Tax relief due to retrenchment

fapman
post Apr 8 2018, 12:36 AM

122 posts

Interested to know about this.
How to declare the money receive is due to retrenchment?
I can’t find any column in the e-filing form which relates to retrenchment.

fapman
post Apr 11 2018, 02:38 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Apr 10 2018, 03:39 PM)
This explanation is for only for Retrenchment Benefit

Here I explain simple for you.

Condition: Lets say you already get you money (means CP22A etc is cleared)
1. You DONT declare what you received during efilling if what you get is LESS than 10K a year.

Example, you already work 10 years, and you received 90K retrenchment benefit. Meaning 90K / 10years is only 9K a year.

So that means you no need to declare that 90K.
2. You NEED declare what you received during efilling if what you get is MORE than 10K a year

Example, you already work 10 years, and you received 120K retrenchment benefit. Meaning 120K / 10years is 12K a year.

So that means you need to declare the 20K.

Yes, only the 20K is taxable.

The 20K should be plus with your Basic yearly salary.

Summary:

10K a year (X your service years), anything less no need declare, anything more, need to declare the balance.
I know what some of you thinking during Efilling:
Basic + Retrenchment Benefit minus Retrenchment Benefit non taxable.
But actually in Efilling dun have column like that.

So its Basic + balance of the Retrenchment Benefit (thats more than 10K).

Thats all.
Means for example, if I work for 7 years but my retrenchment benefit/package is less than 70k, no need for me to declare the retrenchment money in e-filing? If more than 70k, which column of the e-filing should I fill up? Is it under Pendapatan berkanun faedah, diskaun, royalti, premium, pencen, etc.?

0.0151sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:20 PM