facebook ads, is it really effective?, need serious guidance

NightHeart
post Mar 31 2017, 11:14 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(J shao @ Mar 31 2017, 02:54 PM)
Hey /k,

wonder if any of you have got experience in advertising via fb channel before or not? Is it really effective in helping you to gain followers/likes?

Last week I tried advertising for my page and I only pay a slight rm50 per mth. I set the target group to be malaysians > selangor & KL > all three races > male & female > 31-40 yo.

Apparently, the result is, I gained about 50 likes/followers as well. However, upon accessing these people's demography, they seem suspiciously unmatched to the criterias i limit to. Most of them are not even from Malaysia to begin with. Damn doggy la wei! Whereas my friend's fb page (he paid about 250 usd a mth) gained 29k followers in just 5 mths time. Most of them appears to be legit users too.

Any senpai here can guide on how to use fb ads more effectively so money won't go into the drain? Is paying more means getting more quality result and vice versa?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Mainly Indonesians that liked your post right?
NightHeart
post Apr 1 2017, 02:23 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Apr 1 2017, 12:03 AM)
I started off without doing ads. My FB page used to have 700+ Organic likes gained by the people around me. And this took me almost 6 months.

Do note that I keep my FB page active all the time. I post photos almost every single day. But there's only a certain amount of people u can reach through your circle of friends.

No matter how I ask my clients to share my products, at most 10 Organic likes a day. It's time consuming and no effective tbh. biggrin.gif

For the past two weeks, I have been running ads on both product and page. It works like a charm with rm20 a day. I reach more than 10k person a day and gained more than 200 likes a day (Rm0.09 cost per page like)

If you have professional video ads, the ROI is even higher. I tried running video ads on my clients' page, the results and ROI were 20x higher than normal photo ads.
The main question is, among your 10k reach.....how many % of it is your target audience?

The main frustration is, we set a target audience profile before blasting out the ad but yet we get A LOT OF response from people that's totally off from the set profile. Hence the feeling of complete waste of advertising budget. I even felt like FB has "auto like bots" that auto like all the paid ads to earn money from advertisers.
NightHeart
post Apr 1 2017, 10:43 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Apr 1 2017, 09:00 AM)
Out of the 10k post reach, I got about 300+ engagement. This means that I have around 3% inquiry chance from the post reach.

Out of the 300+ engagement, about 20% of them do inquiry on my products. So basically I have about 50 inquiry a day. If I do ads biggrin.gif

Make sure your products attracts your target audience. Ask yourself or the people around you, will you/they like your post when they see it? Or simply just scroll down? If it's the latter, you have to work on your photo/your product. Otherwise, it's a complete waste of money. biggrin.gif
Well I guess it depends on many other factors too. My reach is usually 2k & 90% ended up to Indonesian & 0% engagement or inquiry.

QUOTE(J shao @ Apr 1 2017, 09:46 AM)
Exactly my friend 😂
After a few rounds, felt like wasting money only. My posts are 100% English, it's factual & informative in nature, no elements of funny at all....yet I get Indonesian that doesn't have a single English word in their entire FB liking my post. As if FB has some sorta bot programs in some profile to auto-like all the paid advertisements.

I shifted my advertising offline, it worked like a charm....so I never look back at FB ads anymore. Probably the next online advertising I would consider would be on SEO. I think that would be more fruitful.

Also, I get more fruitful response (and sales) from participating in those FB support group or Buy/Sell group. Just need to spend time participating in their discussions.

This post has been edited by NightHeart: Apr 1 2017, 10:46 AM
NightHeart
post Apr 2 2017, 10:45 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(ciahcra @ Apr 1 2017, 05:41 PM)
So far so good for me. Been using it for almost 3 years. But it is becoming more expensive nowadays. So I'm starting to use other advertising avenues as well.
Yours is a restaurant, so just post nice pics & address enough already. People, irrespective of languages will just flock your restaurant as long as they're around the corner & got seduced by your food pics?

NightHeart
post Apr 2 2017, 11:00 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(ciahcra @ Apr 2 2017, 10:58 AM)
I run fbads for other stuff as well, not just for my restaurant.
Ahh ok, I thought just restaurant only. Just starting to feel certain industry might benefit better from FB ads.
NightHeart
post Apr 3 2017, 11:00 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Apr 3 2017, 02:20 AM)
this is my client pay :
rm 300-500 daily
Visitor 60-80 (click)
imagine how much they spend per annual
I'm more interested in how much margin they need to have in order to afford such marketing budget! laugh.gif

0.0143sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:51 AM