wc_how
post Apr 6 2017, 11:21 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(monkeybeh @ Apr 6 2017, 10:23 AM)
Cannot confirm,
some officer say yes,
but some officer say u can subscribe to this as long you're in unifi area.
you can hear 10 diff story from 10 diff live chats
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
My company is installing the unifi. I asked the unifi contractor, and he said yes, he already received information about unifi lite. Support copper or fibre, depend area. Expected to launch end of the month. But he has no pricing detail.
wc_how
post Apr 7 2017, 01:00 PM

1,187 posts

Digi infinite (150) vs unifi lite (149 expected)
Advantage of digi.
Usually faster speed with 4G.
Unlimited call.
Mobility.
No contract.
Extra 5-10% discount for many credit card.

Disadvantage
Higher ping.
Congested may happen for some area.
1TB quota.
Block p2p.

With the above points, i find no reason to use unifi lite as my first option. I rather take the risk to test digi first, if it really not suitable to use at my area, i only sign 2 years contract with TM.

The competition for wireless are aggressive now. Lock down 2years with TM lossing many chance to get a better offer.
wc_how
post Apr 7 2017, 04:02 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Apr 7 2017, 03:53 PM)
Where did you get this 1TB quota?
Please refer to digi post. There were someone showing the digi system and it shown 999gb quota.

Edited: Someone goes thru 1tb and it reset the counter to 0. Seem truly unlimited.

This post has been edited by wc_how: Apr 7 2017, 06:16 PM
wc_how
post Apr 8 2017, 03:20 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 8 2017, 02:05 PM)
I hope so. As for now I would say Unifi Lite MAYBE only available at the main town area which is around 1.5KM from my taman because I saw there are two new huge cabinet that starts with 'V' code build up by TM that has been properly set up (but unsure whether it's running already or not) since end of last year. The box in front of my taman also got the 'BS V0001' code but it has been in operation since 2010. It was long time ago when Unifi just started their service hmm.gif BTW, do you know what the meaning of 'V' at the cabinet? Is that stands for VDSL or what? At the same time, I also saw many 'unfinished' black cable with yellow stripes underneath it (supposedly fiber that will be going to the street cabinet, perhaps?) hang in the telephone pole around my town.

Anyway, my places also got the full bar coverage for 4G LTE Yes, Celcom, Digi, Webe, Maxis, Umobile etc etc but in my opinion, nothing beats wired.  sad.gif
Wired just beat wireless in term of ping.
Other factors still variable.

wc_how
post Apr 13 2017, 02:42 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Apr 13 2017, 02:17 PM)
ehh, too technical for noob person like me  biggrin.gif

if i go Digi150, technically, what i will get and what i need to buy?

- use LTE DIgi150, how much per month, prepaid or postpaid?
- what gadget Digi will give?
- USB dongle how much? direct plug to computer? got bug?
- if tethering method, can I use back my current adsl modem? need buy new router? or buy new modem with sim card slot?
1. RM150 +6% = RM159.
2. Just a sim card.
3. You must get a 4G LTE modem to enjoy best performance.
Cheapest LTE USB modem below RM200. Price between RM150-350. You need router to share as wifi. Some older router which support USB can flash custom firmware to support the USB modem.
Alternatively can get a MIFI, or wireless gateway. Price from RM350-1000.
4. Depend on model.
wc_how
post Apr 13 2017, 02:55 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Apr 13 2017, 02:47 PM)
I tested the digi line with phone and it is not stable at my area. will it improve if I used the sim in LTE USB modem instead of phone? (the phone I tested with is a Note 5 which is 4g enabled)
From my experience, modem has better receiver/antenna than phone. Yes, most cases it will faster and stable than phone. BUT, it doesn't mean it meet your requirments or reach its best performance.
But don't worry is, most modem has external antenna slot, which allow you install a bigger antenna to improve stability and signal. If you said your speed & stability not good enough, please go for outdoor and test again. If outside is very good performance, antenna mostly will fix all your problem.

Finally, if your speed is nothing related to signal strength, that's mean your area is congested.

wc_how
post Apr 13 2017, 05:54 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Apr 13 2017, 05:06 PM)
thanks for replied, really new thing to learn. and these seem too technically to me. not cheap thought. i potentially might buy wrong device....

i think i wait for unifi lite, saw the price rm129
Actually nothing technical you need to settle too. Just say your requirements and budget, i could recommend you few models. Plug the sim card and use it.
The first thing is, you need make sure your area is in coverage.
wc_how
post Apr 13 2017, 05:58 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(froggyx @ Apr 13 2017, 05:39 PM)
Hi sifus..

wanna ask for the infinite 150...

Is the quota of 33 gb per day true??

If i get the plan and buy a moden router and share the connection as if my Home wifi will the speed decreased to 64k?Because i tried
a prepaid sim and as soon as i turn on mobile hotspot the connection turn to H+ not 4G.
Thank you in advance.
Infinite 150 is truely unlimited.
3G/4G on and off is a normal issue. But you can force 4G connection when use in modem. Just make sure you in coverage.
wc_how
post Apr 13 2017, 07:47 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(froggyx @ Apr 13 2017, 07:07 PM)
My area sometimes got 4G+ and sometimes 4G sometimes H+...if i move closer to window with handphoned it will be 4G+ and in the house its 4G or H+.is it normal?
Yes, digi indoor coverage not so good. Advise you put modem near window or use antenna and put outside.
wc_how
post Apr 13 2017, 07:59 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(froggyx @ Apr 13 2017, 07:49 PM)
This one good??
Don't really support mifi, convenience but not so stable than usb modem. But no usb modem support LTE-A yet. Most huawei also good modem.

wc_how
post Apr 13 2017, 10:29 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Apr 13 2017, 10:14 PM)
Just went to search for modem and realised so many different type of modem available .. may i kno what is the different ? I am at  11th floor and house area around 700 square feet only. Want to fully utilise the 4g capability with the digi infinite 150 plan.
Buy a modem first. If performance not so good only consider antenna.

wc_how
post Apr 14 2017, 11:25 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Apr 14 2017, 11:09 AM)
laugh.gif this becomes digi threat already.
Can't blame, if TM has good service, there is no such situation.
Even the cabling is ready, you may wait for year to install unifi.

Anyway, i suggest create another thread for digi inifite lol.
wc_how
post Apr 14 2017, 11:27 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Criss Malvory @ Apr 14 2017, 11:24 AM)
lucky i consulted with you if not i would spend 600 bucks on the tp link router

definitely going for the Huawei one.
Cheaper solution is using Webe if just for 1 device. (depend coverage)
* Another recommend for you.
wc_how
post Apr 15 2017, 11:45 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Apr 15 2017, 07:30 PM)
I'm a little worrying about the ping of Digi....and the signals too
5 years ago the only place in my home that can get a signal was the toilet,then I MNP to celcom
4G ping between 15-50. Average about 30. Slightly better than streamyx.
wc_how
post Apr 18 2017, 09:19 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Apr 18 2017, 07:47 PM)
open new thread start tsunami wave to topple tmnut unifi streamyx business laugh.gif  laugh.gif
If digi (or any other telco) offer similar speed and around same price with TM. I definitely will choose it. It is TM don't value and appreciate its customer. If other telco offer similar thing but customers do not support them, they are hard to survive in the market, yet the other competitors will follow.
wc_how
post Apr 19 2017, 05:13 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(GBH @ Apr 19 2017, 04:05 PM)
1gb a month..oh shit...who da hell gonna get this?
Some peoples abuse this plan @.@
wc_how
post Apr 19 2017, 05:39 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Apr 19 2017, 05:25 PM)
What in the world my taman didn't have Unifi Lite covered.
Other taman surroundings have already installed fibre optics, including my neighbouring taman.
I really need 5mbps upload speed instead of <512kbps Streamyx upload speed.
Digi indoor coverage showed blank to me...

Guest I'm stuck with Streamyx forever.
Your problem can be solved easily if outdoor has signal.
Put your modem near outside or buy an external antenna and put outside.
A good antenna can boost signal from nearly none to 70%.
wc_how
post Apr 19 2017, 06:29 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(mastermindsos @ Apr 19 2017, 06:10 PM)
I have checked external antenna, the cable is only 2m long.
That's very short if I want to put the antenna outside.
Got any idea?
Not recommend to increase the length, unless you buy very expensive and thick cable.

0.0759sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:52 PM