Ban or suspended?, Need help

SUSjoblessnoob
post Mar 10 2007, 07:44 PM

99 posts

how much gold do yo have that blizard considered it as a lot?
myremi
post Mar 10 2007, 08:08 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(lilzany @ Mar 10 2007, 01:01 PM)
Well, if they suspect you of buying gold even when you farmed it yourself, you will still get suspended. My account was hacked and deleted the other time and when I asked for a character restore, they see the gold I have and immediately put a hold on it. I can't prove myself (and I have already quit for about 8 months. I told them my intention was to farm so I can buy the epic flying mount asap after TBC. But you know what, its just damn great that something I worked so hard disappeared just like that. They would reinstate my account immediately only if I agreed to a gold deduction sum. They are definitely testing the limits of my patience right now!
sad.gif make a big fuss about it then. but you'll need to sound convincing. no swearing or cursing but logical. I had a friend who got into the same situation and he had to literally throw a fit to get it back. I read the last email that reinstated his account. It was from the supervisor so somehow he managed to convince them to reinstate his account.

As for getting account hacked into, there's not much Blizz can do and a lot of times, unfortunately, they would depend on the player to take the necessary precautions to do so. As a player, we can't do much either. sad.gif

I'm trying to dig up a posting from a guildie on protecting oneself. Doesn't work if you're playing in a CC though.

QUOTE(joblessnoob @ Mar 10 2007, 07:44 PM)
how much gold do yo have that blizard considered it as a lot?
Less than 100 gold seems to be safe. that's the smallest amount that i've sent with no problems. Haven't said that, I've had friends who received warnings when they transfer money between bank alts and I've never had any problems so far.

Added on March 10, 2007, 8:20 pmLooking back at how it all went, his email to them was "I did nothing wrong and that Blizz has not provided evidence that I have done anything wrong".

The strange bit was that he was hack on a MAC and not a PC. In the end, he reformatted everything and I think has since banned his sister from using that computer. Something like that I think.

Here's some tips from another guildie. :
If your computer is connected via a DSL card/DSL modem with no firewall/nating.  Buy yourself a DSL router, with firewall, enable the firewall and block all incoming connections.  If you can't afford/find a DSL router with a firewall, get one with natting rules, and dissable all incoming NAT translations (The poor mans firewall).

Make sure you've got firewall software on your PC, then even if there is a open connection through your firewall router, the PC firewall should restrict the applications these IP Ports are allowed to use.

Current and updated anit virus and anti-spyware softare.

Make sure you OS, has the latest software updates and patchs.

NEVER play WoW at an Internet cafe.

NEVER lets others use your account, espiecally from other computers.

Chose a cyrptic password, and change it often.  Sometimes it's just a brute force attack that gets you.  e.g St4g%mOn75rS

Don't use WoW gold or leveling services - a lot of these a just outright scammers.

Don't click on links in WoW related forums, unless your very sure it's safe.  Some forums have exellent moderation, and squash scams fast.  Others are there just to scam you.  Infact be carefull of all the sites on the internet you visit.  Porn sites are infamous for install trojans, and spy-ware.

Don't use file sharing services such as Kazaa, thats just asking for trouble, espiecally if your downloading warez.

Be very carefull of the WoW mods you install, many of these now contain trojan key loggers.

There are very few actual skilled Hackers, the vast majority of people who do this stuff rely on toolkits developed by skilled hackers (Script kiddies).  So the will always go after the weekest targets.  Even a moderatly secure network, and some caution online will provide ample protection against 99.9% of the threats.

And make sure you backup you data.

Do some reading online on how to protect yourself, and keep up to date with the latest threats and scams.

After 10 years online, I've never been virused, trojaned or scammed. I may be paranoid, but a least I'm safe.
Think there's also a well-written posting somewhere in the LYN WoW forums about security as well. Can't remember where the posting was but there was a useful link to a KeyLogger Detection Program. That program took a fair chunk of memory though so if u're running a lot of addons already and limited RAM available, then you might rethink using it all the time.

This post has been edited by myremi: Mar 10 2007, 08:20 PM
SUSjoblessnoob
post Mar 11 2007, 02:58 AM

99 posts

When selling/buying gold its better to write sth on the mail cos the GM reads our mail when we transfer gold. For my case, i transfer 500g and my mail content is about selling gold for real cash, end up getting ban in 3 hours later.

So what i think is when seller/buyer give you his toon's name, add him as friend to check his level.
Maybe you can write something creative like Hi Sam, hope these gold helps you to level fast to 60. Wanna go for a drink tonight? <if the buyer character is lvl 10 or below>
Hi Sam, heard that you need to twink your gears for the raid, will borrow you these gold since its urgent. < if its a high lvl >
But make sure the guys you sent gold to know you're creating a drama to fool the GM.

If you mail title is "Hi" <add 1000 gold> + <send> or stupid like me write the trade details, theni think sure kena. These dam GM reads our mail.

Any pro gold seller who so far havent get caught mind to teach me how to transfer gold without getting ban?
Quazacolt
post Mar 11 2007, 03:33 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

just give up
onephatcow
post Mar 11 2007, 05:16 PM

I love how people buy/sell gold and then go "omg i got banned"

Imagine that! you do something against their EULA and TOS and then ask for strategy to get a suspension instead of a ban? Pffft no wonder Malaysian players get the short end of the stick from Blizzard
Goblinsk8er
post Mar 11 2007, 07:30 PM

306 posts

I don't get it why people are still buying gold.
I can easily get 150-200g min per day in the Outlands.

myremi
post Mar 12 2007, 07:38 AM

1,846 posts

he wants the mount? happy.gif

0.0134sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:18 AM