Ban or suspended?, Need help

SUSjoblessnoob
post Mar 9 2007, 04:45 AM, updated 19y ago

99 posts

To cut the story short, my friend borrow me a WOW account to play for a few month.

Being my 1st time playing i finally manage to collect 500 gold and i found a site that let me sell them.
So i send the 500g to the buyer, and being a 1st timer doing this gold trading i write the title of the mail as the billing number the site provided and the mail contents i wrote my details and money claimed. 3 hours later i got kicked out from game and it says " my account had been closed" .

Question:

Since the account is not mine i cant access the email to check why i get ban and for how long.

So is this a 72 hour suspension or a permanent ban? Anyway to check it without accesing the email?
If it really gets ban, how much does it cost for the CD key to register the account? ( i have the game ).
nhojeod
post Mar 9 2007, 05:15 AM

Ban.

Just go out and buy another copy. And don't do stupid stuff like that again.
SUSjoblessnoob
post Mar 9 2007, 05:19 AM

99 posts

any chance for a suspension?
1st offense though.
Then i need to buy 2 CD, 1 to pay back my friend and 1 to use it myself
myremi
post Mar 9 2007, 07:13 AM

1,846 posts

nope. still a ban. once u sell gold, that's it. if you bought gold, you might have been to negotiate for a suspension.

but selling gold for income, that's different. it's a ban.

if your friend had also be selling gold, blizz will most likely find out. they are tracing back gold farmers to their customers and banning them as well.

njeohed is right, get a new CD key and a new account if you want to play. price of CD key is online but depends on whether you're getting the normal version only or with the Burning Crusade. Can be 2 prices.

so, told your friend yet about his account suspension? happy.gif he's now going to monitored more closely if he were to get another account.
seen
post Mar 9 2007, 09:09 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(joblessnoob @ Mar 9 2007, 04:45 AM)
If it really gets ban, how much does it cost for the CD key to register the account? ( i have the game ).
You have to mean "an" account, most probably that account is frozen for good.

I think you should tell your friend what happened and ask him/her to check his/her email. Even if you're betting on it being a temporary ban, what if your friend committed a 2nd offence and then he/she finds out that you actually did something illegal with his/her account then? Honesty is the best policy, just come clean and face the music because YOU are to be blamed for this, there's no other way around it.

Good luck! And kudos to Blizzard for such a fast and effective response!
bazet
post Mar 9 2007, 09:20 AM

469 posts

Good lesson for n00b like me. I never pay attention to those ingame PM that offers Gold and powerlevelling

SUSjoblessnoob
post Mar 9 2007, 10:11 AM

99 posts

1 more question,
i make a trial account, still have 9 days left.
The maximum level for trial account is 20 days right?
So, if i input in the cd key on the trial account will it upgrade straight away or only after the 9 day trial meaning i'll be stuck at lvl 20 for 9 days?
Or will i get a 9 days+ 30 days gameplay?
myremi
post Mar 9 2007, 10:38 AM

1,846 posts

Once u input the key, your trial immediately ends. However, the key comes with 30-days subscription (I think).

I was getting fedup with trial accounts coz you can only do so much with it. So bought the game after the 5th day.

so, have you told your friend yet? happy.gif
SUSjoblessnoob
post Mar 9 2007, 11:03 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Mar 9 2007, 10:38 AM)
Once u input the key, your trial immediately ends. However, the key comes with 30-days subscription (I think).

I was getting fedup with trial accounts coz you can only do so much with it. So bought the game after the 5th day.

so, have you told your friend yet? happy.gif
yea, he said he will check whats the reason of the ban.
he havent reply my sms yet whether its a perm ban, if it is ill dig my angpow to buy him a new 1
Sashan
post Mar 9 2007, 11:12 AM

hah. dont forget you have to buy WoW and BC. that should only cost rm300 or so.

then you have to re level him to the level he was... grind his rep. replace his gear....unless he was in greens the nm la.

good luck!
myremi
post Mar 9 2007, 11:32 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(joblessnoob @ Mar 9 2007, 11:03 AM)
yea, he said he will check whats the reason of the ban.
he havent reply my sms yet whether its a perm ban, if it is ill dig my angpow to buy him a new 1
if your friend tells them that he lent his password to a friend, then the account will never ever get unbanned.

Quazacolt
post Mar 9 2007, 03:17 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

i know blizzard for being serious about cheaters and stuff, but i never knew them for being THIS serious, not to mention fast.

3 hours is all it takes to delete your character? gg i say lol
myremi
post Mar 9 2007, 03:30 PM

1,846 posts

yep they sure are. they ban my friend for buying gold but eventually reduce the ban to a 72 hr suspension instead. that was a lot of pleading.

some ppl couldn't be bothered to speak to blizzard again so they just create a new account.

seen
post Mar 9 2007, 03:40 PM

87 posts

Blizzard wasn't this serious in the begining. I remember in my previous server, we had lotsssss of chinese farmers and I know a lot of them by names. One day all of them just disappeared, not a SINGLE one of them ever came online again. I knew one of them pretty well, he owns a company in China where he would employ people (usually students) to farm for gold in shifts. He owns about 10 accounts and he forwarded the emails that Blizzard sent to him. At the end of the emails Blizzard said "Under no circumstances will this account be reactivated". So yeah, they are DEAD serious. Of course after that ban, prices major mana pots and travellers backpacks went up sky high sad.gif(
SUSjoblessnoob
post Mar 9 2007, 04:50 PM

99 posts

lol, its confirmed ban.
anyway whats the promotion thingy? free 1 month play? how does it work
pure_love1314
post Mar 9 2007, 08:44 PM

I feel for you man... I just had a friend who went through the same situation coz he sold some gold for US dollars too. His lvl 65 hunter... GONE.

It's sad, but justice has to be done.

Just too bad I guess, coz 1000g would give me 6 months worth of free WoW. I could continue playing like forever if it wasn't for Blizzard's strict policies. T_T
chaichai
post Mar 9 2007, 11:33 PM

Validating
66 posts

rclxms.gif u got served...
gg...

This post has been edited by chaichai: Mar 9 2007, 11:36 PM
slickz
post Mar 9 2007, 11:55 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

I can see why they would do that.... if they let this go through then a lot of the servers will be filled with farmers who don't contribute to the gaming experience, mobs would be scarce and you would have a hard time finding the mob you want for your quest.

I am (assuming) those farmers also wouldn't bother to play properly and don't socialize to minimize downtime, lesser people for LFG, server would become full fast and real players who want to play will have to enter queues more often.

Good for blizzard to enforce those rules.
SUSjoblessnoob
post Mar 10 2007, 01:16 AM

99 posts

Im wondering how do they catch us?
If i send 1000g via mail to the buyer, with the title "Hi" and empty content will i get ban?

So anyone sending gold to even friends will get ban?
lilzany
post Mar 10 2007, 01:01 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Mar 9 2007, 07:13 AM)
nope. still a ban. once u sell gold, that's it. if you bought gold, you might have been to negotiate for a suspension.

Well, if they suspect you of buying gold even when you farmed it yourself, you will still get suspended. My account was hacked and deleted the other time and when I asked for a character restore, they see the gold I have and immediately put a hold on it. I can't prove myself (and I have already quit for about 8 months. I told them my intention was to farm so I can buy the epic flying mount asap after TBC. But you know what, its just damn great that something I worked so hard disappeared just like that. They would reinstate my account immediately only if I agreed to a gold deduction sum. They are definitely testing the limits of my patience right now!

0.0185sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:26 AM