Unifi Lite 10Mbps, Newest ripoff by TM - Trolling Master

westlife
post May 13 2017, 10:16 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(wilson025 @ May 12 2017, 11:21 PM)
here my unifi lite tp link ac 1200 from tm
This model is inferior to the archer c5v2.
westlife
post May 13 2017, 10:32 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(demonicslayer @ May 13 2017, 09:49 AM)
I am staying at Tmn Delima, which is covered by Unifi. However, a few roads especially those behind Maybank are not installed with fibre optic. I am staying there and even Leon told me he wasn't able to find my road, so he can't help me.
If there is no coverage of unifi, they need to install the green box at ur house area for u to subscribe. but it requires demand before they willl come to cover the area.
westlife
post May 13 2017, 10:33 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ May 13 2017, 09:59 AM)
4 minutes to be more exact. Yes it boots up like damn slow.
Acher c5v2 less than 1 min can boot up finish and internet is ready to be used.
westlife
post May 13 2017, 10:37 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(y561994 @ May 12 2017, 04:58 PM)
No competition = no improvement. Sit and relaks. But frankly speaking streamyx and adsl also nearing its death already la, so whats the point spending money on upgrading. Better spend that money on Unifi deployment. If spend too much money on Streamyx then Unifi users complain pulak. Imagine if they were to offer faster streamyx, they have to upgrade all the cabinets in malaysia. Why not spend the money and manpower on Unifi? Its more future proof.
Exactly, I think they should just increase the coverage for unifi.

For unifi lite if tap on existing streamyx infra, the speed and stability will not able to meet the needs eventually also especially for future proof.

There is also limitation of the infra that not all existing area that cannot support this unifi lite too. This explains why they dare not to officially announce it as eventually if ppl see the existence of such service but they cannot sign up, they are likely to make more noise. It is like "can see but cannot touch".

The demand for internet speed will only get higher.

10Mbps download and 5Mbps upload are enough for typical users now but may not for future.

This post has been edited by westlife: May 13 2017, 10:41 AM
westlife
post May 13 2017, 11:18 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ May 13 2017, 11:07 AM)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Broadband_Network
As originally proposed wired connections would have provided up to 100 Mbit/s, later increased to 1 Gbit/s; after the election of the Abbott government in 2013 this was downgraded to a minimum of 25 Mbit/s

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Openreach
In 2009, BT announced Openreach would connect 2.5 million British homes to the higher speed FTTP network service by 2012 and 25% of the UK. However, by the end of September 2015 only 250,000 homes were connected.[18] Instead, BT offered an 'FTTP on Demand' product,[19] but in January 2015, BT stopped taking orders for the on-demand product amid reports that customers were forced to wait over a year to be connected, whilst other orders 'failed' (were not connected).

Some developed nations were ambitious to provide FTTP but end up using VDSL2 due to the cost and demand.

Unifi Lite also use Fibre optic (IP) backbone and either Fibre Optic (FTTP) or existing copper line (VDSL2) at "last mile". So Unifi Lite don't use Streamyx infra till "last mile", otherwise you can use back the same phone number! Voice service at Unifi and Unifi Lite is in fact VOIP (Voice over Internet Protocol). Streamyx(ADSL) uses the frequency spectrum above the band used by voice telephone calls.

VDSL2 limit is not at 10mbps only so TM has rooms to double the speed to 20-25mbps (SUBB requirement) in 2019.

FTTP is more suitable at high density urban areas only such as Klang Valley (and Singapore, Hong Kong etc) as the people are more willing to pay for premium service.
In the end, even it is technical possible, it does not mean that tm may really opt for this option.

conclusion, if one's house is not coverage, it means no service still.
westlife
post May 13 2017, 12:32 PM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ May 13 2017, 11:36 AM)
https://www.imoney.my/articles/no-more-slow-internet-by-2017
My friend, Rome wasn't built in a day. The HSBB2/SUBB would take 10 years from 2015, but most of the works will be completed by 2019 (when "double speed, half price" may happen due to capital investment). If your area is not covered after 2025, you are the very unfortunate few percent of population!

Even ADSL2+ download speed can reach 24Mbps (max technical limitatation) but TM never offers this streamyx service.
my Friend 2025 is Super Long wait still.

Exactly ADSL2+ can theoretically support higher speed but the max that TM has offered till today is 8Mbps and most importantly it is not even all areas can support. Reason is simple, attenuation of the line is too high for TM to even consider offering it. If they can offer, they should have offered it Long time. Not even need to look for other alternative to offer unifi lite. Same thing for unifi lite they can only offer such Low speed than theoretical it means there are much more technical limitation they cannot overcome. Same issue also not all area can support too.

My house is considered New 3 years++ I also stuck with slow streamyx 4Mbps for 2.5 years before I even get the unifi coverage at my house here. I am Glad that I am the lucky one still as I at least get it. Internet to me is very important at least I have decent Fiber connection to use.
westlife
post May 13 2017, 12:40 PM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(demonicslayer @ May 13 2017, 11:39 AM)
What kind of green box? I went to TMpoint and they told me not to bother to apply since the chances are slim. I kinda hate TM.
it is a green box terminal at resident side that allows connection to be pull from it to individual house for unifi connectivity. If u did not see the box it means ur house is not covered by unifi. For newer houses they are normally green boxes that can be seen in front of a house. One box can serve abt 8 houses, so not every house in front will have the green box but certain houses only but it is shared. For older houses, normally it will be at the pole behind houses. Both serve the same purpose.

if ur house got no coverage, no matter how many times u go to TM point the result will be the same. Ur area must be covered first. But to get it covered u need to have significant amount of ur Neighbours indicated interests to sign up only they will consider to install the infra at ur side.

If u request them to come to install also possible. I once got ask before one street needs to pay rm20k to get it done.

westlife
post May 14 2017, 07:56 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(y561994 @ May 13 2017, 11:30 PM)
Yup, as the demand gets higher and higher in the future fiber is the only way to go. If you were to pay the same amount of money to a person you would probably want him to work on expanding unifi coverage instead of upgrading streamyx infra. Common sense right.
yes, exactly, with the limitation of copper wire, that explains why they cannot offer this to every existing streamyx users even. Even streamyx they cannot even offer anywhere closer to the theoretical maximum speed, but instead limit to merely 4Mbps (for most places), it can tell that there are a lot of limitation they cannot overcome.

same goes to unifi lite, probably if one did not get unifi lite now it may not be a bad thing maybe, it could mean that probably TM has plan to have unifi covered instead of offering unifi lite as alternative probably.
westlife
post May 14 2017, 08:03 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ May 14 2017, 05:28 AM)
TM/developer don't provide copper network in some new commercial/housing areas, ie they will not allow you to get basic telephony and streamyx at your new house! Maybe one day they will stop Streamyx new signup at HSBB/HSBB2/SUBB areas (SingTel had stopped getting new ADSL customers). Hope the existing Streamyx customers and politicians don't bising bising, TM should retire/remove copper service in some areas, especially affluent areas at Klang Valley... but to the whole country, it will be long long time, maybe until ADSL is dead.
for new houses, yes it make sense to retire copper wired. since voip is the main stream now.

but for existing houses, they are likely to still keep offering both at the same time, as for HSBB areas, they do not even have enough ports for everyone, until they have it, they are sure to keep the ADSL still as ADSL to them is something 'existing' that do not require any investment on the infra anymore for profit.

westlife
post May 14 2017, 08:05 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ May 14 2017, 05:14 AM)
Copper at "last mile" only. Using existing copper lines at the street to cut cost. Unifi (including Lite) is using(Fubre) FTTH or VDSL2 (FTTC/FTTB) technology, different from Streamyx ADSL. So they don't really upgrade Streamyx infra, otherwise they could have launched Streamyx ADSL2+ 10/16/21 Mbps. Technically ADSL2+ can reach 24Mbps only, but VDSL2 can reach 100Mbps.
ADSL2+ can offer up to theoretical such speed, but TM did not offer it even till to date, in fact they could not even offer 8Mbps to all area, it shows that they could not overcome the limitation technically such as attenuation. if yes, by now, everyone on ADSL should have enjoy much higher speed instead of hopping for unifi lite.
westlife
post May 14 2017, 08:45 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ May 14 2017, 08:36 AM)
Till one day maintenance cost for ADSL becomes a burden. TM spent RM50m in a year to reinstate copper wiring due to theft.
possible.

but they will face issues too. because there are still many ppl using copper line no as the main no.

unless they can allow the same no to be ported over to the VoIP on unifi. else. they will face a lot of issues to even remove it.

there are quite a no of unifi users are still paying rm1 per month to keep the copper line just for this reason. and copper line telephone no has a big advantage over unifi voip no is that it does not require unifi BTU to be on in order to use. it is great for home alarm usage.

This post has been edited by westlife: May 14 2017, 08:47 AM
westlife
post May 14 2017, 09:34 AM

14,275 posts

According to Apple recommendation:

To stream content, we recommend a broadband Internet connection and these connection speeds:

8 Mbit/s or faster for 1080p HD (high definition) content
6 Mbit/s or faster for 720p content
2.5 Mbit/s or faster for SD (standard definition) content

which i find it quite sense making. as previously on 4Mbps streamyx, i can stream 1080p only with buffering.

A minimum of streamyx 8Mbps or Unifi 5Mbps better connection can only allow 1080p content to stream extremely smooth.

for those who are on streamyx lower than 8Mbps or Unifi 5Mbps are losing chance to enjoy a lot of free content on Internet.

This is why a good Internet connection is essential at home as it can really help one to save a lot of money on other entertainment expenses.

This post has been edited by westlife: May 14 2017, 09:35 AM
westlife
post May 14 2017, 10:44 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ May 14 2017, 09:37 AM)
The change will take time. Phone number issue could be solved if they want to, MNP or call forwarding is possible. New Alarm and CCTV use IP, existing Alarm and CCTV are becoming obsolete. Imagine, without old network,  they may have 1 exchange only for 30km radius (eg KL having 1 exchange and residents are free to get any KL number), they will kill a lot of existing exchange and convert the lands for other usages. A lot of friends here are more interested to get naked internet (no telephony) at cheaper price.
that's why like i said, given such complexity, it won't happen after long period time.

old alarm uses telephone line, and many many existing houses are using it, so it won't be so easy for TM to remove the infra so easily until all migrated. but given the spending power and mindset of majority of bolehland ppl, spending extra $$$ to migrate is not easy. as most of them will not upgrade for something that do the same thing but just paying extra especially migration maybe more than a simple task that requires wiring etc.

even unifi has much more benefits than ADSL, there are still household prefer to save the extra little $$ to remain in streamyx even the $ vs speed is more worthy on unifi.
westlife
post May 14 2017, 07:34 PM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ May 14 2017, 06:56 PM)
I lost my hope already for unifi lite when my father friend who work in the tmpoint said just now, they have no plan to upgrade the cabinet in front of my taman because it can support 8mb already. Instead, they only install the new cabinet on the area where many complaints received, and only 1-2mbps'able before.

My area? They will straightly give fiber unifi, but in the 5 years period due to not considered as low income area. 5 years? I doubt it. 8mb forever....
For those areas that have 8Mbps streamyx, a lot of cases, one will not get unifi coverage at least for the near future. This is the reason why they provide 8Mbps as alternative.

So actually if one's area has 4Mbps but not 8Mbps, it may not mean a bad thing as there is still chance for plan by tm to have unifi coverage.
westlife
post May 14 2017, 08:17 PM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ May 14 2017, 07:59 PM)
I don't put any hope for fiber unifi because my area should be fall under SUBB only, which only Unifi Lite will be supported by upgrading the existing DSLAM or installing the new one with the Huawei VDSL2 card.
The cabinet has been scattered all around my place, which I think more than 10 new cabinets has been set up since the last year with the code start with BS VC 5xxx. In fact, the said cabinet available less than 300M from the place where I live now (the opposite taman). How unlucky I am, my place is the pioneer for 8mb in my town, but I can't enjoy the recently launched unifi lite, instead they provide it to the area which can be considered as low cost and many 'kampung' available, Tm said this area before this can't even support 1Mb properly and there are many complaints about quality of service, cable theft etc etc received from the resident within the area of the new cabinets installed. Due to the recent budget announcement, TM straightly give them a new cabinet with VDSL card inside to help them to achieve high speed broadband. He even said I should be grateful because I've enjoyed 8mb for the past 4 years without any major problems (Which is true, my current 8mb served me really well and my line statistics also can be considered excellent). But I still feel they treat their loyal customer like rubbish! I've subscribe for their service for many years, from 512Kbps until 8Mb, but this is what I got! No improvement in the speed (read as UPLOAD) at all.  bangwall.gif
true. at least you got 8Mbps all the time which is a speed that is not excellent but can run 1080p video streaming with no problem. but the drawback is the upload speed which is bare minimum to upload photos etc ok to facebook. but to upload video etc, it is still very painful.
westlife
post May 17 2017, 08:52 PM

14,275 posts

for current unifi advance user (less than 2 years) and there is confirmed unifi lite coverage. can switch to unifi lite without penalty?
westlife
post May 18 2017, 08:48 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ May 18 2017, 08:19 AM)
One year ago when they installed my Unifi also no FTB outside the house.
The outdoor fiber cable (black colour) goes into the house FWS.
From the FWS, the indoor fiber cable (white colour) goes to the BTU (modem).
My parent house has the FTB. Their distribution point is on the pole.

My is on the ground, but no FTB.
westlife
post May 18 2017, 09:40 AM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 18 2017, 09:34 AM)
When was unifi installed at your parent's house?
last year November.
westlife
post May 18 2017, 01:41 PM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ May 18 2017, 11:06 AM)
Do you mean this white box? Every pole also got.
[attachmentid=8824515]

There is another box on the outside of your house wall.
No more this white box on the wall.

Edit: I may be wrong on the boxes.
Are these two boxes the same?
One is outside the house and the other is inside the house.
[attachmentid=8824549][attachmentid=8824550]
my parent house got the below two boxes.

unlike mine has only the last one.
westlife
post May 18 2017, 01:42 PM

14,275 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ May 18 2017, 01:39 PM)
OK. That means I am in the right track.
One year ago, they don't provide the FTB outside the house.
The outdoor fiber cable (black colour) goes straight into the house and terminate in the FWS.

Looking at the FTB and the FWS, both function the same.
Outdoor fiber goes into the box and indoor fiber cable goes out to the BTU.
without the FTB, i think next time want to change location of the wifi router, maybe more troublesome rite? maybe need to relay cable all the from the distribution point?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0635sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:27 PM