Taoism, Tao discussion thead

SUSredisthcan
post Sep 23 2017, 02:40 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Mar 13 2017, 10:47 AM)
definitely a religion

here we practice a mix of buddhism and taoism..

but i always consider buddhism to be non-religion..
There is no such thing as a mix of Buddhism and Taoism.

What you are encountering is actually a third religion known at Shenism or Chinese folk religion, which predates both Buddhism and Taoism but incorporates some elements of both, interpreting them in its own unique way that both religions often find heretical.
SUSredisthcan
post Sep 23 2017, 02:41 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(conxtion @ Mar 13 2017, 10:42 AM)
Tao  ...  Taoism
Sometimes spelt Dao  ...  Daoism

What are they?  Let's discuss here.
1. Your understanding of what Tao and Taoism are
2. Your experiences of Tao and Taoism
3. What you heard from others / read from somewhere .. about Tao and Taoism
4. Various Taoism practices worldwide
5. Is Taoism a religion?
Taoism is a religion that is often mistaken for the religion that I practice.

People need to realise that not all non Buddhist Chinese religious practices are Taoist practices, and that Taoism actually rejects the existence of many commonly prayed to Chinese gods.
SUSredisthcan
post Sep 25 2017, 05:14 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(gonfeeces @ Sep 24 2017, 08:53 PM)
sun wu kong is Taoism?
Taoism dismisses him as a fictional character and does not acknowledge his existence.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 11 2017, 03:32 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(CandleIntheWind @ Oct 9 2017, 02:46 PM)
"The 61-year-old Johorean had placed bets in the Toto4D Jackpot 1 on lucky numbers — 1651 and 7288 — which he "obtained" from a temple he frequented."

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2017...s-toto-jackpot/

Temple no free things? There is no free things in life?
That has nothing to do with Taoism.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 19 2017, 05:27 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Oct 17 2017, 02:53 PM)
That thread has NOTHING to do with Taoism.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 19 2017, 05:29 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(JasonAubama @ Oct 18 2017, 12:41 PM)
Last year, I have participated tens of Ghost Month Salvation Service from Penang, Ipoh, Klang, KL.
Tao believed the DaShiYe 大仕爺 is the Agent to TaiYu Salvation Officer 太乙救苦真人 where we met at every ceremony venues. Let’s call him/her A. This year, every function I went, we met everywhere but is B.?
I doubt DaShiYe might be an annual Officer In Charge in regulating the Harmony beyonds.
Da Shi Ye could not be more at odds with Lord Tai Yi.

Lord Tai Yi is a compassionate being whose mission is the salvation of suffering souls.

Da Shi Ye is a bloodthirsty and sadistic being whose mission is to ensure that those in Hell suffer.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 22 2017, 08:34 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(conxtion @ Oct 20 2017, 10:54 PM)
Can you enter into the near future to see 4D Jackpot or Toto Jackpot winning numbers?
Insert facepalm here.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 31 2017, 07:48 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(CandleIntheWind @ Oct 31 2017, 01:58 PM)
Mahal la, master. Is Rm330 include gst?
How do i know my deities statues at home are well consecrated? Last time i had them consecrated o kai kuang for rm180. Then another tao sifu came and told me not consecrated. Need to redo. Any electronic item to test? like voltmeter? Em meter?
Nobody should consecrate a statue of Deity X apart from a medium who is channelling Deity X, channelling a superior of Deity X or channelling a subordinate of Deity X.

A Taoist master, feng shui master or a Buddhist monk cannot do it.
SUSredisthcan
post Oct 31 2017, 09:27 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(CandleIntheWind @ Oct 31 2017, 08:45 PM)
The how Buddhism consecrate quan yin statue? Usually Buddhism temple do not have any medium.
I know some pure Taoist temple do not have medium too only 法師.
Some incense shop do provide consecrate service if u buy statue from them(follow manual book, the boss ownself do) <- holland case?

When i ask the master how do we know there is deity in the statue. standard answer:-
1) No god, u ma pray till got god lo.
2) You believe then ma got lo, no believe then no.
3) You throw sengpui ask urself.
At the end, have to sendiri tipu sendiri.

One of my fren who has 3rd eye ability told me 70% of temple which he visited, the statues are not occupy or a portal to the the real deity.
Is that true?
Buddhism's methods of consecration are different. I speak from the Chinese folk religion perspective.

Taoist temples will NEVER have mediums. Mediumship is not part of Taoism.

Your friend is correct, and the "master's" replies to your questions clearly show that he is nothing but a conman.
SUSredisthcan
post Nov 4 2017, 07:19 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(CandleIntheWind @ Nov 3 2017, 11:50 AM)
Thanks master. but i cant read mandarin. will get help from fren.
Do you know any reliable "Man mai" (hell contact medium) service available?
If there is any course available then is good.
All those who claim they can summon and talk to spirits of the dead are con artists.
SUSredisthcan
post Nov 4 2017, 07:24 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(conxtion @ Nov 3 2017, 11:55 PM)
For hell contact, maybe sifu Nachtsider can assist?
Also, what are you doing, asking about Hell contacts?

There is no Hell in Taoism.

If you are a Taoist, you should not believe there is a Hell.
SUSredisthcan
post Nov 5 2017, 08:29 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(JasonAubama @ Nov 4 2017, 11:57 AM)
I have experienced illusion of Hell & Heaven during my ICU stay. The powerful spiritual being has showed it talent. At a blink of thought, ICU became Caribbean Sea Side with warm & windy leisure scenery as if in the heaven. The next moment, illusion changed to Volcano like hell with hot lava while my physical posture stays in ICU unmoved. With Carrot & Stick, my choice to bow?

Buddhism says this is the test.
Luckily I’m a Taoist Priest. Thanks & no thank. I remained myself.
As a Taoist priest, you should not be believing in the existence of Hell.

I doubt your credentials.
SUSredisthcan
post Nov 6 2017, 01:37 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Nov 6 2017, 01:26 PM)
Don't so confident say the word *ALL* or you will offend the person really have that kind ability.

Con people exist because they are to give dumb people a tough lesson to be smarter not to get cheated. Those get con don't blame, blame themselves for not being smarter or take it as lesson not to make same mistake again. Nothing is right or wrong.
Please.

Am I supposed to be afraid of offending them?
SUSredisthcan
post Nov 6 2017, 04:24 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Nov 6 2017, 02:57 PM)
I respect your bravery but if anything happens. Don't expect your deity to protect you. You do know real taoist practitioner practice curse and black magic. Better mind your own business instead being disrespectful.
Real Taoist practitioners don't dabble in crap like that.
SUSredisthcan
post Nov 6 2017, 08:49 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Nov 6 2017, 08:41 PM)
Real sintua worshipper doesn't simply talk and cause trouble. Stop being ignorant and arrogant. Just apologize about your behavior. Human have capability to choose good and evil, so do all deities, gods and spirits.

If a taoist practitioner using curse or black magic on you, he/she is still a real taoist practitioner.
QUOTE(conxtion @ Nov 6 2017, 06:18 PM)
Tao is about yin yang, black white, good evil, etc.

It's safe to say that "real" Taoist practitioners can be good people or evil people.
A real Taoist practitioner uses the Dao De Jing as his guide to life.

The Dao De Jing's supreme tenet is to harmonise with nature and the universe.

How the hell do curses and black magic fit that bill?

Proclaiming to be a Taoist practitioner while at the same time being a proponent of dark sorcery is utterly contradictory and wholly nonsensical.

Lao Zi would condemn you in the strongest possible terms.
SUSredisthcan
post Nov 6 2017, 09:30 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Nov 6 2017, 09:15 PM)
You just like saying a rapist is not a rapist. Whatever you take care. Bye
Nope.

What I'm doing is akin to saying that a rapist who proclaims to be a Christian is not truly a Christian.
SUSredisthcan
post Jun 27 2018, 05:27 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(conxtion @ Jun 23 2018, 04:46 AM)
As previous medium, have you ever channeled the 8 Immortals before?

Among Taoist gods and deities, who is the most helpful to humans, in your opinion?
Mediumship is forbidden in Taoism.
SUSredisthcan
post Jun 28 2018, 07:44 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(conxtion @ Jun 28 2018, 04:36 AM)
Interesting!  What authority do you quote for this comment?
Taoist scripture.

It states in no uncertain terms, '一切天仙不附人身'.

'The gods will not inhabit or possess human bodies for whatever reason'.
SUSredisthcan
post Jun 28 2018, 04:36 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Jun 28 2018, 10:26 AM)
so i was told the main difference between taoism and buddhism would be :

- taoism prays with jossstick but buddhism doesnt

is this true?
The usage of incense sticks in prayer is older than both Buddhism and Taoism.

It is not specific to either of these religions (or any religions, for that matter) although both of them do use incense.

0.0467sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:28 AM