132 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Tyre Reviews, What brand of tyres have you used?

ckae76
post Mar 18 2010, 12:34 PM

111 posts

Am going to change tyre soon...
Currently the 14" rims still using stock tyres which are GY GT3 175/65 R14
I feel it's kinda noisy

I want my next tyre to be quiet. Not sure which brand to go though...

the available brands for my tyre is as follow:
Continental CC1
GY NCT5
Michelin Energy XM1
Sime AStar 100
Yokohama AA01

dunno which brand can provide me a quiet and comfortable drive...
please help biggrin.gif
michael9413
post Mar 18 2010, 01:38 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

Continental CC1 - Skip this.... i had 1 now but have bulging problem after 4 months use...
GY NCT5 - Wet traction fade drastically after 50% used...
Michelin Energy XM1 - Nice comfort and quiet but some ppl complaint it grip in corner not really good
Sime AStar 100 - Traction for this tire is not good after sometime of use
Yokohama AA01 - Nice tire with all round performance but it is not that quiet and also comfort for some ppl...

i recommend u to change to 185/60 R14 which u can get Falken 912 also... where it is all round tire with good feedback and of course nice pricing also, but it down side is u need to monitor it's tire pressure coz if it is not properly inflated it's side thread will wear off quite easily... smile.gif

ckae76
post Mar 19 2010, 02:40 PM

111 posts

I dun really mind the grip actually...
For me to be using one of the cheapest tyre in GY... which is GT3, I feel the grip is okay for me as I dun really drive that fast... so far the emergency brakes I make, still manage to stop the car in time. Cornering I always slow down my car. The only concern now is the noise level.

So if only focusing on comfort and quietness, which tyre should I look for??
michael9413
post Mar 19 2010, 03:52 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

what size are you using or what car do you own???

grip is very important especially when you are in wet... once u slip u cannot help at all
ckae76
post Mar 20 2010, 01:29 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 19 2010, 03:52 PM)
what size are you using or what car do you own???

grip is very important especially when you are in wet... once u slip u cannot help at all
It's a Vios
GY GT3 175/65 R14
If it's raining, I will drive slowly. Don't really feel slippery the way I drive.
michael9413
post Mar 20 2010, 05:56 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

haha... yea... drive it in the highway during downpour then different story... smile.gif
just becareful...
H.O.P.E
post Mar 22 2010, 10:05 AM

52 posts

Hi all sifu...... notworthy.gif

by following the post before there are some tires rated good from you guys.
example: BS RE001, BS ZIE912, Hankook V12, GY Eagle F1 GSD3, Mic PP2, YOKO S Drive.......
estimate will change all 4 tires in one shot around Aug ~ Oct.
currently ridding on Dunlop D 01 195/55/R15 on a Wira manual.
80 ~ 140km/h is my every day routine from cheras selatan to PJ jalan 222 and sometime i like to do some cornering as well.
which one suit me the best?? in term of the price...RM 180 ~ RM 220.

Added on March 22, 2010, 10:33 amOps!! typo error.

is Falken ZIE912

This post has been edited by H.O.P.E: Mar 22 2010, 10:33 AM
michael9413
post Mar 22 2010, 11:27 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

my comments on all the tires... and some base on reports and feedback that i heard...

BS RE001 - UHP Asymmetric Tire, a lil overpriced item here (RM250~RM300)... over all performance is quite ok, wet performance is ok but not up to PP2's standard...
Falken 912 - Comfort Asymmetric Tire (with a lil performance), reasonably priced (RM180~RM210)... good comfort tire with a lil performance feeling, but the down side is u need to check ur tire pressure constantly... it's shoulder thread tend to wear faster if the tire is under inflated...
Hankook V12 - UHP Directional tire, reasonably priced (RM180~RM220)... Good value with good performance, and it comes with a lil comfort too... it can beat numbers of competitor here as it's overall performance is good... it need a lil improvement on aquaplaning
GY GSD3 - Max Performance Directional Tire, price should be around RM250... great performance on dry or wet condition, but it is not that quiet though...
Michelin PP2 - UHP Asymmetric tire, a lil pricey for some ppl (RM200~RM250)... good performance over all in dry and wet, as it's aquaplaning resistance tip top in UHP class (travel in heavy rain over 100km/h no problem at all)... down side is the comfort level, where it's hard sidewall make the ride a lil harsh...
Yokohama S Drive - UHP Directional tire, a lil pricey for some ppl as well (RM240~RM280)... good performance in dry but need to improve in wet ... it's noise level not that quiet though...
**New Michelin PS3 - Extreme Performance Asymmetric tire, a lil pricey for some ppl (Promo period RM220~RM250, after that should be RM250 and above)... good dry and wet performance, comfort is not that good if you are on sport suspension setup... noise is acceptable for me...

well what is ur preference... D-01 is not that good actually most of the tire u listed is better than it except Falken 912 only... smile.gif
I used 195/55 R15 on my Vios and SEG... tires that i tried b4 is Michelin PP2 and Hankook V12 (now Michelin PS3) as i more into tires that rate 'AA' in traction, tire rate with only 'A' is not in my view eg. Dunlop D-01, Michelin Primacy LC, Falken 912, Silverstone blah blah blah... the worst BS MY-01 (can throw away since it was only rate 'B' only sweat.gif)
think urself... do you need a lil comfort? if a lil noisy ok for you? if yesin both i think Hankook V12 is the great buy since u prefer RM220 and below, BS RE001 and PP2 is good also but over RM220 budget already... if not GY GSD 3 (price should be over RM220) and Michelin PS3 (Promo price, RM230 PJ) is within ur look...

*Michelin PP2 and Michelin PS2 has been replaced by new Michelin PS3...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 22 2010, 11:34 AM
H.O.P.E
post Mar 22 2010, 11:44 AM

52 posts

Thanks a lot. mike.
think will make my way to Hankook V12. and Falken 912 will be the 2nd choice. will there b any new model coming out? Coz now is only Mar and planned to change on Aug ~ Oct.

michael9413
post Mar 22 2010, 12:28 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

duno yet but Hankook V12 is still new as it only available on early 2009 only... Michelin PS3 is the latest which is available only on March... so until that time it might has new tires on the rack also... hard to say... but for me Hankook V12 is the one budget and it is grippy... but for me aquaplaning is not that good thats y i change to PS3 after 1 yr on Vios, and V12 swap to my old SEG already as old PP2 on it is about to change also...
do not look down on Michelin's old looking thread, it's grip and aquaplaning is close comparable to those directional tire's performance... smile.gif
m|ng
post Mar 22 2010, 02:01 PM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

My reviews for a few.
Been using entry level tyres all these while only. so please bear with me.

1) Continental comfort contact - Useless tyre. Please stay away.

2) Nexen N3000 - Good and grippy. quiet and comfortable too. But compound hardens after 2 years of usage. Very slippery and no grip towards the 3rd year.

3) Michelin XM1 - Quiet (quite) and comfortable. I reckon its a bit over hyped and over promoted. Not so grippy around corners and be careful when its wet.
michael9413
post Mar 22 2010, 02:15 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yes XM1 not that grippy at corner especially in wet... straight line still ok...
all that is entry level so cannot demand too much lo...

CC1 has bulging problem and also bi-lateral offset... so skip that... has 1 set now still using it as the old toy is only for work and sometimes travel around Klang Valley only... i have another car for outstation which fitted better tire...

i think the best Comfort tire for 185/60 R14 that you can find is Falken 912 which is all rounder with comfort only cons is the side thread tend to wears faster if ur tire pressure is under inflated...
xmattx
post Mar 22 2010, 05:06 PM

63 posts

anyone has exprience with Maxxis tyres??
michael9413
post Mar 22 2010, 05:27 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

none of any one that i know of... what is ur size and budget???

xmattx
post Mar 22 2010, 05:53 PM

63 posts

my budjet is around 200+ for a tyre
and recommandation
michael9413
post Mar 22 2010, 06:00 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

what size la... bro...
NSX_MY
post Mar 24 2010, 10:48 AM

581 posts

how about falken 512? is it as good as 912 in terms of overall? i'm looking for quiet and comfort, low Fc and of coz reasonably grip.
WhitE LighteR
post Mar 24 2010, 12:04 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

i hear falken sux.. haha
michael9413
post Mar 24 2010, 12:08 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

912 still ok 3XX and 5XX sucks in wet...
cchin8888
post Mar 24 2010, 12:24 PM

362 posts

How about Yokohama C drive? Nice? will too noisy? got size 185/55/15?

132 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:33 AM