Unifi Lite 10Mbps, Newest ripoff by TM - Trolling Master

y561994
post May 17 2017, 09:46 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ May 17 2017, 05:36 PM)
Oh, so UNIFI Lite is using fiber cable lah, not copper cable as people claimed ? Then in future can upgrade to 30mbps or 50 mbps lah ?
Fiber and copper. Depends on ur location and the building u are in.
Highrise->mostly copper
Landed-> see whether ur location is covered under HSBB or SUBB.

Should be no problem for future upgrade. If within contract period I'm not sure.
y561994
post May 17 2017, 09:49 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 17 2017, 05:57 PM)
All the installation guides mention abt Entry Wall Box / Fiber Termination Box(FTB), but installer said no more using those. Yes the coil of black fiber is unsightly.
oh, will be much of a headache in the future for cable rework. I will try to get mine installed with FTB and see how installer says. They should coil the cable inside the house and hide them behind the desk/cabinet.
y561994
post May 17 2017, 09:51 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(monkeybeh @ May 17 2017, 06:01 PM)
If terminate Streamyx and change to Unifi,
(e.g my last bill charged for 01-30 May and i terminate on 20th)
Will TM refund the unused period?
Wont they just charge till the day u terminate? eg: charge from 01-20 May?
y561994
post May 17 2017, 10:07 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ May 17 2017, 06:07 PM)
Can some one please post pictures of what type of boxes and cables I can expect in a typical Unifi set up?
From outdoors to indoors.
1. Fiber cable coming from green Fiber Termination Point (on the ground) or white Fiber Termination Point (on the pole). Depends on ur location.
2. Fiber cable will terminate at a white Fiber Termination Box (FTB) outside of ur house.
3. Another internal fiber cable will continue from FTB to the Fiber Wall Socket (FWS) inside ur house.
4. One more thinner fiber cable will continue from FWS to the Broadband Termination Unit (BTU) (aka modem for ADSL users).
5. Phone will connect to the BTU with RJ11 cable for making calls. Residential Gateway (RG) (aka router) will connect to the BTU via RJ45.
6. Hypptv box (unavailable for Unfi Lite users) and ur PC/NAS/TV and stuff will connect to the RG.

Note: TM is not providing FTB anymore so the fiber cable from FIber Termination Point will go straight into the house and to the FWS.

Fiber Termination Point (on the ground): http://s1115.photobucket.com/user/gunblade...Unifi1.jpg.html
Fiber Termination Point (on the pole): http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y84/mx007/DSC00549.jpg
FTB: https://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-16/...-1294450521.jpg
FWS: http://i.imgur.com/jKD7B9u.jpg

All images taken from the web.
y561994
post May 17 2017, 10:53 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ May 17 2017, 10:25 PM)
Thanks!

I assume the last picture (FWS) shows the installer skipping the FTB and wiring the black cable direct from the pole to the FWS?
I not sure, dunno whether the fiber running from FTB to FWS is black or white blink.gif
y561994
post May 18 2017, 08:03 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 18 2017, 02:15 AM)
So confirm TM is not providing FTB anymore? Then don't need to complain to TM.
Im not too sure. But from what I notice so far no one is getting the FTB anymore. Will ask my installer about the current situation when he come.
y561994
post May 18 2017, 11:47 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(monkeybeh @ May 18 2017, 09:43 AM)
They're charging upfront. (From bill dated 1/5/17)

Tarikh Mula 01/05/2017
Tarikh Akhir 31/05/2017
Oh i see, didnt notice that till u tell. I think they might refund u and will be reflected in your next months bill? (So u pay less for your first month unifi bill)

Or maybe they will continue to provide streamyx until the very last day of ur bill? (eg: u can still use Streamyx even after u terminate till 30 May)
y561994
post May 18 2017, 12:06 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 18 2017, 08:48 AM)
My parent house has the FTB. Their distribution point is on the pole.

My is on the ground, but no FTB.
My new home also have the green distribution point on the ground, and house developer preinstalled fiber cable + Fiber Wall Socket (FWS) in the living room. No outdoor Fiber Termination Box (FTB) given. This is expected since fiber cable all buried underground till the living room, no need for fiber cable to go up the wall.

I am installing for my old home. Fiber cable will come from the Fiber Termination Point on the pole along the lorong behind my house.

If they pull the black outdoor fiber cable into the house, they got to remove the metal wire that support the cable right (for indoor use)? Cause i remember the metal wire that prevent the cable from excessive bending/ breaking is quite stiff.

And BTW, if the fiber cable break (indoor or outdoor due to rat, fox that walk on cable), whos responsible for the repair? TM or me?
y561994
post May 18 2017, 12:13 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(monkeybeh @ May 18 2017, 12:01 PM)
"Or maybe they will continue to provide streamyx until the very last day of ur bill? (eg: u can still use Streamyx even after u terminate till 30 May)"

Hell no TM will doing this. sweat.gif 

just confirmed with CS, they will send final bill (in Jun'17), if the amount is negative, they will issue cheque to us in 3 months, 3-freaking-month  shakehead.gif
Oh, thats what happen when I downgrade Astro. Removed sports pack on early March and the CS said I still get to watch sports channel till end of March cause the amount is already billed. Wasted $$ as I never tune to those channels even once for the entire month. mad.gif mad.gif

TM should just reflect those -ve charges in the bill and debit it from the Unifi bill. Such an inefficient way of billing customers. Is TM still issuing separate bill for phone line service and Unifi?
y561994
post May 18 2017, 12:20 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ May 18 2017, 11:06 AM)
Do you mean this white box? Every pole also got.
[attachmentid=8824515]

There is another box on the outside of your house wall.
No more this white box on the wall.

Edit: I may be wrong on the boxes.
Are these two boxes the same?
One is outside the house and the other is inside the house.
[attachmentid=8824549][attachmentid=8824550]
We are discussing about the white box on the wall outside the house (called Fiber Termination Box, FTB), not the inside one (called Fiber Wall Socket, FWS).

The box inside will surely be given by TM, if not there will be no place for the BTU (aka fiber modem) to plug in. laugh.gif

The box outside the house, FTB, that might ease future upgrade/ repair, is no longer provided during installation.
y561994
post May 18 2017, 12:21 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 18 2017, 09:40 AM)
last year November.
What location is ur parent's home?
y561994
post May 18 2017, 12:30 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(elmond @ May 18 2017, 12:08 PM)
FYI, this is my experience with CS and it's still not solve yet (still waiting my last streamyx bill)

1) you will get messy mytm account with streamyx & unifi
2) you suppose only get unifi bill from mytm
3) any extra payment will send thru cheque within 3 months.
4) after the last streamyx bill been generated, review it, if TM didn't terminate streamyx by date, make complaint
Having 2 separate accounts is the worst thing ever. Does it mean 2 mytm account == 2 email addresses? shakehead.gif

And im retaining my existing landline number for RM1. Will there be 2 separate bills? One RM1 bill and one Unifi bill delivered separately?
y561994
post May 18 2017, 01:30 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ May 18 2017, 01:17 PM)
So, which cable are we getting free and at what length?
How much do they charge for extra length?
Outside fiber cable always free unless u want do underground when u got pole. Inside house free 50m rj45/rj11, RM5 per meter if exceed the free 50m.
y561994
post May 18 2017, 02:11 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 18 2017, 01:33 PM)
But most installers will try all means to charge u unless it is a simple setup with all equipment placed at the same location. Print out a copy of the installation guide n show it to the installer upon dispute.
ya thats why im making sure they dont get any chance to charge me for extra installation.
y561994
post May 18 2017, 02:14 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ May 18 2017, 01:39 PM)
OK. That means I am in the right track.
One year ago, they don't provide the FTB outside the house.
The outdoor fiber cable (black colour) goes straight into the house and terminate in the FWS.

Looking at the FTB and the FWS, both function the same.
Outdoor fiber goes into the box and indoor fiber cable goes out to the BTU.
Ya, TM get to save lot of $$ by removing that. vmad.gif
y561994
post May 18 2017, 02:17 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 18 2017, 01:42 PM)
without the FTB, i think next time want to change location of the wifi router, maybe more troublesome rite? maybe need to relay cable all the from the distribution point?
yup, break one point on the cable = replace entire length from FWS to fiber termination point (on pole or ground), which means have to dig again if u have underground fiber cable. cry.gif $$$

Unless they can do fiber splicing or something to save the cable.
y561994
post May 18 2017, 02:32 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ May 18 2017, 01:55 PM)
If I am not mistaken, the black outdoor fiber will reach the first wall only.
They can drill a hole on that wall and terminate it on a FWS on the inside of that wall.
From this TM FWS to your preinstalled FWS, it will be the indoor fiber cable.
TM got provide one indoor fiber cable. Not sure what is the length. (7 or 8 m).
I changed mine.

If the outdoor fiber spoilt, TM responsible to repair it.
If the indoor fiber spoilt, then we have to change it ourselves.
Really? Do you mean some of the installer use FWS to replace the FTB? (So there will be 2 FWS?) Any charges for that?

Since now there will be only 1 single long fiber cable running from Fiber termination box outside (on the pole/ ground) all the way to the FWS, if the internal one breaks, do we have to pay for the whole length for replacement (since they are one long cable?) Not sure how they will calculate in this case... sweat.gif sweat.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0699sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:12 AM