My Car PC, You can post your's here too

zealless
post May 21 2009, 05:11 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(junhe @ May 7 2009, 10:44 PM)
anybody got lobang for the car 7" touch screen lcd? for car pc?

pls pm me if anybody got it
got one guy, butthead012 selling @ lowyat net
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...522&hl=lilliput

Added on May 21, 2009, 5:15 pmI have my car PC running with software, navigation ... trying to create a plug and play car pc ... except for audio, diff people using diff headset or Amp

Added on May 21, 2009, 7:05 pmMy CAR PC prototype with touch screen and software

PREVIEW
Running on 7" touch screen with soft right click like PDA and soft keyboard software

My black box

Just like Itune, media search, library and playlist

Media Player MP3, Thumb drive, CD, DVD, AVi, WMV (whatever codec you preinstalled)

Check Weather ? hehe yes, if you have Wimax or internet connection

Mixer for AMP, yup, can do

OBD2 Car diagnose ? Yes, that too

Navigator ? Yes ... Navigator too

Next update, Sept 09 GTR Gauges ... coming soon. to detect and display oil, water temp, oil, water temp, boost control, etc

update after Oct 09, to able to tune car via E-manage or Motec

This post has been edited by zealless: May 21 2009, 07:05 PM
zealless
post May 25 2009, 12:30 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ May 21 2009, 07:12 PM)
this topic getting more and more interesting. Good job!

may I know what software you use to intergrate all?
i use different software, and there are lots of software available. depends solely on your hardware ...
i am going assembly for sale soon, real cheap deal, plug and play type ...

zealless
post May 25 2009, 04:09 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(z3alousn3ss @ May 25 2009, 02:50 PM)
any early price quote?
sourcing for cheaper parts in bundle and slimmer parts from overseas

the black box will be half the current size, slimmer solution for everyone, so
you could just locate it under the front passenger sit

plug cord in cigarette lighter place, then everything will be powered. (plug and play)
connect audio to the system, install "start" button ... complete .. hehe

bare with me, i will post the price in market place, try (really try) to lower under rm3K with everything
from car diagnosis, radio, reverse camera, gps navagation, softwares ... alot more,

for basic package will try to go down to around 2K or maybe lower
never know ... i try to price as low as possible and 5% profit (only)
so 1K only earn rm50, ahha ... i do for fun ...

zealless
post May 29 2009, 12:18 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(ching4ever @ May 29 2009, 11:26 AM)
That's good news for all of us! Don't need to go through all those electronic stuff, a tiny mistake can lead to a con battery or even worst, fire when comes to short circuit!! Can't wait for your good product to release, keep it up, you're the man!
well the price vary alot, depends what you want to use, like if i use normal nmea receiver and map king the navigation cost is around rm400
if i use sirf garmin with map will cost around rm600, so very hard to price. some need obd II scanner, some don't need.
but anyway, the software and console is standard, so ... i try to get as cheap as possible.

the best is not to modify the existing electrical circuit, just use plug in cigarette and do not and never connect your inverter to battery, even it is fused. .

TIPS for customiser:
CAUTION for rotary users, please install voltage stabilizer and regulator; encourage everyone else to do so.
DO NOT USE IGNITION START SYSTEM as power ON method,
(UNLESS U HAVE A DELAY POWER UP CIRCUIT FOR UR DEVICE)
this will damage your alternator + batter + maybe starter.
All factory car like BMW doesn't run on PC, they run on customize board; so they did enormous power drop calculation,
know how to stabilize voltage, properly fused their gadget and .. etc
my fren car battery die and alternator damage because of this ... so lesson learnt, never never do that .

easiest is to install on/off button, let ur car start up, let voltage stabilize, then turn on ur gadget.

happy experiment. waiting for slim casing.
update soon.

zealless
post May 31 2009, 02:38 AM

542 posts

tjay is correct, direct draw power from battery with fuse which is not part of the design usage. but if you draw from cigarette outlet, they expect and allow the usage from there, is safer that way, if you draw too much, your fuse in fuse box will burned, instead of your engine or other device.

use minimal power as possible.
zealless
post Jun 7 2009, 02:20 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(junhe @ Jun 6 2009, 01:26 PM)
when ur product coming?
and ur mapking is embed into the frontend or standalone?

OBD scanner how much? if i wanna get one?USB or serial?
i am waiting for slim casing from china, very slow respond from them and miss last month shipping.
If you don't mind you can purchase the ACER EL model slim pc ... running on atom 1.6, mine running atom 1.6 dual core ...
i can do everything else, like get the screen, software, elm ... etc for you, or u get i make everything work for u
abit slow on the EL model, but slim lor, if got money then can buy DELL slim desktop, very fast, but expensive

it is not embedded to the media player software, but you can run it behind it, the player will still play music ...
but a bit annoying when the navigator is running, because of the "words" is says, like turn left, keep left ... etc
u can buy Garmin receiver + software, looks nice, but expensive, mapking is the cheapest with normal gps receiver.

ODB scanner is around 80USD for one unit ... this is china made ELM 327 scanner, its emulate ELM chip it is not really ELM chipset.
it depends, if u use it in your car only, not diagnosis machine. get the USB or bluetooth ones ...
serial one usually expensive.

zealless
post Jun 8 2009, 12:14 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(olcheong @ Jun 7 2009, 11:49 AM)
hey bro the touch screen monitor how much can give me a pm?
i bought it from butthead012 from lowyat net. ..
he is selling 900, i bought 880
zealless
post Jun 8 2009, 02:10 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(junhe @ Jun 8 2009, 12:46 AM)
do u have m2 m3 or m4 atx?
nope, power supply comes with the casing, is similar to m2, m3 m4 ...
120W supply ...
zealless
post Jun 9 2009, 12:10 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(junhe @ Jun 8 2009, 08:37 PM)
so how to mod the power supply?
any idea?
why u want to mod the power supply , it already giv u power dy ?
i mean the PC already running at 240V AC 150 Watts, is normal for PC
and you just need a inverter to convert 12V DC to 240 AC

the cigarette is 12V DC output, so just need a inverter
just calculate who much power you will use in your car PC setup, i suggest 300 Watt inverter should be enough
the pc supply range is 120W - 150W for atom, some to 200W,
touch screen generally is around 8W + other this like GPS receiver + gadgets, like mine also calculated to include some
other mods, like LED dimer + digial gauges ... around 5 Watts

good inverter is around RM200, made in taiwan, if you want cheaper then can go from RM150 -180 made in china type
i think as long as it is put in the cabin should be ok.

hopes this help

zealless
post Jun 9 2009, 08:02 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 9 2009, 05:52 PM)
@zealless

Where did you source your ODBII interface from? Ebay? And how much? Does it work with any of the software/e.g Centrafuse?
OBD II from HK company Chemcern, you can get it from Ebay .. around USD 80 (includes shipping)
Yes, it works with centrafuse, depend on your vehicle.
so far it works on RX8, BMW E46, Nissan Skyline
zealless
post Jun 10 2009, 12:00 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(junhe @ Jun 9 2009, 10:08 PM)
well, make sure it is compatible with your car, as there are alot of version from ELM 323 to ELM 327
but it is cheap thou, good price. i bought usd 80 for mine, but they confirm it will work ... so i bought it.

bare in mine, these china made ELM 32X series, no longer working with new diagnosis machine.
only with the old one ... some program also no longer works with these chipset .

Added on June 10, 2009, 12:02 pm
QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 10 2009, 07:53 AM)
Thanks both of you .. will source the OBDII from ebay then. Sometimes, those from ebay looks the same as the real thing .. but doesn't work the same tho' ..  Junhe, when you got everything set, please update me .. I guess the most critical part is to have the TFT mounted replacing the RV meter.. the rest should be easy peasy ..
the elm he posted is emulate chipset, not the real, well mine works with centrafuse, the rest i don't know.
have you bought your screen ?

the audio part is hard ... at least i did it for my frens car .... damn irritating.

This post has been edited by zealless: Jun 10 2009, 12:02 PM
zealless
post Jun 10 2009, 01:47 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 10 2009, 01:05 PM)
Ah, I've no idea if my radio has aux port at the back of it. I guess adding a PC to the car will add a ground loop into the sound system with humming sound all over. Turning my netbook with wifi/3g does affect my amateur radio set.. I've no idea if it will become worst if I add a full time pc running in the car.
there are few ways to do it ... it depends what hardware you have. what car your driving and what headset you using.

1. Run through you existing headset, this is the best, just plug ur pc out to your headset DIN.

2. Run through amps. three example you can run ... see the image below

first solution

2nd solution

3rd solution

OR if you using your original car audio as tuner without DIN, but want radio function back, you need this GROM
you can purchase the one that fits your car ... for new cars only. Basically it is digital decoder which utilize your existing audio system.
e.g. this is use in RX8 , GROM works with Centrafuse.

http://www.gromaudio.com/

well i am not expert, but this is how i do it. ..
zealless
post Jun 13 2009, 03:30 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(lanlee @ Jun 12 2009, 01:59 PM)
about the power inverter, can I use a dc to dc power inverter. cost only RM75.
unless your computer running dc, then can ... most PC don't, unless you have special power supply
laptop diff, better check or it will fry ur pc

zealless
post Jun 15 2009, 12:13 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(lanlee @ Jun 14 2009, 08:18 PM)
forgive me cos asking that question. My laptop, I mean, using AC 100V-240V 15A, but adapted to, DC 19V 3.42A. by the black small box with wire that plug into the wall soket. They wrote it there AC Adapter. What I found outside there is a DC to DC inverter that invert DC power 12V from your car to DC 20V that can be use by laptop. And anoher one that been use by most people is DC to AC adapter that adapted DC 12V to AC 240V that have a soket just like in house soket. Soo u plug it in lah.

1 way is DC 12V-Adapter-AC 240V-Adapter-DC 19V. at the end your laptop will get DC 19V.
The other way is DC 12V-Inverter-DC 20V. at the end your laptop will get DC 19V
can, if you plan to just use 12V DC to 20V DC just to power you laptop using the cigarette plug ... no problem ...
i use inverter from 12DC to 240AC to power PC, touch screen, customize amp ... so very diff from your concept.

if you do that, most of the touch screen is 12V DC input or 240AC ... so you cannot use after you adapt it to 20V DC ...

hope this help ...
zealless
post Jun 18 2009, 11:57 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(lanlee @ Jun 16 2009, 11:49 PM)
oic, not just the laptop we have to power it up, also the touchscreen. Hmm, need to figure it out...
my wiring diagram - for reference only ...

hope this help ... this cover all necessary wiring, except AUDIO
zealless
post Jul 16 2009, 03:34 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(LittleMin @ Jul 15 2009, 02:40 PM)
i duno actually~bt thx for ur suggestion..
i wil try it to see is d best resolution onot~ smile.gif
no lah~my lcd cheapo one..no touch screen... sad.gif

Added on July 15, 2009, 2:42 pm
i get it frm my fren's acc shop at jb masai.. smile.gif
frenship price~ biggrin.gif
tv antenna laoyah one lah~cant receive channels most of d time.. sweat.gif
yes properties can set~bt i nid 2 figure out d correct n best resolution for my screen loh..
cz using s-video port...
if using vga port wont gt tis problem.. biggrin.gif
the china motorised screen have problem with its resolution, it is not tune for PC output ... try to lower the resolution ...
your button or words might look big, but guarantee better viewing ... try 160x200 or 320x400

why not get a touch screen ? i bought one for my friend RM800 include delivery within Semenanjung
zealless
post Jul 20 2009, 11:14 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(LittleMin @ Jul 18 2009, 05:19 AM)
thx for ur suggestion~wil try it on.. smile.gif

my budget nt enuf.. sad.gif

ur touch screen is motorized one (can simpan one) or jz cum wif a tapak one?
my car can onli put those simpan type..cz dun hv place to put a direct screen..

actually i think i shud get a screen wif VGA port..rite? smile.gif
my screen is not motorized, is those with a stand ...
should fit in normal car 7" audio dock ...

yup, a screen with VGA port should have no problem with resolution problem

zealless
post Jul 21 2009, 12:13 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(LittleMin @ Jul 20 2009, 07:47 PM)
oic...my car don't hv place to fit in those with a stand type monitor..

as u can see from the pic i hv attached my current china monitor on top of the dashboard of my car..
i got 7" audio dock but it is too below for me dy~hard 2 concentrate driving if i put my screen there.. sad.gif

hmm~im finding those screen with VGA port dy..
but seems like in m'sia hard to find this stuff.. sad.gif

any suggestion where can find motorized VGA screen?
new one or used one oso can?if gt used one better..cz cheaper cost.. laugh.gif
Very hard to find, plus cannot sync resolution with PC resolution.

zealless
post Jul 23 2009, 03:07 AM

542 posts

i am going to open a new thread ... post link soon

Added on July 23, 2009, 12:29 pmhello all, i open my on Car PC thread ...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry27462541

Car PC 101 ...

please feel free to drop by ...

This post has been edited by zealless: Jul 23 2009, 12:29 PM

0.0185sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:41 AM