zealless
post Jun 9 2009, 12:10 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(junhe @ Jun 8 2009, 08:37 PM)
so how to mod the power supply?
any idea?
why u want to mod the power supply , it already giv u power dy ?
i mean the PC already running at 240V AC 150 Watts, is normal for PC
and you just need a inverter to convert 12V DC to 240 AC

the cigarette is 12V DC output, so just need a inverter
just calculate who much power you will use in your car PC setup, i suggest 300 Watt inverter should be enough
the pc supply range is 120W - 150W for atom, some to 200W,
touch screen generally is around 8W + other this like GPS receiver + gadgets, like mine also calculated to include some
other mods, like LED dimer + digial gauges ... around 5 Watts

good inverter is around RM200, made in taiwan, if you want cheaper then can go from RM150 -180 made in china type
i think as long as it is put in the cabin should be ok.

hopes this help

wiraone
post Jun 9 2009, 05:52 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

@zealless

Where did you source your ODBII interface from? Ebay? And how much? Does it work with any of the software/e.g Centrafuse?
zealless
post Jun 9 2009, 08:02 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 9 2009, 05:52 PM)
@zealless

Where did you source your ODBII interface from? Ebay? And how much? Does it work with any of the software/e.g Centrafuse?
OBD II from HK company Chemcern, you can get it from Ebay .. around USD 80 (includes shipping)
Yes, it works with centrafuse, depend on your vehicle.
so far it works on RX8, BMW E46, Nissan Skyline
junhe
post Jun 9 2009, 10:08 PM

78 posts

http://shop.ebay.com.au/merchant/lgngpc_W0...armrsZ1QQ_fromZ

this OBD II can consider
wiraone
post Jun 10 2009, 07:53 AM

3,892 posts

Thanks both of you .. will source the OBDII from ebay then. Sometimes, those from ebay looks the same as the real thing .. but doesn't work the same tho' .. Junhe, when you got everything set, please update me .. I guess the most critical part is to have the TFT mounted replacing the RV meter.. the rest should be easy peasy ..
zealless
post Jun 10 2009, 12:00 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(junhe @ Jun 9 2009, 10:08 PM)
well, make sure it is compatible with your car, as there are alot of version from ELM 323 to ELM 327
but it is cheap thou, good price. i bought usd 80 for mine, but they confirm it will work ... so i bought it.

bare in mine, these china made ELM 32X series, no longer working with new diagnosis machine.
only with the old one ... some program also no longer works with these chipset .

Added on June 10, 2009, 12:02 pm
QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 10 2009, 07:53 AM)
Thanks both of you .. will source the OBDII from ebay then. Sometimes, those from ebay looks the same as the real thing .. but doesn't work the same tho' ..  Junhe, when you got everything set, please update me .. I guess the most critical part is to have the TFT mounted replacing the RV meter.. the rest should be easy peasy ..
the elm he posted is emulate chipset, not the real, well mine works with centrafuse, the rest i don't know.
have you bought your screen ?

the audio part is hard ... at least i did it for my frens car .... damn irritating.

This post has been edited by zealless: Jun 10 2009, 12:02 PM
wiraone
post Jun 10 2009, 01:05 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(zealless @ Jun 10 2009, 12:00 PM)
the audio part is hard ... at least i did it for my frens car .... damn irritating.
Ah, I've no idea if my radio has aux port at the back of it. I guess adding a PC to the car will add a ground loop into the sound system with humming sound all over. Turning my netbook with wifi/3g does affect my amateur radio set.. I've no idea if it will become worst if I add a full time pc running in the car.

zealless
post Jun 10 2009, 01:47 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 10 2009, 01:05 PM)
Ah, I've no idea if my radio has aux port at the back of it. I guess adding a PC to the car will add a ground loop into the sound system with humming sound all over. Turning my netbook with wifi/3g does affect my amateur radio set.. I've no idea if it will become worst if I add a full time pc running in the car.
there are few ways to do it ... it depends what hardware you have. what car your driving and what headset you using.

1. Run through you existing headset, this is the best, just plug ur pc out to your headset DIN.

2. Run through amps. three example you can run ... see the image below

first solution

2nd solution

3rd solution

OR if you using your original car audio as tuner without DIN, but want radio function back, you need this GROM
you can purchase the one that fits your car ... for new cars only. Basically it is digital decoder which utilize your existing audio system.
e.g. this is use in RX8 , GROM works with Centrafuse.

http://www.gromaudio.com/

well i am not expert, but this is how i do it. ..
lanlee
post Jun 12 2009, 01:59 PM

41 posts

about the power inverter, can I use a dc to dc power inverter. cost only RM75.
zealless
post Jun 13 2009, 03:30 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(lanlee @ Jun 12 2009, 01:59 PM)
about the power inverter, can I use a dc to dc power inverter. cost only RM75.
unless your computer running dc, then can ... most PC don't, unless you have special power supply
laptop diff, better check or it will fry ur pc

lanlee
post Jun 14 2009, 08:18 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(zealless @ Jun 13 2009, 03:30 AM)
unless your computer running dc, then can ... most PC don't, unless you have special power supply
laptop diff, better check or it will fry ur pc
forgive me cos asking that question. My laptop, I mean, using AC 100V-240V 15A, but adapted to, DC 19V 3.42A. by the black small box with wire that plug into the wall soket. They wrote it there AC Adapter. What I found outside there is a DC to DC inverter that invert DC power 12V from your car to DC 20V that can be use by laptop. And anoher one that been use by most people is DC to AC adapter that adapted DC 12V to AC 240V that have a soket just like in house soket. Soo u plug it in lah.

1 way is DC 12V-Adapter-AC 240V-Adapter-DC 19V. at the end your laptop will get DC 19V.
The other way is DC 12V-Inverter-DC 20V. at the end your laptop will get DC 19V
zealless
post Jun 15 2009, 12:13 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(lanlee @ Jun 14 2009, 08:18 PM)
forgive me cos asking that question. My laptop, I mean, using AC 100V-240V 15A, but adapted to, DC 19V 3.42A. by the black small box with wire that plug into the wall soket. They wrote it there AC Adapter. What I found outside there is a DC to DC inverter that invert DC power 12V from your car to DC 20V that can be use by laptop. And anoher one that been use by most people is DC to AC adapter that adapted DC 12V to AC 240V that have a soket just like in house soket. Soo u plug it in lah.

1 way is DC 12V-Adapter-AC 240V-Adapter-DC 19V. at the end your laptop will get DC 19V.
The other way is DC 12V-Inverter-DC 20V. at the end your laptop will get DC 19V
can, if you plan to just use 12V DC to 20V DC just to power you laptop using the cigarette plug ... no problem ...
i use inverter from 12DC to 240AC to power PC, touch screen, customize amp ... so very diff from your concept.

if you do that, most of the touch screen is 12V DC input or 240AC ... so you cannot use after you adapt it to 20V DC ...

hope this help ...
lanlee
post Jun 16 2009, 11:49 PM

41 posts

oic, not just the laptop we have to power it up, also the touchscreen. Hmm, need to figure it out...
zealless
post Jun 18 2009, 11:57 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(lanlee @ Jun 16 2009, 11:49 PM)
oic, not just the laptop we have to power it up, also the touchscreen. Hmm, need to figure it out...
my wiring diagram - for reference only ...

hope this help ... this cover all necessary wiring, except AUDIO
lanlee
post Jun 18 2009, 10:44 PM

41 posts

look too complicated to me. Will take some of the ide
duneyip2
post Jun 23 2009, 07:34 AM

47 posts

hey bro zealless, i suddenly have a thought which is to fix my old DELL laptop mobo into the car as car pc. LOL. Then add in a 7" touch screen LCD. But the thing is i dunno how to power up the whole system, any guides ? thxx...
noelogy2007
post Jun 23 2009, 09:01 AM

32 posts

cool stuff here,
bump for you
LittleMin
post Jul 9 2009, 10:19 AM

167 posts

Bro Zyntherius and bro zealless,

may i noe what is the screen resolution of ur car pc screen?? smile.gif
for ur information, im currently using 7" china tv monitor~i think same type wif bro Zynth..
(i oso hope gt d budget to get liliput screen like bro zeal~it's so nice!! drool.gif )

so what kind of resolution i should set to?
cz last night i jz try to plug in my laptop to the monitor using s-video port~
n screen resolution i set 800*600...
but my screen still looked blur.. cry.gif i cant even see the font clearly.. cry.gif

can u 2 teach me what kind of setting i should do? blush.gif
i'm noobie in this..and planning to get a pc as my car pc~
any suggestion about the spec of pc and so on? smile.gif

thx... thumbup.gif

Added on July 9, 2009, 6:58 pmnobody here?sad.gif

Added on July 10, 2009, 12:29 amstil nobody here ah?sad.gif

This post has been edited by LittleMin: Jul 10 2009, 12:29 AM
swmung
post Jul 12 2009, 01:12 AM

73 posts

bro,u use laptop as carpc ar ?
y not build a car pc ?
LittleMin
post Jul 14 2009, 02:02 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(swmung @ Jul 12 2009, 01:12 AM)

bro,u use laptop as carpc ar ?
y not build a car pc ?
hi bro~yup im planning to build a car pc..
bt hvnt build yet lah~n nw using laptop as pilot testing loh~hehehe..

stil headche bout d resolution of my car monitor.. doh.gif
aikz...

25 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:51 AM