Buying Advice Hoya 55mm UV Filter for RM50?, Worth it or not?

TSkysham
post Mar 9 2007, 01:05 AM, updated 19y ago

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

One shop here in KK is offering me a Hoya UV filter 55mm for RM50. Can buy ah? Did search in KL but was quoted RM90 for something similar (Hoya brand also). Any idea if the RM50 Hoya is the real deal or not? icon_question.gif

Sham.
cjtune
post Mar 9 2007, 11:18 AM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

Should be around there though.
Hoya UV, Skylight, or neutral filters are around S$15-S$25 here. More expensive for the large ring sizes (67mm or larger).

tiktir
post Mar 11 2007, 03:10 AM

34 posts

Yeah it's normal selling price is RM50, but my advise don't buy hoya it's making flare (night shoots especially), go for B&W.

PS: dunno where to buy.
cjtune
post Mar 11 2007, 09:57 AM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(tiktir @ Mar 11 2007, 03:10 AM)
Yeah it's normal selling price is RM50, but my advise don't buy hoya it's making flare (night shoots especially), go for B&W.

PS: dunno where to buy.
I think the flares happen only because a filter is not multicoated. Hoya has multicoated versions too (the 'Pro-1' series) but those are easily RM100.

If your lens itself is a low-end or kit lens, it's most likely not multicoated and will have severe flaring with bright objects in your shot so putting a multicoated filter will not solve it.

TSkysham
post Mar 12 2007, 10:23 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

So in that sense, a RM50 Hoya filter is just fine for my kit lense right? No need to go for high end filters yet lor... $$$ talks.

Sham.

Added on March 12, 2007, 5:37 pmHay... went to a local camera dealer's shop and he sold me the Hoya UV-Guard filter 55mm size for RM29 onli! shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif Not sure original or not but sure looks original to me. Dunno kena con already or wat. Proof will be in the pictures gua....

Sham.

This post has been edited by kysham: Mar 12 2007, 05:37 PM
g88
post Mar 14 2007, 12:50 AM

1,631 posts

Today i asked, dunno which actually model of Hoya. The shop said around Rm30++.

Location in Ampang Park
waynewong79
post May 5 2007, 10:33 AM

LYN STALKER
3,268 posts

i got Hoya UV Filter 52mm for RM30 from Amcorp Mall. So i think 55mm price should be just a little bit higher.
TSkysham
post May 5 2007, 12:19 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(waynewong79 @ May 5 2007, 10:33 AM)
i got Hoya UV Filter 52mm for RM30 from Amcorp Mall. So i think 55mm price should be just a little bit higher.
Well, like in my earlier post, I got for RM29 here in Sabah. Anyway, it is a dealer's shop so maybe they are a bit cheaper compared to the rest of the shops in KK.

Sham.

0.0147sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:09 PM