biggrin.gif So, just give it a try wink.gif
Wu Yi Fan
post Sep 19 2018, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(umangbajik @ Sep 18 2018, 07:01 PM)
I don't have much idea about the tinted specification.
But my friend using this UV400 brand film more than one year. So far he satisfied with the heat rejection, even after one year.
He suggested me so I am also thinking to use this film.
Don't worry... I'm also using this brand UV400 tinted film more than 1 year. So far I feel everything good.
I think you can trust this brand...

http://uv400.com/product/majestic-black-309/

MAJESTIC BLACK 309
VLT: 30%
IR Rejection: 90% (1400nm)
TSER: 69%

0.0241sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled