Mar 14 2017, 04:31 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
3,834 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Cheras, Selangor |
I am a normal end-user of workstation, just treating it as a normal desktop for my usage. I own both Hp Xw4400 and Xw4600, yes I know is kinda old (LGA775 era) and don't make relevant sense in today's standard, so I will just share my experiences. I own it because both unit were discarded by some rich fool, so I just took it back home. Only thing that I dislike was the fan noise, it was very loud if I am using it in my room without AC, fan speed only reduce if it detect ambient air temperature drop. Other than that I would say the motherboard were built tough, after 10+ years it still runs great. Although there were 3 x bad capacitors on the Xw4400, but it still continue to runs and I already replaced them. Another thing is a plus for HP is ability to support ECC and non-ECC ram, if i not mistaken, compared to dell precision, HP allow user to either choose ECC or non-ECC. Which is good, cause ECC memory upgrade was a hassle because must match pair this and that...
Xw4400 (C2D e6300, 2GB ECC, 160gb HDD, Nvidia 9400GT 1Gb) Xw4600 (C2D e6850, 2GB ECC, 2 x 80GB WD raptor, Quadro FX4600) - I estimate this unit to cost at least RM10k Now both unit i retired already cause i already got a i5 desktop, and still keeping both for collection. |
Mar 14 2017, 05:44 PM
359 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: KL / PJ |
Meow vote for lenovo
due to work for lenovo |
Mar 14 2017, 06:25 PM
342 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: PJ/KL |
QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Mar 14 2017, 04:31 PM) I am a normal end-user of workstation, just treating it as a normal desktop for my usage. I own both Hp Xw4400 and Xw4600, yes I know is kinda old (LGA775 era) and don't make relevant sense in today's standard, so I will just share my experiences. I own it because both unit were discarded by some rich fool, so I just took it back home. Only thing that I dislike was the fan noise, it was very loud if I am using it in my room without AC, fan speed only reduce if it detect ambient air temperature drop. Other than that I would say the motherboard were built tough, after 10+ years it still runs great. Although there were 3 x bad capacitors on the Xw4400, but it still continue to runs and I already replaced them. Another thing is a plus for HP is ability to support ECC and non-ECC ram, if i not mistaken, compared to dell precision, HP allow user to either choose ECC or non-ECC. Which is good, cause ECC memory upgrade was a hassle because must match pair this and that... Yes bro, Workstation build to be tahan lasak 24/7, motherboard build is very important, and the capability to upgrade and not easy to get outdate.Xw4400 (C2D e6300, 2GB ECC, 160gb HDD, Nvidia 9400GT 1Gb) Xw4600 (C2D e6850, 2GB ECC, 2 x 80GB WD raptor, Quadro FX4600) - I estimate this unit to cost at least RM10k Now both unit i retired already cause i already got a i5 desktop, and still keeping both for collection. Thx for sharing |
| Change to: | 0.0448sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:03 PM |