Hi.. can anyone share writing experience on this new ipad? I'm deciding wether to get this or Samsug Tab S3.. mainly for productivity and note taking.. is writing feels natural and accurate?
Apple unveils A new IPAD, at cheaper price tag
Jun 11 2018, 07:28 AM
7,106 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Hi.. can anyone share writing experience on this new ipad? I'm deciding wether to get this or Samsug Tab S3.. mainly for productivity and note taking.. is writing feels natural and accurate?
Jun 13 2018, 12:29 AM
QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jun 12 2018, 10:51 PM) Same here. I wouldn’t recommend anybody to lie just to get edu price. Is it much price difference for students? How to get the discount, by student ID?Since I’m working here in education sector, I’d go for this route after seek no other better deal around. Oh ya, edu price not limited to student only, lecturer and staff within college /school are included. |
Jun 13 2018, 12:36 AM
This post has been edited by un_id: Jun 13 2018, 12:54 AM |
Jun 30 2018, 02:25 AM
QUOTE(singgung @ Jun 27 2018, 10:51 AM) Only for casual note taking? NO. Lol. You'd be better off looking for pen and paper to take notes. Or just type on it. Writing experience is very different between ipad 2018 vs ipad pro is it? I can really write properly on my ipad pro.. like really writing on real thing, doesn’t feel odd at all.. unlike on my note 8, still feel odd, my writing become bad, uneasy.. i once considering to get ipad 2018 coz i mostly interested on note taking ability.. if so, then i’ve made a good choiceSome additional reminders, the pencil can't be used fully for navigations, like can't pull down notifications or pull up the control centre. Also the additional steps of pairing and charging |
Jun 30 2018, 02:30 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Jun 24 2018, 10:39 PM) Ya, my iPad also went from WiFi to LTE in the middle of a WhatsApp call but luckily I realised it before it finished off the data quota, haha. 2.4GHz does seem more stable than 5GHz though. Nevertheless will continue to observe and see. Sorry if this is a silly question, but how do you able to get whatsapp on your ipad? Why i can’t on mine.. i tried on internet browser to use whatsapp web also cannot Haha figred out already.. need to request desktop site only.. Lol This post has been edited by un_id: Jun 30 2018, 02:34 AM |
Jul 4 2018, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(xproc @ Jul 4 2018, 03:27 PM) seconded that.. that was my wish ever since apple launched ipadmpro and the pencil.. now that it is available on the cheapest ipad ever, makes all other ipad model irrelevant other than the more expensive ipad pro.. recently i pulled the trigger to get ipad with pencil, no regret and very glad that i did.. i can write way better than on note 8 or surface pro |
Jul 4 2018, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(singgung @ Jun 30 2018, 11:54 AM) I wouldn't know cause I don't have the pro but from demo sets, I don't think it's that much different. As far as writing and drawing on the screen, I'll never get anything as good as on paper cause there's no friction and I'm yet to get used to it. So both my note 8 and ipad writing are not that good, though I agree with you it feels better writing on ipad because of the size of both the ipad and pencil. just to update, i luckily had chance to really tried ipad pro 12.9, 10.5 and the new ipad 2018.. i mean try like having them with me for at least couple days to really experience them.. i end up settle with ipad pro 10.5.. below are briefly my thought of them:But my answer to him was NO cause he tries to justify 400 ringgit pencil for casual note taking. Lol. I personally think it's not justified but if you answered first, he'll get different opinion then ipad pro 12.9: as a working machine, man the ipad is simply awesome. i really can do office works on it.. writing and reading was bliss.. really.. but, if u want to bring that ipad for mobile, it is cumbersome, trust me.. if u want to take the 12.9, imagine its like getting a laptop (or macbook i must say) but with the benefit of the mobile apps and functionalities.. being a “laptop” by mean, it is carried around in a bag, and used on table, holding it like a mobile device is simply not appropriate, i could say.. once i brought it with me walking in mall while accompanying my wife shopping, first it takes my effort to carry it around, like yeah there is a thing i carry that can even makes my hands sore for a long time, to add worst was that a number of time some makcik pakcik asked me “is that a TV you are carrying?”..no,i’m not bluffing here, real life experience.. my wife lough hard at me at no mercy.. at office, it became a centre of attraction whenever i bring it into meeting, some ppl said it awkward looking, some also amazed when they tried it.. i concluded, maybe i cant live with this.. as i was also intended to have the ipad as my companion, it was just cant be convenient in presence, but a bliss as a working tool.. then i moved to ipad pro 10.5. from a gigantic one to this one, it felt a lot smaller.. like really noticeable smaller.. mobile, yes.. easy to carry around.. note taking and reading are perfect.. but for doing office works, it reminds me of my old macbook air 11”.. when i wished the screen could be bigger (which i ended up changed it for a 15” macbbok pro which still with me untill now).. but as it was with the macbook air, it is still useable for office works. i remember my previous ipad mini, which i thought i could use for mobile cum productivity, failed because i can’t avoid myself from zooming when reading or doing works, which mean the screen size apparently too small for the job.. ditched.. but on this, yeah zooming is not always required except to view detail small things.. so yeah the screen is just enough for the works.. just enough although not really satisfying (makes me missed the 12.9 at some point).. but above all, i like the fact it is convenient to be my companion, and it is always with me now whenever i need it.. makes every penny spent is worth. but i can’t refrain myself from curiousity of experiencing the new ipad 2018. i thought, the size is just a tad smaller isn’t it, also pencil capable, and ridiculously cheap! luckily, my friend just purchased one, and being a first time apple user himself, he asked me a lot about it how to deal with apple stuffs, which i end up asking a favor to bring it home for a couple of night.. so, i backed up my 10.5, stawed it away, and transfer my ipad into the 2018 for a couple days.. from that experience, to me, 10.5 just a perfect size.. yeah 9.7 sounds like similar size, but when doing works, man i just wish i could have just a tad bigger view! performance wise, although the ipad pro feel snappy, but the ipad 2018 has nothing for me to complaint about, it is ready to be used conveniently, it does not give me any headache at all.. so for the money paid, i would say worth every penny. seems like apple doesnt even compromise anything on this thing. about pencil writing, intially it does feel a bit different with the gap on the screen, but i get used to it pretty quickly, and still write properly. screen refresh rates has zero effect for writing purpose, honestly.. if you never tried ipad pro, i bet you will be just happy writing on ipad 2018.. another thing to add, the feel of the ipad on hands, i have the feeling like the 10.5 ipad is rock solid, but the ipad 2018 feels a bit “hollow”..? not sure how to describe it.. i finally happily returning to my ipad pro 10.5.. final verdict? ipad pro 12.9= laptop.. as a mobile device, you will find yourself ridiculed by man. ipad pro 10.5= a mobile device with laptop capability.. higher satisfaction point.. a keeper for me. ipad 2018= should i did not bought any ipad pro before, i may say apple, just take my money, i take this ipad 2018 home happily.. but after you test drive better car, its hard to come back, sort of hope this could help some people in deciding.. cheers This post has been edited by un_id: Jul 4 2018, 10:30 PM |
Jul 5 2018, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Jul 5 2018, 08:06 AM) Good comparison review! for just 1.3k+, its a no brainer a must grab option to anyone who wanted a tablet.. its not like those android tablet manufacturer who make cheaper tablet by compromising the hardware, NO.. there is no slacking on ipad 2018.. im really glad that Apple finally making sense of their product lines in terms of price.. the ipad for everyone, the ipad pro for anyone demanding more.. simply a good product range.. yeah we dont need the ipad air vs normal ipad anymore, i’m glad apple ditched those product lines.. i mean, need to spend extra penny just to get thinner and slimmer bezel ipad? and those without extra money have to live with thicker device with bigger bezel (and they are not quite cheap too).. that is ridiculous..Yeah, there's a gap in the iPad 2018 as the screen is not laminated like the Pro, but yeah, it's good enough for it's price! |
Jul 5 2018, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(singgung @ Jul 5 2018, 09:45 AM) Lol. Ipad 2018 so choosy now, only want to work with apple pencil. The reason i want to do words document of this ipad is bcoz i'm writing papers.. idea come anytime, and hard to find time during office to do writig, hence will chip in time during meals or free times, or while waiting for my wife shopping. LolI'm coming from ipad 4, which means I don't have any issue with this new ipad performance, size or non-laminated display. It's lots of improvement for me. I thought about getting the 9.7 or 10.5 pro but I didn't want to spend too much on tablet that I only use for browsing, gaming and some odd works. I still need my laptop to do most of my works. I agree and glad that this ipad comes with it's price and luckily I didn't upgrade last year. My only regret - buying it one week before election. Lol. |
Jul 5 2018, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(singgung @ Jul 5 2018, 03:00 PM) Just want to check, with your way of usage, the pencil must be connected to your ipad almost all the time so you can write on the go. Does the battery drain while it connects through bluetooth most of the time? I always unpair them cause I feel like the pencil battery drains quite a fair bit while pairing even when I don't use it. But I'm not sure cause I seldom leave them paired. i never unpair the pencil.. ya i noticed the battery keep on draining eventho i’m not using, bummer.. but it yet to die when i need it.. i normally charge it 100% every morning before going to work or before going out.. come back in the evening normally still around 50%.. for now it doesnt bugs me, yet |
Jul 5 2018, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jul 5 2018, 11:00 AM) No android tablet come close to the iPad... its a no brainer to choose the iPad! Even though there are sub-RM1K android out there, but those are crap. for RM1.3K, you get a flagship performance (even though not the top) tablet with wide range of apps and is well supported. ya, the android tablet manufacturers cut corners to give cheap tablet, but not in the case of ipad 2018, cheap but not an average device, still premium.. but i do hope apple reconsider move away from 4:3 aspect ratio display though.. could have make more use of the big screen with something like 16:9 for example |
Jul 10 2018, 04:02 PM
alamak.. mocrosoft announce surface go pula
https://www.digitaltrends.com/tablet-review...face-go-review/ |
Oct 6 2019, 06:48 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
| Change to: | 0.0210sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:49 PM |