What are the ways for me to study overseas?, After SPM Result?

TSTehHatrix
post Mar 18 2017, 05:03 PM, updated 9y ago

60 posts

What are the ways for me to study overseas? like the title said. But without getting Straight A result and money? Maybe getting into Matriculation ? Is it true ?

This post has been edited by TehHatrix: Mar 18 2017, 05:38 PM
Kcdw96
post Mar 18 2017, 05:21 PM

708 posts

Money smile.gif

With money, you can study in UK, US or Aussie even if you fail your exams :-P
TSTehHatrix
post Mar 18 2017, 05:38 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Kcdw96 @ Mar 18 2017, 05:21 PM)
Money smile.gif

With money, you can study in UK, US or Aussie even if you fail your exams :-P
Em, if without money ?
jstan102
post Mar 18 2017, 05:46 PM

67 posts

Matriculation is the last thing u would want to take if u plan u plan to study overseas. Only very few overseas uni accept matric as its syllabus not up to par with other pre-u to cater and "assist" certain group of ppl into ipta.

On the other hand, STPM is widely recognised, maybe even as much as a-lvls. So that would be a better choice if u cant fork out a fortune, but want to go overseas on a budget. Saving can go up to 20 or more k, depending on which a-lvls u compare
limeuu
post Mar 18 2017, 06:21 PM

12,295 posts

no money don't think overseas lah....

you are born just a few years too late...even just 4 years ago, jpa scholars (ie 9a+) can get bursary to do international pre-u and then go overseas to study....that is now gone...
TSTehHatrix
post Mar 18 2017, 08:46 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(jstan102 @ Mar 18 2017, 05:46 PM)
Matriculation is the last thing u would want to take if u plan u plan to study overseas. Only very few overseas uni accept matric as its syllabus not up to par with other pre-u to cater and "assist" certain group of ppl into ipta.

On the other hand, STPM is widely recognised, maybe even as much as a-lvls. So that would be a better choice if u cant fork out a fortune, but want to go overseas on a budget. Saving can go up to 20 or more k, depending on which a-lvls u compare
Matriks? how Matriculation can get me into overseas?
TSTehHatrix
post Mar 18 2017, 08:53 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 18 2017, 06:21 PM)
no money don't think overseas lah....

you are born just a few years too late...even just 4 years ago, jpa scholars (ie 9a+) can get bursary to do international pre-u and then go overseas to study....that is now gone...
Yep that is actually true. Batch 99' is the most unlucky batch to ever live in Malaysia. So hard to get scholarship
holyzshit
post Mar 18 2017, 08:56 PM

249 posts

get local degree. then go german study masters, tuition is free and you might get scholarships then.
segamatboy
post Mar 18 2017, 09:33 PM

637 posts

Go to Canada. Can enroll into 4th tier uni with SPM results. C grade will get you into General Arts/Science program, while to study Business, you need B grade' Tuition fees approx $15000 per yr

QUOTE(TehHatrix @ Mar 18 2017, 05:03 PM)
What are the ways for me to study overseas? like the title said. But without getting Straight A result and money? Maybe getting into Matriculation ? Is it true ?
iSean
post Mar 18 2017, 10:17 PM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

STPM / A-Level / AUSMAT / SAM depends on you.

Matriculations - only International Qualifications like SAM/AUSMAt

Local Malaysia Matrix NO.
marczeman2
post Mar 18 2017, 10:29 PM

177 posts

Matriculation is recognised by many overseas unis. Don't listen to these idiots.

It's easy, you will graduate with 4.0, then you can apply for scholarships. If you don't get any, just do medic at IPTA. Future = secure. biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Mar 18 2017, 10:35 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(marczeman2 @ Mar 18 2017, 10:29 PM)
Matriculation is recognised by many overseas unis. Don't listen to these idiots.

It's easy, you will graduate with 4.0, then you can apply for scholarships. If you don't get any, just do medic at IPTA. Future = secure. biggrin.gif
1. matrik is generally not recognised in other countries, but some unis will accept matrik students...but if the intention is really to enrol overseas, avoid matrik, do an internationally recognised pre-u...stpm will be the best, for local pre-u....

2. There are 2000 matrik students with 4.0....many will NOT get into medicine in ipta....

3. jpa scholarship for ipta studies is no longer guaranteed...

4. even if you get in and graduate from ipta, not guaranteed, as there are too many doctors, and many will not find employment...as it is already, 1 in 5 graduates currently are quitting before they complete housemanship....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 19 2017, 08:41 AM
jstan102
post Mar 18 2017, 10:48 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(TehHatrix @ Mar 18 2017, 08:53 PM)
Yep that is actually true. Batch 99' is the most unlucky batch to ever live in Malaysia. So hard to get scholarship
99' batch is the most unlucky batch even from the start. UPSR they tambah new KBAT questions in new format. Then comes the PBS in Form 1-3. (I think my only PBS copy is the one they gave along with my leaving cert after taking spm result biggrin.gif )
Not to mention the SUPER late decision on PT3. vmad.gif mad.gif We were like half a year into Form 3 and suddenly they announce "No more PMR, replaced with PT3". Sejarah and Geography required us to do kerja kursus, with almost no reference since we are the first year. bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
Then comes the SPM.... Oh the KBAT questions.... All the promises like Sejarah. "KBAT will help you score! Focus on KBAT!" -Every Sejarah teacher. Guess what, somebody thought it would be funny to take out the KBAT during the actual paper. Shocker. ranting.gif
THEN there's the delay in SPM results due to "technical difficulties"... bangwall.gif

What have we done in our past lives to deserve these? Hopefully 99's batch will see a better future, after going through this roller coaster of a ride we know as primary and secondary education.... console.gif
TSTehHatrix
post Mar 19 2017, 01:48 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(jstan102 @ Mar 18 2017, 10:48 PM)
99' batch is the most unlucky batch even from the start. UPSR they tambah new KBAT questions in new format. Then comes the PBS in Form 1-3. (I think my only PBS copy is the one they gave along with my leaving cert after taking spm result  biggrin.gif )
Not to mention the SUPER late decision on PT3.  vmad.gif mad.gif  We were like half a year into Form 3 and suddenly they announce "No more PMR, replaced with PT3". Sejarah and Geography required us to do kerja kursus, with almost no reference since we are the first year. bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
Then comes the SPM.... Oh the KBAT questions.... All the promises like Sejarah. "KBAT will help you score! Focus on KBAT!" -Every Sejarah teacher. Guess what, somebody thought it would be funny to take out the KBAT during the actual paper. Shocker. ranting.gif
THEN there's the delay in SPM results due to "technical difficulties"...  bangwall.gif

What have we done in our past lives to deserve these? Hopefully 99's batch will see a better future, after going through this roller coaster of a ride we know as primary and secondary education.... console.gif
I feel you bro. Damn malaysia
patryn33
post Mar 19 2017, 04:48 AM

3,940 posts

Without good grades and money which uni will pay for education and living expenses?

Go thru matriculation without good grades and want scholarships, charity or scholarships?

Even Canada at cad$15k is still money.
Flying phoenix
post Mar 21 2017, 11:49 AM

You can check with st.john's International School - A-Level. Fastest route to study overseas. Their school fee is much affordable biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Flying phoenix: Mar 21 2017, 11:52 AM
Ginny88
post Mar 21 2017, 12:36 PM

1,032 posts

Go for STPM, study hard, get good grades and apply for a scholarship. There are no shortcuts unless your parents got money.
Mike.Chang
post Mar 21 2017, 05:14 PM

82 posts

You can try applying for Singapore's Polytechnics program for a Diploma. Most Singaporeans eventually went off this router because lazy studying for A-levels .
elea88
post Jan 4 2018, 10:08 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Mar 18 2017, 09:33 PM)
Go to Canada. Can enroll into 4th tier uni with SPM results. C grade  will get you into  General Arts/Science program, while to study Business, you need  B grade' Tuition fees approx $15000 per yr
How to apply? Where to check it out? I really want to migrate to Canada but IDK what to study. Any suggestion what to study to migrate to overseas?
hihichew
post Jan 4 2018, 11:59 PM

677 posts

no money, don't think overseas lah. (waste of effort most probably)

previously, you can score >9A+ and then get JPA fully sponsored bursary (pre-U + overseas studies).

now, gone. so, stay malaysia, habis your degree, den keluar malaysia

0.0202sec    1.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:10 AM