Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions

TSmagnum
post Mar 5 2007, 11:03 AM, updated 15y ago

586 posts

hi guys,
1. Do u mind to share your travel experinces in Taiwan?
2. What to see in Taiwan?
3. if in only have 8 days holiday, do u think i can spend touring the whole TW?
4. Please give more infor about this place as i plan to go around OCt or Nov..

thanks..

___________________________________________________________________________________________
Additional Info added by mod:

Interesting Itineraries, blogs & photos sharing

Taipei & surroundings (By JYS)- http://jy-s.com/category/travel/taiwan/
Taipei/ Kaushiung/ bullet train (By Jasz_24) - http://www.mytripbloggies.com/taiwan.htm
Taipei/Hualien/Chin sui bay/Taroko Gorge (by stimix): https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=30641516
Taipei..Emphasize on Jiufen/Yilan (By kampungboycitygal): http://kampungboycitygal.com/2009/07/execu...i-yilan-taiwan/

Hotel recommendations:

Current Popular 3* Hotels: Best to call them directly for booking. All Taiwan 3* Hotels have a 30~40% discount, so ask for it if the discount is not already mentioned on their website.
Won Star Hotel : http://www.wonstar.com.tw
Ta Shun: http://www.tshotel.com.tw
Go City Inn: http://www.gocityinn.com
Neijiang : http://www.neijiang-hotel.com.tw/
(Lowest price Quad room )
See You Hotel: http://www.taipeionestarhotel.com.tw
明日大飯店 [台北] - NT$980 [very very good location, but rate will differ on weekend, first nite $1180 but they give $200 disc voucher which can be used for ur following day stay]
高山青[阿里山] - RM260.87 [april quite peak season, best i can find]
Laurel Villa[日月潭] - NT$1800 [cheapest hotel i can find on the lake - other places with cheap rate need around 30mins bus ride to reach sun moon lake]
五號小築 [花蓮] - NT$999 [nice ming su - but the driver charge is very expensive]

Others:
http://www.agoda.com/asia/taiwan/taipei.html
http://www.asiarooms.com/taiwan/taipei.html
http://www.hotelclub.com/SearchResults.asp?id=5645

Hostel Recommendations

http://www.taipeihostel.com/ - Basic, clean & the cheapest - RM60/nite for 2. But expect to share toilet (Clean). Best - Free WIFI & also chatting & making friends from all over the world thumbup.gif

Boon's recommendation: http://www.taiwanmex.com/

Others: http://www.hostelworld.com/findabed.php?Se...y67emDKPJCqqd61
http://www.couchsurfing.org/

Taipei Hotels Review:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=33107851

Shoppings, Food & Nightlife recommendations

The Best place for Electronics is Guanghua http://www.freewebs.com/crazyazn/guanghuae...ronicmarket.htm

Nightlife: http://www.taiwannights.com/

Halal Food: http://www.taipeimosque.org.tw/mosque/pages/halalfood.html

Shihlin Nite Market: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shilin_Night_Market

Ximending: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ximending

Transport

MRT Line
For more info: http://english.trtc.com.tw/ct.asp?xItem=10...27496&mp=122032

Taiwan High speed train (only west coast to Kaoshiung):
http://www.thsrc.com.tw/en/

Taiwan Rail Authority (Inc of Tilted's Taroko Express to Hualien)
http://www.railway.gov.tw/en/ticket/ticket-1.aspx

MUST Visit attractions in Taiwan:

-Taroko Gorge (Day trip sufficient)
- Yehliu Geopark
- Dansui old street
- Taipei 101
- Chiang kai Shek Memorial
- Jiufen
- Alisan
- Sun Moon Lake
- Hehuan Shan & Chinjing farm
- Beitou Hot spring (Taipei)
- Yang Ming shan ( Volcano & hiking)
- Wulai Hot spring
- Taipei Zoo

Nice Info about Taiwan:

http://www.taiwanese-secrets.com/facts-about-taiwan.html

Discounted Youth travel Card: http://youthtravel.tw/youthtrekker/

Easy Card for MRT, Buses & train: http://www.easycard.com.tw/english/index.asp

Currency Exchange /Money changing

At the time of this write-up (Dec'09), The Taiwan Dollar is not trading at a good rate in Malaysia & RM is also not well traded in Taiwan.
Thus, To get better rate, it is advisable that you change to US$ first in Malaysia..check the rate here: http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp

Thereafter, once u reach Taipei Airport, just changte the US$ to Taiwan $ at any currency exchangers in the airport (All the same rate + NT$30 commission). Check the rate here:
http://rate.bot.com.tw/Pages/Static/UIP003.en-US.htm

Old US currency

Should you bring American currency, please be sure to bring newer bills as the banks will only accept the newer bills (bills from 1996 and 2003 are not accepted at most places, due to a high proportion of forgeries bearing these years). Bills which are torn or damaged will probably not be changed, and old-style small-bust bills are not accepted.
SOURCE FROM http://wikitravel.org/en/Taiwan

Taiwan Electric socket type:

Taipei Weather:

More free guides & brochures about Taiwan:

Taiwan Visitors Association, Kuala Lumpur Office
Address: WISMA GOLDHILL Suite 25-01, Level 25, Wisma Goldhill, 67 Jalan Raja Chulan, 50200 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Tel: +60-3-2070-6789
Fax: +60-3-2072-3559
E-mail: tva@streamyx.com

This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 27 2011, 10:16 AM
TSmagnum
post Mar 6 2007, 07:46 AM

586 posts

if i dun take the travel tour, is it easier to walk around there? have u been there? is it nice?
TSmagnum
post Mar 12 2007, 10:51 AM

586 posts

any interesting places to recommend mainly for youngsters??? if i take backpack, where do u think i should go? is the transportation easy? i mean do i need to wait long time for the MRT tor bus or any train?

any hotel u stayed before to recommend??

This post has been edited by magnum: Mar 12 2007, 11:56 AM
TSmagnum
post Mar 13 2007, 08:47 AM

586 posts

which hotel did u stay? how;s the rate?
TSmagnum
post Mar 17 2007, 10:42 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(joeyg07 @ Mar 16 2007, 03:32 PM)
I've been backpack to Taiwan during Nov 2005 with my friends. We've visited to Taipei & HuaLien districts for the 6D5N trip. In Taipei, we've went to places like XiMenDing (we also stayed there), LongShan temple, Ye Liu, Jiu Fen, Taipei 101, CKS memorial, National Museum, ShiLin, TanShui, Wu Fen Pu night market ect. In Hualien, we just managed to visit Toroko National park. The weather was nice (around <=24C) during Nov. It's quite easy and convenient to explore the Taipei city via their MRT.
where did u stay during that time? is it easier to walk aroudn in tw?
TSmagnum
post Mar 19 2007, 08:22 PM

586 posts

do you think with 2-3k, i can spend 6-8 days in tw include ticket and accomodation?
TSmagnum
post May 18 2007, 10:16 PM

586 posts

guys.
just want to ask, besides MAS, what other airline fly fr KL to TW? how;s the rate different. i mean which is the cheapest..
thanks.

TSmagnum
post May 25 2007, 11:47 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(pppooo @ May 22 2007, 06:36 PM)
Since u r going twds the end of the year...Go look around for promotion ticket. Singapore airline sometimes offer RM800 return ticket excl taxes, though gotta transit Spore.  JetStar budget airline at Spore also flying taipei. U may check it out too. 
EVA air and China Airline are other options...but they seldom have promo ticket.
yeah.. i know. i'd check out on JetStar.. thanks.
TSmagnum
post Mar 21 2008, 09:37 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(MamaHui @ Mar 19 2008, 10:25 AM)
any update for this topic? really need to recommendation from those who has  been to Taiwan
hello.. i never been to tw before, but read from the other forum that if u go to tw, do not miss
1. Alishan
2. Taroko
3. their night market
4. Fishermen's Wharf at Dan Shui
5. Jiu Fen
there are alot of places of interest in tw.. u may search it in the internet, or if u understand chinese, then u can look up this site
Welcome to Taiwan

TSmagnum
post Mar 22 2008, 08:59 AM

586 posts

1. wu fen pu ( heard it's like Petaling street)
2. Xi Men Ting
3. KaoShiung's love river
4. Yilan JiaoXi
5. Museum
6. Miniature Museum
7. SOGO
8. Taipei 101

Go find out the New TW tourism drama "这里发现爱", then u will know where's the interesting places in tw.

This post has been edited by magnum: Mar 22 2008, 09:02 AM
TSmagnum
post Mar 24 2008, 12:34 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(MamaHui @ Mar 24 2008, 10:10 AM)
thanks for the advice and reply... will try to do more survey b4 i go there in april, thanks~ When r u going?
not confirm yet.. maybe June.... tongue.gif tell us ur story after u come back ...

0.0476sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:09 AM