Tyre Reviews, What brand of tyres have you used?

SUSceo684
post Nov 1 2008, 01:31 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(cindygirl8888 @ Oct 30 2008, 12:10 AM)
hi to all the expert here,

I need help in choosing tyres for my cars. I totally have no idea which tyre to choose. for me save petrol and safety should be priority.
I have a wira 1.5 auto i think is using 175/70R13
and also
Kia sephia 195/55R-15 if i remember correct.

can anyone help to give some suggestion which tyres to choose and where to change. As for the wira i need to change all 4 tyres.

175/70/13 alot of brands to choose from.. pick well known ones eg michelin or bridgestone. if low budget then take falken or goodyear. avoid brands that start with letter S at all costs (eg Sxxx and Sxxxxxxxxxx) and also indon made tyres.. thai or msia or japan ones are ok

195/55/15.. falken 912 ~180/pc
SUSceo684
post Nov 2 2008, 01:29 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 1 2008, 11:24 PM)
avoid eagle nct5 as well... terrible tyres... no grip during wet... grip isnt any satisfying in dry though...  shakehead.gif
nct5 is non performance tyre lah bro.. laugh.gif but for local cheap tyre its one of the best d
SUSceo684
post Jun 28 2009, 02:26 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ronaldet @ Jun 28 2009, 02:23 PM)
i'm using bridgestone my 01 195/50/15 on my saga lmst....car is ski-ing when breakin at wet road....thread stil got half.....watz the best tyre for replacement?? BF goodrich geforce?? michelin pp2??michelin primacy LC?? or yokohama parada??
PP2 for serious driving, has a harder sidewall.
Parada for comfort tyre as it has a SOFT (LEMBAP) sidewall - not suitable for hard cornering.

Stuff I used to be able to do with PP2 became really really scary with Parada
SUSceo684
post Jun 28 2009, 02:43 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

BF-G also under michelin ma wink.gif

BF-G also not bad, tested before on fren's car.
SUSceo684
post Feb 9 2021, 09:47 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(boysrule @ Dec 18 2020, 01:18 AM)
Only after you changed all 4 will you feel the difference. Cc6 is terrible.. I’ve bad experience them and will never buy them again.
CC6 tread design only good for acoustic reduction but it collects or pools water from the tread design itself..the tried n true 4 deep longkang and tread blocks that is connected on both sides e.g. PS3/GYF1S/NE03 os the way to go for MY heavy rainfall. If use in super dry plave like miami then can use CC6 la.

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Dec 18 2020, 12:23 PM)
Change all of them will cost about rm900, I need to consider it haha
Safety first! If cost is a concern toyo NE03 also a good tyre for the price. Just make sure best tyres go to the rear.
SUSceo684
post Feb 10 2021, 12:15 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Feb 10 2021, 11:36 AM)
May I know how does NE03 compared to CC6 and XM2+? Like in term of grip, noise etc. Thanks
Dry grip of course cannot fight Primacy 3, but it is good enough for its price. Will be able to take bends faster than average slowpoke driver in KESAS exit bends, but don't expect to use it to full throttle performance level of PS3 lah.

Wet grip adequate, Primacy 3 slightly better/PS3 way better. Definitely better than CC6. With NE03, didn't recall ABS activate at the end of subang airport road (the sharp inverse ? bend near subang KTM end) wit NE03. NE03 traction A (same class as XM2 traction A), so it is not bad.

Noise wise CC6 is quieter, at the expense of wet grip, the treads are designed for acoustics reduction but sacrificed alot of wet grip because for that price point it is entry level pricing, you can't have everything and cheap. NE03 is not
noisy.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Feb 10 2021, 12:16 PM
SUSceo684
post Feb 10 2021, 10:45 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Feb 10 2021, 02:10 PM)
Thanks for those info, appreciate it. Do you think it is worth the money to also replace my front tyres which are only 1 year old with about 15000 km driven?
Too new to change although the fronts should be sround 70% remaining?
Would suggest to rotate the tyres around to even them out.

https://www.bridgestoneamericas.com/en/corp.../tire-rotation#
Follow ur car setup (front wheel drive or rear wheel drive); also this is assuming all tyres are same size..if u are using staggered setup ie diff frt and rear sizes like in bmw, may not be applicable)
SUSceo684
post Feb 15 2021, 01:27 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Feb 11 2021, 12:16 PM)
Do you know roughly how much they will pay for the old tyre?
They'll just pay scrap value (20-30 each), in my experience I did trade in 2pcs worn PS2 before (still got bit more life ~20% left to mark) for a free alignment job (contra lah) biggrin.gif
SUSceo684
post Feb 15 2021, 01:29 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Micky78 @ Feb 9 2021, 01:54 PM)
anyone use Kelly tyre (195-60-15) before.. any comment?
i was offer RM170 for 2 pc.
It sounds awfully cheap.. even silverstone also cannot beat this price
Is this fresh stock or very very old stock?
SUSceo684
post Feb 15 2021, 11:57 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 15 2021, 08:28 AM)
Bet it will awful on heavy rain 😂
It could be usable but wears off in one year (per my own exp with Goodride (not Goodyear)) - grip was ok but botak in a year. Hence not economical laugh.gif

0.0376sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:50 PM