University A levels in Methodist College KL, yay or nay?

iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 12:36 AM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(SPM leaver 2k16 @ Mar 29 2017, 11:00 PM)
I've considered TARC too due to the price is cheaper. But my parents dont really recommend TARC because they said that the students speak mandarin all the time. They feel like I should improve my English so they chose MCKL. I dont understand about STPM tuition part. You mean I can go STPM tuition for A level subjects? Are they the same? I'm planning to take chemistry physics maths and further maths
MCKL is a heavily english speaking community, maybe or that was due to my batch.
That's the reason I came here tho, but yet still "rojak" with English and Chinese a lot.
Some of the lecturers doesn't speak fluently tho. One particular in the Physics Department. sweat.gif

Yes technically you can, as the STPM syllabus shared the same content information.
You must know how inflated prices are for Tuition for A-Levels, ranging RM 20-50/hour.
STPM Tuition is the cheapest you can afford on top of your college tuition fees, where as STPM they will always be "bundled packages" for a cheaper price.

Basically, what I'm hoping that, if you take A-Levels, please go for tuition for Mathematics (T) or Pure Mathematics, as most students struggles with this subject of Math.
(If you join May/July intake) Please join STPM Tuition as an earlier introduction to prepare well for Pure Mathematics 2&3, where your lecturer will be rushing to teach during your AS, while you might might be still struggling with Statistics or Pure Mathematics 1 past year, ignoring the importance of Pure Maths 2 & 3. (refer Option 2 in Diagram)

Application Mathematics like Statistics 2 is optional, but normally it will be your A2 subject, and your examinations for AS will include Statistics 1 but taught in Semester 3 of STPM.
Unless you plan to sit AS and A2 together in one sitting (refer Option 3 in Diagram)

Anyhow, for Science Stream students:

For Mathematics:

Normally it will be:

AS:
- Pure Mathematics 1
- Statistics 1

A2:
- Pure Mathematics 2 & 3
- Mechanics 1 (Science Stream) OR Statistics 2 (If you are in Art/Mixed Stream in MCKL)

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Anyhow, I don't really condemn you come and study here, as cost of living is high, and transport and parking here is a headache.
KTM and Monorail will have frequent break downs.

Life in TARC isn't that horrible despite the Chinese Community there, I heard tons of praise, about good and cheap food and accoms.

Do note that MCKL doesn't provide Tutorials Classes , where you solve question at home and bring them up to lessons to discuss.
So it is up to your lecturer to either prepare materials or past year for you to do. Else wise, do the horrible textbook questions that will never come out like some lecturers here do. doh.gif

Also a lot of colleges are hiring part time lecturers as they come as go at the end of the semester, if students gave bad reviews about them, or the lecturer left the college to another one.
What's more, some you see them having a respectful "Dr" PhD title, but can't really teach...

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 30 2017, 01:08 AM
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 12:51 AM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(SPM leaver 2k16 @ Mar 29 2017, 10:52 PM)
With my results I am offered with 100% tuition fee waiver from MCKL. I heard that STPM is harder than A level. My secondary school teachers also do not recommend STPM. I'm choosing A level other than foundation because I am still not sure what career pathway to go in the future. Do you have any other suggestion other than A level?
Good luck maintaining your results if you firmly decided to study here, in my batch I see tons of students lost their Merit Scholarship after their first semester, and can't regain the scholarship for the second semester.
Eventually end up in an emotional state of depression and lack of motivation to study.

If your results are good enough for MCKL 100% scholarship, might as well go for Sunway College or Taylor's.
Also that 100% Pastor Scholarship I saw really shake my head... shakehead.gif

Anyhow, STPM and A-level are both hard from the jump from SPM transition.
The reason why STPM is hard because they learn slightly more detailed than A-level students in terms of Maths and Chemistry content.
Some more if you school's Form 6 is shitty, where the teachers literally read from the textbook but can't explain, no point of even attending class. You can read on your own.
That's why most students eventually went to tuition.

And also the MPM board always never check and run through their question properly, especially those who took Chemistry.
Where errors and erata are filled everywhere, causing confusion and misleading students.
But there will be "two" sets of answers given to students tho.

STPM will be a better option if you aim for CGPA for 3.70 and above which is 3A and 1B, but most of you guys might not do STPM, because of the compulsory General Paper/Pengajian Am in Public School must be a firm Pass in order to get your Certificate.

But ask yourself can you write 2 "300 words BM factual essays" within an hour with 15 MCQs and a Sturcture Question? sweat.gif I certainly can't, that's why I opted for A-Levels

Benefits for STPM:
- Have more time management at home/tuition study, where classes 8AM to 2PM, most likely close to you, A-Level 8AM to 4-5PM, if you travel by public transport, your life will be miserable.
- Don't need to focus of CCAs, if you ain't planning to study IPTA and Medic courses in IPTA, as long you have a good enough attendance with some competition certificate you are good to go.
- Paper 4: Coursework 20% of each subjects, are marked by teachers where they can ask your to improve certain criteria. So instant 20%.
- Able To Easily Retake Semester 1 and 2.

Unlike A-Levels, AS you have 3 papers for Sciences, if you want to retake AS, you need to redo all 3 papers, you can't just take 1 paper, and normally you retake with your A2. Which is very stressful.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anyhow, if you guys plan to do A-Levels, do consider STPM as a backup plan.
You can sit Term 1-3, after your A2 exams. No coursework required for private candidate except for Maths.
And no need to apply for General Paper (PA) if you don't plan to study IPTA.

For Science subjects
-> Paper 1 (term 1)
-> Paper 2 (term 2)
-> Paper 3 (term 3)
-> Paper 4 (thesis: research coursework) or Paper 5 : Written Lab Practical (Similar to A-level's Paper 3 and 5)

For Mathematics (T):
-> Paper 1 (term 1)
-> Paper 2 (term 2)
-> Paper 3 (term 3)
-> Paper 4 (compulsory coursework)

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 30 2017, 01:29 AM
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 01:28 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(SPM leaver 2k16 @ Mar 30 2017, 08:52 AM)
Hi may I know when did u enroll in MCKL?
July 2015

The intakes for 2015 were : Jan, March and July
I completed last year.
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 01:32 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(Karuo @ Mar 30 2017, 10:59 AM)
Environment is alright, hostel conditions from what I've seen is quite miserable + pricy. Lecturers are definitely not the best, but I guess its the same everywhere. If you have the money I guess go to Sunway/Taylors or smth. + It will be very difficult to maintain your 100%, I believe almost everyone in MCKL is holding some form of scholarship, so they have to make the tests unnecessarily tougher.

PS STPM is not harder than A-Levels, especially if you're looking to take further maths.
Further Mathematics was abolished in STPM since 2015 onwards sweat.gif
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 01:48 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Mar 30 2017, 11:59 AM)
I'm replying based on the son's A level at MCKL.

Its not the best but OK. He got 100% scholarship & no problem maintaining it .

He is now doing medicine .

I am sure you will be alright .
I thought you said you sent your 16 year old son to either Taylors or Sunway.
Anyhow, the two lecturers that I was given to my batch is either horrible or extremely weak in the familiar with the syllabus content.
The lecturers personally didn't run through the past years with us after each chapter. Only for me is one Chemistry Lecturer in my semester 2.

I do see they hired more new "lecturers", that they can teach professionally especially for Mathematics.
With slides instead of the conventional textbook method.
But that's only a part of the lecturer of the bunch teaching.
I'm consider quite "unfortunate" to met lecturers that don't give me proper homework and answering techniques to score well. shakehead.gif

But hope the good ones, they last long before they consider leaving.

Do note tho, Mata Pelajaran Umum (MPU) subjects are very pointless in MCKL. There will be Service Learning and Character Formation.
Which is compulsory in this college and a few other colleges like KYUEM, KBU, Taylors, Disted and etc.
The function of MPU, is for University only. After getting the MPU Subjects at Pre-U Level. It is used for as an exemption for the Mata Pelajaran Umum in University for certain units.
Somehow, the staffs here under the MPU Program are also very blurry about this issue. doh.gif

So, I'm not sure it is already included in the college tuition fees or not. So just attend and waste your study time on them. doh.gif
Service Learning - 20 hours of charity work in Semester 2;
Character Formation - do presentations on your "theme" based on MCKL's 12 core values and i.e. do some other programs like do a learning carnival for Myanmar children in Semester 1, if your lecturer is crappy.
If your lecturer was "fun" they ask you go do fun programs, like extreme sports, take a video, as your presentation.

The syllabus for these two Programs are not fixed and dependent on lecturers.

Only Sunway College and TARC College so far doesn't have these type of subject.

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 30 2017, 01:53 PM
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 04:31 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Mar 30 2017, 03:50 PM)
That's my second son  biggrin.gif

Now, On Sunway , they definitely have better lecturers. In fact, they have more lectures than MCKL , free lecture notes and a lot of past year revision. I can see him much more busier than my elder son when he was doing his A level .

However, I feel that much is still depends on oneself . The college can only help that much . Since TS can get full scholarship from MCKL, why not . Sunway or Taylor isn't cheap . I think I need to pay something like RM50k for the whole course although I did get some discount . My 2nd son is short of 1A+ to get full scholarship.
Yes. Taylor's and Sunway College isn't cheap. sweat.gif
But MCKL wise, you will meet tons of non-experience part timer lecturers.
Some might be really good, some might be really bad, and it is very luck dependent. sweat.gif
I do agree tho, Sunway College has the most abundant of study materials to focus on.
Some more they have proper tutorial classes to keep students on track.

Well, hopefully TS could apply for external scholarships for Sunway College or Taylor's.
Because most A-level colleges in Malaysia, hiring tons of part timer lecturers is a big issue. sweat.gif
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 09:14 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(SPM leaver 2k16 @ Mar 30 2017, 07:07 PM)
I'm fine with those MPU programme as I'm kinda an outgoing person. I'm just concern about the lecturers' quality. All of them are really that bad? like not even a single one is professional?
Is pretty much "Luck oriented".
You can tutuk however you like about your lecturer in their lecturer evaluation form in the end of Semester 1 and 2.
And hope there is a change of lecturer in the next Semester 2 and 3.

Upper Staff members and your lecturer will read through all of them.
But if the Department is lack of lecturers. Then I wish you luck, they normally won't switch lecturers.
You can complain head of A-Levels also can, but useless like most of us tried.
I was consider lucky to stuck with a lecturer for only a semester, that can't teach for Chemistry and swapped with a better one.

Also please do not consider MCKL as a "non-profit organisation", everything here requires you to pay.
And also please get the concept of your mind, and think that if they have the word "Methodist" it is a great school, a holy school of smart nerdy students.

I rather you spent less in TARC College with a lower expectation than MCKL. Because quality of life here for students are indeed very bad.
-------------------

My entire course costs me RM 31,511.80, this doesn't include my cost of living of transport fees and food, "sourcing for external resources for photocopied books". Which can already be roughly 1K for photocopy goods, and RM 3k for transport, and another RM 4k for food here in KL for the 18 months here.

Because in the end you might need to pay roughly about RM 8k extra for External Examination fees, "Academic Resource Fee", "Student Activities Fee" and even "Development Fee" that you don't technically get out of much with your money worth.

CONTENT RM
SEMESTER 1 8,900.00
SEMESTER 2 7,602.50
SEMESTER 3 8,609.30
AS EXAM 3,050.00
A2 EXAM 2,750.00
AS EXAM (RETAKE) 600.00
TOTAL 31,511.80

MCKL Breakdown Fee form

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 30 2017, 09:16 PM
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 09:19 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(SPM leaver 2k16 @ Mar 30 2017, 07:10 PM)
Is it possible to survive in A level by our own? Cause I feel like many STPM teachers are terrible too and it might be worse since we are not paying them. Is there any free tutorial video for A level online? I depend on these videos a lot in order to survive in SPM
They are, but it is most likely "proper" UK Boards like EdExcel, AQA, and OCR.
Where you will be very exhausted from finding these materials.
You won't normally find Cambridge content.

Singapore A-Level lectures are recorded and put online, but it is also quite luck dependent if you can find them.
It is literally a needle in the haystack of youtube videos.

If you are good enough for MCKL's A-Level 100% Scholarship, why not try TARC college instead?
They do offer Merit Scholarships.
It is indeed cheaper and you do not need to risk of losing it all when you accidentally "dropped" the 100% scholarship.

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 30 2017, 09:27 PM
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 09:25 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(GrimlockRYAN @ Mar 30 2017, 07:18 PM)
i think khan academy got.But then A-levels is to prep you before uni so i suppose you should become comfortable NOT being spoonfed?
I rather get a proper firm foundation in my A-Levels from spoonfeeding, and move onto university life instead to start suffer less.
Rather than suffer in A-Levels with a weak foundation, and continue suffering in University instead.

Spoonfeeding is still very common in Singapore A-Levels. Everything is printed out nicely for them to read and do.
Even "extra study materials" are inside the chapter notes with links to more extra reading.
Some more tutorials lessons are given there.

iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 09:35 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Mar 30 2017, 09:20 PM)
You may not believe , he didn't study much . All last minute thingy .

A few years back ....

I think you worried too much . On average , everyone get some "A" , based on their track record.

Just chill, you'll be fine . You won't go wrong with A level .
P/s . I have meet some of MCKL's lecturers during my elder's son time. What I can observe is that they are new , lack of experience no doubt BUT they are dedicated !!!!
When was your first son, studied again? Because the glory days of MCKL was their EdExcel A-Level days.
Which the final exams ended in Jan 2013, and they moved back to Cambridge Syllabus. hmm.gif

Because EdExcel A-Level was consider the easier board compared to Cambridge to a lot of teachers perspectives.

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 30 2017, 09:36 PM
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 09:56 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Mar 30 2017, 07:24 PM)
Dear TS, there are tons of students who had a great time at MCKL, and who are now doing quite well at university. There are also tons of students who did not feel that they belonged. It's hard to tell whether you'll thrive or not. Only time will tell. But you can always choose to make the best out of your experience if you try.

Since you are quite sure that STPM is not your cup of tea, and you'll be sponsored, I don't see why MCKL isn't a good option.

Regarding your concerns about resources to help you with A-Levels, please bear in mind that there are loads of study guides, textbooks, video tutorials, past year papers, examiner reports, syllabus, mark schemes, grade thresholds, and more to help you with your studies. Resources should be the last thing you need to worry about. The same cannot be said for STPM.

Note also that if you're willing to work on your own, lecturers don't play too much of a role. It's exactly like SPM; you'll be learning how the exam system works, and in the end you'll be tested on your exam taking skills. There's no magic involved, so don't worry.
Sorry maximR not every student here have capability to be non-lecturer dependent, like you and have the time for 2 years of A-levels.
Most of these colleges just offer a short 18 month program.

If the student are truly non-lecturer dependent, what for they even take A-Level in this first place and why not just suffer like those STPM students?
Do be minded, if the students knows how to find their study materials, and doesn't really need lecturer guidance, even going TARC as a cheaper option is better.
Might as well save a few bucks in RM ks?

Surely you haven't step into my footsteps on "limited time", and encounter financial crisis.
You will see my frustrations within MCKL, along with my coursemates who took the same subject as me.

Even if your lecturer is "dedicated" in helping students, but yet they can't pull out content to let students understand and learn. It's hopeless, when the student can't get up to pace.
It is really tough for the student itself, not every student doing A-Levels in a 18 month program, are willing to extend 6 months to self study for A2.
Especially going through the troubles for an A2 refund, and drag to the next year to be registered again.

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 30 2017, 10:05 PM
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 11:11 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Mar 30 2017, 10:22 PM)

I did the 18 month program. How did you arrive at the conclusion that I took the 2-year version?
TS is eligible for a full-tuition waiver. I'm quite confident that with enough work, she's able to maintain the scholarship. Also, she prefers the environment at MCKL over TARUC.
I did AS & A2 Math in my first year. I didn't start preparing until January, and the AS & A2 exams were in May. So your point about "limited time" is moot. Also, I took the papers as a private candidate; I didn't attend classes. What I'm trying to say here is there is no magic involved in preparing for A-Levels. Anybody can do well in the exam given enough effort. AS Math is mostly SPM Additional Math / Math. The novelty here is A2 Math, which, again, isn't rocket science. I'm countering your tendency towards making the process sound unimaginably difficult, when in reality, a reasonable amount of work will do the trick.

Also, I want to repeat that experiences differ according to the individual. You claim that you had a tough time there, but I have friends who thoroughly enjoyed their studies at MCKL, and are now doing very well. Of course, they were the independent type, and were capable of taking things in their own hands when they realised that their lecturers weren't up to par.

In fact, if one doesn't expect to be spoonfed, then there shouldn't be a problem at all if the lecturers suck. My Economics teacher would print out slides for us to read, and did not know how to engage the students. Nobody was interested, and we would skip classes every now and then. All of us pulled through with decent grades in the end. How did we do it? By looking at enough past years until we got the drift. The same applies to every subject in A Levels.

Merely having studied at MCKL does not give you the final say; just because you had a difficult time, doesn't mean others should.
Sorry, I thought you self studied your way through as a private candidate, where I guessed you extended your A2 to the next exam session.
Yes, TS is eligible for the 100% tuition waiver, but don't mean she could really maintained it through two semesters, if TS have a rough start in college her 100% will be instant *poof*, bye bye no more, where she have to pay.

If her foundation isn't strong in a subject, it will lead to a down fall for her other subjects.
She later will only get "decent" strings of Bs and Cs. Not A*s and As.
And also most students who are on 100% scholarship really need to fight it off in the end of Semester Exams.

MCKL Semester Exams are not easy, literally, where the college, pick questions from Cambridge-Singapore A-Level's H2, A-Level Singapore Prelims Trials papers, OCR, AQA boards, with luck only some Cambridge Questions came out. Some of them which requires more intense thinking, time for dissection of questions and answering them.

The only headache moment is that you see lecturers here came out with their own question, where the questions set are wrong, giving students misleading information to answer them.
This bad quality questions does affect the student's results and ultimately their CGPA.
It did happened for Trials for me.

Yes I do agree with you, my recent bad experience, doesn't translate to current and future students of MCKL.
In short, MCKL could be a great place for some, and a nightmare for others.
It is based on students expectations and their way of handling the issue.
But for my experience here, it is not worth the price I pay for, based on my own opinion.

Hence, I wish TS could consider properly in picking a college and try to listen out other students reviews in regards on any college.
Please seek help on the confession pages for A-Level Colleges.

And do factor in "Quality of Life" and "Cost of Living" in your studies. If your study life is "really dry" all study and no play.
You will end of totally miserable and find yourself in a deep corner of depression and frustration in A-levels.

Because it is not fun waking up 5AM in the morning ending up in a cramp train as a public transport, and reaching home after college at 6 PM.
Where you are fatigue and tired, and don't seek any motivation to move on.
Do try proper friends in college as well, that does "healthy activities" because I was kind of a lone ranger.
Because my classmates was mostly girls, I don't have common topics with girls besides studies. And the guys coursemates here are limited, and they in my class are most likely hopeless party alcoholic goers who living the honeymoon life, and eventually screwed up their A-Levels badly.

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 30 2017, 11:19 PM
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 11:35 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(Green stage @ Mar 30 2017, 11:28 PM)
And for the MPU thing ,I quite enjoyed it la, and nobody can study all the time also.
Who's MPU Class you were even in for Character Formation? sweat.gif
I know Mr Yoshua's class was very fun. Compared to Mr Michael's

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 30 2017, 11:43 PM
iSean
post Mar 30 2017, 11:38 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(Only a woman @ Mar 30 2017, 11:34 PM)
hi do you need straight A  in order to get 100% tuition waiver fee? You got straight A i n ur SPM?

MCKL's scholarship only covers Tuition Fees. Other fees are not covered. Please refer to my previous "spoiler" for breakdown of other compulsory fees.

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 30 2017, 11:39 PM
iSean
post Mar 31 2017, 12:13 AM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(Green stage @ Mar 31 2017, 12:04 AM)
Mr Yoshua haha
So you guys didnt do the things something like out of yr comfort zone ?
Nope, not at all, that's why I felt miserable in MCKL.
That's why my quality of life in MCKL for me was horrible. shakehead.gif

Mr Michael's class, we need to do a boring presentation on MCKL 12 core values found in your student handbook, also when your project mates failed to do presentation and disband the group. bangwall.gif
Then the charity fund, where we need to skip classes to do earn funds to build a stupid Christmas tree then the charity program for those Myanmar children. doh.gif
I see all are unnecessary work labour, because I was struggling with all my subjects, I have no time to deal with these "labour" stuff even with Semester 1.

If it was Mr Yoshua, I might consider to put my heart through in his programs.

I'm consider very "happy" I got a pass for Character Formation, with all those mishaps happened to my presentation.

For the 12 hour Service Learning, I didn't really bothered, and failed it because my friends and I came up with a wrong project of service learning... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 31 2017, 12:21 AM
iSean
post Mar 31 2017, 12:19 AM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(Testt @ Mar 31 2017, 12:09 AM)
Mr.Michael left MCKL recently

Mr Troy, head of econs also left.
Mr Michael Moey? The CEO's little brother o? That teaches Law.
Mr Michael of the Student Service Department was the one who left isn't it?

My Troy I know left.
My Azahar, Eng Lit. left because conflict with students

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 31 2017, 12:19 AM
iSean
post Mar 31 2017, 12:33 AM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(Green stage @ Mar 31 2017, 12:24 AM)
Feeling sad for you sweat.gif
Btw I didnt receive any cert for MPU , it looks like not important to attend it also haiz confused.gif
Series of unlucky event for M class lah. How I wish they did not mixed up my entry and applied me to S2 or S3. doh.gif
Go to MCKL Registrar's ask for Full Transcript and MPU Transcript.
You will know your results if you passed or failed or not.

Anyhow did you get the notification from MCKL to apply for RM 250 Kad Siswa? Today's the last day you know?
https://bppt.bankrakyat.com.my/

Register Unversity name under Methodist College Kuala Lumpur
If you got approved please head to MCKL Finance Department to make a RM 50 deposit to claim back your student ID.
And go to Bank Rakyat to take your Kad Debit Siswa.

http://kadsiswa.1pengguna.com/kads1m/

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 31 2017, 12:44 AM
iSean
post Mar 31 2017, 12:50 AM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(Green stage @ Mar 31 2017, 12:48 AM)
I heard some unlucky thing also for M class haha, it would be better if in S2 and S3, but they face some problem also sweat.gif

I received an email abt the card from MCKL but I just ignore it haha. I thought the card is a debit card ? Like need to open an account in BankRakyat ?
Very very unlucky things. doh.gif
Anyhow, is over now.

Yes it is a RM 250 debit card replacement for the RM 250 voucher. Where you can spend it on what ever you like I heard. laugh.gif
Yes you are opening a bank rakyat account as well

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 31 2017, 12:51 AM
iSean
post Mar 31 2017, 01:00 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Mar 31 2017, 12:45 PM)
Don't you think you're making a mountain out of a molehill here? This is supposed to be TS's thread, not a "my painful experience thread".  sweat.gif  You're generating what seems to be mostly very personal, and specific anecdotes... More like how you cope with these things instead of the things themselves.

Since you have a lot to say about your A Level experience at MCKL, and you feel that your experience would benefit others, why not open a new thread? There can be more discussion and feedback that way.

Based on TS's SPM results, I'm sure she'll do well.
Yeah. Sorry about that.
I'm still writing that actually.
Will eventually post it out sometime in April.
iSean
post Apr 3 2017, 12:38 AM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(danny88888 @ Mar 31 2017, 01:46 PM)
Life is about give and take. I believe sometimes you will get good lecturers and sometimes you get bad lecturers.

This is the same at university. Mind you, most professors at university teaches and do research at the same time. You will meet professors that came up with great research papers but lack good teaching skills. Not only that, some professors even place a greater priority in their research paper rather than teaching.

At the end of the day, I still firmly believe lecturers/professors play only a small part in your success. You have got to be resourceful and work diligently.

@iSean Are you currently studying at any university?
Nope, waiting for May intake soon smile.gif
Anyhow, they might seem to play a small "insignificant" role in teaching.
But it will lead to a deep cascade effects to students in their understanding and study time.
A good lecturer really can smooth out those moments of helplessness in your own studies.

Anyhow, for A-levels in most private colleges you need to attend at 8am lectures to 4pm lectures.
In Klang Valley region you need to expect traffic jams, which might need to wake up at 5.30am, end at 4pm.
With CCAs some of them compulsory for your CGPA will even drag you to 5pm.
At best you only get back home at 6pm.

Reach home need to self discipline to motivate you through the mountain of homework, and past year questions.
If not you will have no motivation to push you through eventually your life is so dry up with no fuel to boost on any further.

0.0203sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:35 PM